We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the tortuous journey?.......pretty much” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gidleigh Park Restaurant

Gidleigh Park Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $87 - $226
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set on the banks of the North Teign River in a magnificent estate of mature woodland and gardens, Gidleigh Park is surrounded by the wilds of Dartmoor. This small country house hotel boasts a two Michelin starred restaurant that is considered to be one of the finest in the country ��� The Sunday Times awarded Gidleigh Park Best Restaurant in its list of Top 100 British restaurants and the restaurant also won Most Excellent Restaurant at the Conde Nast Awards for Excellence 2011. Executive Chef Michael Caines and his team are renowned for creating innovative, modern European cuisine utilising the finest local and seasonal West Country produce and ingredients. Gidleigh Park Restaurant offers an a la carte menu, as well as a Tasting Menu (changes weekly), and a Classic Tasting Menu (seasonal). The wine cellar of more than 10,000 bottles has both great vintages from classic European and New World vintners as well as a growing range of biodynamic labels.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth the tortuous journey?.......pretty much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

What a fantastic setting (despite the torrential downpours), a wonderful view out of the sitting room and restaurant when the weather permitted. We enjoyed the signature tasting menu whilst most around us went for the set lunch (one couple went a la carte). Some wonderful food (albeit a little lacking in quantity towards the end of the savoury section) with highlights being the lobster starter and the duck. Cheese was fairly ordinary to be honest, no cheese trolley and you got what you got (which was passable at best). The (one) dessert was copious and excellent (the other sweet course barely counted as a pre-dessert) where the copious amount of petit-fours with tea/coffee helped compensate for that a little. All in all, really nice, excellent quality service and hosting (not sure about some of the other negative comments I have seen on here) and food-wise comparable to other 2-stars we have been to, but nothing more than that. The atmosphere was a little stilited and only broken up by the loud conversation the poor bloke and his mother (who was extremely deaf) had repeating themselves incessantly (and often amusingly). One large health warning with Gidleigh......when the website says "follow a narrow country lane for 1.5 miles" - they are most certainly no lying. Lots of blind bends, very few passing spots and all in all a pretty stressful 10 mins each way - we met two vehicles going and one coming back that nearly ran us down. We would return for the food and the scenery when next down in the South West - just need to find someone with a helicopter to get us there...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    61
    29
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a tea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We met a friend and had a really excellent tea but it does have to be worth it as the drive there is fairly hairy....don't go in a large car. Tea was excellent and such amazing service, scones and lots of gorgeous cream! Garden is heaven even on a very wet day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The food is what you would expect from a 2 star restaurant, everything was just fantastic and petite fours were almost a desert in themselves, if you like good food you must eat here

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve_wendy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleaford
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wow!! Truly wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Gidleigh is truly wonderful. No doubts, no qualifications, it's just amazing. From the moment that you first see the signs that you are getting close till the moment that you have to leave, the experience of visiting this brilliant hotel is just superb. Not cheap, in fact it's quite outrageously expensive, but if thinking of going, then just do it and take the hit!!

Food is stunning, service and ambience are so refined and special. Everything about eating at Gidleigh is cracking. A real taste explosion. Simply the very best meal we've ever had. Oh we had the gastronomic lunch with coffee and petit fours.
We'd love to go back one day, so we're saving for an overnight stay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thehun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The signature menu - which we had on our second night at the Hotel - was sublime. Starting with a warm salad of native lobster, cardamon, lime and mango vinaigrette - an excellent teaser for the palate and well accompanied by a glass of Rias BaixasO'Rosal 2012.Having got the taste of Gidleigh into our system, we went on to the Terrine of Foie Gras with Madeira jelly and truffled green bean salad accompanied by Mosel Reisling Kabinett 2011. The fish course was Cornish salt cod with Beesands crab, chorizo, samphire, tarragon and a lemon puree all accompanied by Seresin Chiaroscuro Cardonnay, Pinot Gris & Reisling 2009 from Marlborough. Then came the Cornish Duck with cabbage, smoked bacon, roast garlic, turnips and spice jus accompanied by Chianti Classico 2009. The meal so far was absolutely excellent, although this course to us seemed overpowered by the roast garlic, which remained on the palate for too long.
Next came Dartmoor Lamb with boulangere potato and confit shoulder, fennel puree and a tapenade jus accompanied by Bodega Noemia A Lisa 2011. This was followed by a selection of south-west cheeses and 10 year old tawny port. The palate was cleansed with an exotic fruit salad including passion fruit sorbet and crystalline of pineapple. Finally, we had a plate of Apricot with apricot and almond nougatine parfait, apricot mousse and sorbet accompanied by Mulderbosch Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc 2009. Coffee and petits fours completed the dining.
A truly sublime occasion to round of our two-night stay at Gidleigh Park.
Not cheap but well worth saving up for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wine_and_food_taster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gidleigh Park Restaurant also viewed

Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Gidleigh Park Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing