We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Farmborough House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Farmborough House
Ranked #2 of 6 Chudleigh B&B and Inns
winchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A lovely huge and comfortable room with a great en-suite. Seperate room for the children with some toys and biscuits (very important!). A warm welcome with cake and tea and drinks for the children. Delicious breakfast cooked from home grown products. A great place to stay and we will return...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank louljh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here with our teenage son in May 2013. The accommodation is exquisite and Caroline and Peter were great hosts. We really enjoyed our breakfasts, chatting ,laughing and listening to great music. Thanks guys.

Would heartily recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We only stayed one night and were made to feel like at home. We both have dietary requirements - gluten and dairy free - Caroline and Peter could not have been more accommodating. Caroline even made us a cake! (gluten and dairy free).
It was a lovely and spacious room, huge bathroom. They are lovely people.
A big thank you from both of us.
We even left with a bag of gluten free sausages from their pigs!

Room Tip: There's only 1 room which makes it ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We only stayed 1 night and we got there very late, both Pete and Caroline were very accommodating and friendly on arrival. The children enjoyed feeding the animals. The breakfast was amazing. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minibex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snodland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We could not have chosen a more perfect place to stay. We were made so welcome and the food was delicious. Our daughter enjoyed helping with the animals, it made our holiday really special. We will definitely be booking again and are looking forward to it already. Peter and Caroline are perfect hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a lovely weekend in Devon, spent 2 nights at this wonderful Bed & Breakfast. Pete and Caroline couldn't have been more accommodating. Very spacious, comfortable room and breakfast with delicious home produce. Peaceful location in the countryside, perfect base for exploring the area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Janey196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We can definitely say that this is the very best B and B that we have ever used. We had five wonderful days there. Caroline and Peter could not possibly have made us more welcome. As soon as we arrived we were offered a hot or cold drink, and the dogs too gave us a warm if noisy welcome. The breakfasts were excellent, and the huge bed was very comfortable. The bedroom and bathroom were both far larger than normal, and the furniture was good too. When we said that we were in Devon to visit an old friend and that we would ask her to recommend Farmborough to visitors, Caroline and Peter invited her to afternoon tea, complete with a delicious specially baked cake. If you have children they will love feeding the chickens and pigs. I know that us couple of old fuddy duddies did. We just cannot sing the praises of this wonderful B and B highly enough.

Room Tip: There is only one huge king size double, but a couple of kids can be accommodated in a smaller room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith and Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chudleigh
3.9 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
5.5 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
495 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Amberley Bed and Breakfast
Amberley Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Chudleigh
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmborough House

Property: Farmborough House
Address: Farmborough House Old Exeter Road, Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 0DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chudleigh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chudleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmborough House 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Farmborough House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmborough House Chudleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing