We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab lodge, fab hot tub, fab site and fab service thank you!!!!”
Review of Haulfryn Finlake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haulfryn Finlake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2011

After years of camping holidays and the odd cottage rental we decided to go for a bit of a treat this year and we were not disappointed. The lodge was lovely had all mod cons, washing machine, microwave dishwasher two bathrooms a lovely veranda with outdoor furniture and the hot tub. The site and accommodation was immaculate and the the farm shop stocked some nice local produce. Lots of activities, the kids tried out the pools and loved them didn't book anything else but will next time....we didn't really even scratch the surface of the facilities available as we were too busy chilling in the hot tub or exploring Devon!!!!! Unfortunately we couldn't book great weather but the lodge was cosy in the evening with a fire and central heating if it got too cool!! The staff were really helpful as we had a problem with our car and we had to find a specialist local garage, the receptionist helped track one down for us and they managed to sort out our problem in a jiffy! We had a slight problem with the electric on the last night but there was help available straight away and it was sorted promptly. The lodge was pet friendly and we were able to bring aloung our treasured pooch too which was great, he loved watching the birds and passers by from the veranda. There were quite a few local attractions that we visited that allowed dogs - Babbacombe Model Village, Bygones, Teignmouth Beach (either end), Teignmouth Pier he was also allowed on the Cliff lift at Odcombe Beach which was great!!!

Thanks for a lovely stay we will definitely visit again!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mrs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review on Finlake. It is always pleasing to read such good comments and how much you enjoyed your time there.
We are working very hard to make sure we are getting it right with regards to our customer's experience and your comments regarding the helpfulness of team members has been passed onto the park .
We hope to see you back at Finlake within the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

971 - 977 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

Me Mr Bircham and the gang ie sammie charleigh angel and stiffy baby stayed at finlakes
, we stayed at cherry tree 40 what a lovey lodge 5 star nice hot tub, staff where very helpful and hard working we are going back in december for christmas just waiting for finlakes to phone to comfirm date Thankyou for making our holiday a good one

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review on Finlake. It is always pleasing to read how much you enjoyed your time there.
We are currently working hard to get everything loaded in order for Christmas and New Year and we will be in touch with you soon to confirm.
We look forward to seeing you back at Finlake soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We have just returned from an excellent week's stay at Finlake. We are 2 adults and 2 children (aged 10 and 7).

Accommodation - We booked one of the 2 Bedroom Country Lodges (VIP) through Hoseasons. It was extremely clean and well equipped, the only minor issue we had was that we found that there was not enough cupboard space in the kitchen, which was due to a full size fridge, freezer and dishwasher. We think this lodge may be privately owned so I guess you have to accept that others prefer all of the the mod cons and therefore some thing else has to give. We soon got used to the cereal boxes, etc. being on the side. We paid a bit extra for the VIP version so that we could also have use of the private hot tub. We're glad we did as having this extra was a real luxury for us.

Activities - We are used to staying in Center Parcs, therefore one of the reasons we chose Finlake was for the activities. There aren't as many activities as Center Parcs, but this didn't bother us as the Activity Staff were brilliant and made everything fun for the kids (and us adults too!). The activities are reasonably priced, and some are free (swimming and tennis/pitch and putt, if you have your own equipment). Advice is to book the activities in advance if you can before the actual day. If you are a family, I would throughly recommend doing the raft building together, but be prepared to get wet!

The kids also made use of the Riding School and Tree Top/Climbing School which are run under different management, but are on site. Both activities and staff were great and also reasonably priced.

Entertainment - We only watched the Wild Show which is a show where a member of a local zoo shows off some wild animals. My 7 year old loved this. The same man then also did games for the kids. Again, this was thoroughly enjoyed by my 7 year old. We didn't watch any of the other entertainment, therefore I am unable to comment on this.

Food - We ate a few times in the on-site restaurant. The restaurant has been refurbished and the food is very good. Can be a little bit more expensive than your local pub/restaurant, but you would expect that for convenience. My advice is to book in advance if you can as certain nights can be very busy (i.e. Carvery or Chinese Night).

Cleanliness - I have to say that the site was spotless. There was always members of staff, cleaning and maintaining the site. I must just point out that certain accommodations are on hills, therefore if you have a pushchair or wheelchair that you have to push, be prepared for a bit of hard work.

Staff - All staff were very friendly and gave everyone a welcome.

Shop - There is only a Farm Shop on site. This tends to sell local produce along with newspapers and fresh bread. If you are after anything branded, then I suggest you either bring it with you or venture out (a Tesco Superstore is about 15 mins away).

Beauticians - Unfortunately we didn't have enough time to book any treatments (although I would have like to), therefore cannot comment on this.

In summary, we had a very enjoyable holiday (even though it did rain a couple of times)and the kids have said they prefer this even to going a abroad! We liked it so much that we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mburb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review on Finlake. We do appreciate the time you have taken to leave such detailed information and it is always pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We paid absolutely top rate for this trip - £1700 for a week. The most disappointing part was that the luxury lodge we bought was just too small with terribly inadequate soundproofing. Whoever designs the Hoseasons website is a genius as you can't actually see what the accommodation looks like. For my money, a through lounge/diner/kitchen is not big enough for the average family. Yes, the spec is great - hot tub, sauna etc but packed into a tiny space with a tiny veranda - by day three we were going a bit loopy. The park itself is again ok but the bar is way overpriced and the restaurant is rubbish and overpriced. My son had a rib eye steak which was full of fat. Unacceptable. We own our own restaurant so we know about margins and quality and this is just not right.

Finally the property did not even have a DVD player which in rainy Britain is a necessity.

I am really sad and disappointed and feel very ripped off. i know there is no redress when you've booked something which does not live up to expectations, but gosh that makes me annoyed. At the very least Hoseasons should be very transparent about what they are offering in terms of accommodation - these are glorified caravans. I defy anyone to sleep if there is a downpour. It;s just not good enough for the money. I would not recommend this site to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malesamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We are obviously extremely sorry that the site did not live up to your expectations.
Taking the price you paid and the description you have given regarding the accommodation into consideration I am assuming that you booked one of our Woodland Deluxe Lodges which are scandinavian A frame lodges and cannot be classed as caravans. I cannot comment on who designs Hoseasons' website, however they do have a video of our park which gives you an idea of the inside of the accommodation. We also have our own website which goes into more details on all types of accommodation and has plenty of inside photos. In addition Hoseasons have a customer service team available to answer any questions you may have prior to booking or before you arrive on park and the park are also happy to answer any questions and offer advice.
I am sorry that you were unhappy with the quality of food at the restaurant. You do not state whether you brought this to the attention of anyone at the time? There is always a supervisor available to address any concerns and resolve them to your satisfaction.
I asked the park to check regarding the DVD player. They have checked all the deluxe units and all have DVD players - either as seperate or integrated into the TV. Our reception team are available every day to help and assist if any problem arises and should you have brought this to their attention they would have assisted you in locating it.
It is never our intention for our customers to be disappointed and I am obviously concerned that the site fell short of your expectations. I would suggest that if you havent already done so you contact Hoseasons with your concerns.
Once again thank you for your comments, they are gratefully appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed at Finlake the last week before kids broke up for summer holidays. We booked two seperate accommodations, country lodge four and country four platinium. Would advise anyone to pay the extra £50 for the platinium, our caravan was excellent (12, The Tors), my parents place was clean but very dated inside and not as well laid out. We did arrive early for check in due to good traveling time. Gentlemen at reception was a bit 'surly' and took our mobile number so he could inform us when we could check in. Not the best first impression, he may of even of been the manager, suggest he goes on one of them customer service course he probably sends the staff on!!
Many of the staff are young seasonals but were perfectly ok. We had lunch at the carvery on the sunday which was very good, staff were helpful and friendly which contradicts previous comments, although we went early and only two tables were taken.
The site is very large, well keep and the 9 hole golf course was fanastic for free if you bring your own clubs.
Indoor pool was good, similar in size to most hotel pools, outdoor one was quite cold, but thats due to lack of sun on it!
Disappointing that there was no evening entertainment until the school holidays, although not sure many would watch it as the place seemed very quite and most prefered to stay at their lodges in the evening.
Overall pretty good, worth the money we paid, however certainly not worth the £450 price hike to go a week later during the school holidays.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felly09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We do appreciate all feedback as without this we cannot improve our service to you.
I am sorry that you did not receive a warm welcome. I have fed this back to the park to ensure all team members management or otherwise make a good first impression to all our customers.
I was happy to read that there were many positive parts to your holiday and hope that we have the pleasure of your custom again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We travelled as a family of four (2 teenage boys) with a dog and were impressed to find that staying with a dog didn't mean staying in third class accomodation as it does in some well known holiday providers! We stayed in a VIP lodge with hot tub. The accomadation was very spacious, modern and clean.
We'd certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juliz42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We do appreciate all customer feedback and it is especially nice to read such positive comments. We do have a number of pet friendly units available on site throughout the different categories of accommodation we offer and I am pleased that you were happy with the accommodation allocated.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Finlake in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed at Finlake with my partner and children during July and had a fasntastic time. The site looks absolutely beautiful when you arrive along a winding drive and doesn't dissapoint as you drive further into the park. We were met in reception by a Manage who was very helpful and explained where everything was on parl. When we got to our lodge it was cleaned to a very high standard. We did find a slight fault but on reporting this to reception a maintenance man was with us within half and hour and had sorted it. He was also very polite and professional so we can't even say this was an issue! We did eat in the restuarant twice over the week and I agree the staff are young however this didn't seem to affect our service at all. The prices also seemed reasonable and the food was as good as it looked. We also booked out children into some of the activities and the instructors were so good our kids kept asking to go onto more activities. Sam and Aaron seemed to be the favourite!
During the week we did have one concern which again we reported to reception, again they were very helpful and this time the ops manager came to see us. He listened to our concerns and again it was all sorted within a matter of minutes. I cannot fault the service from any of the team at Finlake.
The only fault we could say is on the on-site facilities, the indoor pool is a bit small and the outdoor pool could do with being heated. However the high standards of all the staff and the standards to which the park itself is kept meant we didnt care.
Thank you to everyone who made our holiday fantastic. We will be back and the only thing we will change is to book a lodge with a hot tub!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgeh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review on Finlake. It is always pleasing to read such good comments and how much you enjoyed your time there.
We are working very hard to make sure we are getting it right with regards to our customer's experience and your comments regarding the helpfulness of team members has been passed onto the park to share with the individuals.
We hope to see you back at Finlake within the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chudleigh
12.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,127 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
9.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
9.0 mi away
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tedburn St. Mary
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haulfryn Finlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haulfryn Finlake

Address: Barley Lane, Dartmoor National Park, Chudleigh TQ13 0EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chudleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Chudleigh
Price Range: $63 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Haulfryn Finlake 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the edge of Dartmoor yet still close to stunning beaches, Finlake combines 130 acres of magnificent Devon countryside, miles of beautiful woods, an abundance of wildlife and outstanding leisure facilities to create the perfect holiday location.At Haulfryn Finlake we offer an exclusive range of caravans and lodges for the discerning holiday home owner, as well as fantastic short break holiday getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Haulfryn Finlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haulfryn Finlake Hotel Chudleigh
Haulfryn Finlake Chudleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing