We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Food and Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gidleigh Park Restaurant

Gidleigh Park Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $87 - $226
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set on the banks of the North Teign River in a magnificent estate of mature woodland and gardens, Gidleigh Park is surrounded by the wilds of Dartmoor. This small country house hotel boasts a two Michelin starred restaurant that is considered to be one of the finest in the country ��� The Sunday Times awarded Gidleigh Park Best Restaurant in its list of Top 100 British restaurants and the restaurant also won Most Excellent Restaurant at the Conde Nast Awards for Excellence 2011. Executive Chef Michael Caines and his team are renowned for creating innovative, modern European cuisine utilising the finest local and seasonal West Country produce and ingredients. Gidleigh Park Restaurant offers an a la carte menu, as well as a Tasting Menu (changes weekly), and a Classic Tasting Menu (seasonal). The wine cellar of more than 10,000 bottles has both great vintages from classic European and New World vintners as well as a growing range of biodynamic labels.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Fabulous, from the moment you arrive the service is just wonderful, exact but unassuming. For us this was a bit of a treat , my cousins birthday. We eat out quite a lot, we are fortunate, but this is a completely new level of beautiful food and wine. I just don't understand how food can taste this good and look so marvellous. It's easy to pay half this much elsewhere but you definitely get what you pay for here. You probably gather I liked it a lot.
Take a walk around the grounds , the scenery etc is the topping on a great treat.

What was nice was seeing Michael Caines there on the day and wearing his chef whites in the kitchen, that's passion. His stamp is well and truly on this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    61
    29
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I are never disappointed when dining at Gidleigh Park, the food is perfect with excellent staff serving, the trio of chocolate dessert is to die for. We are looking forward to spending a weekend in July there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Exquisite as Always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Afternoon tea with friends at Gidleigh Park is a tranquil setting in a relaxed and comfortable lounge with unassuming yet exacting service from the staff.
A recommendation as from previous experience is to order three afternoon teas for four persons, even this will be a hurdle to devour, so the kind staff at Gidleigh Park will ensure you can savour every last bite with the remaining pastries & cakes boxed for you to take home, how wonderful Gidleigh Park to take away.
Champagne with Afternoon tea is a must for those not driving, a very palatable choice, not too dry for the afternoon. Finger sandwiches with a variety of fillings to suit all guests and as on every occasion allergies are catered for by the staff at the point of booking.
Pastries and cakes are divine with fresh fruits and the lightest of sponge.
Choice of leaf teas is extensive but the Gidleigh Park blend is certainly one to try.
As always my favourite choice of all hotels to stay and eat with it's impeccable attention to detail.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMRT1777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“They really know how to make you feel special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Wow! What a beautiful place to visit! This was our first trip to Gidleigh. We had heard so much about it over the years and had been given our lunch as a present. We weren't disappointed....From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff looked after us and constantly made sure that we had everything we wanted. We arrived early for lunch and relaxed by the fire in the sitting room and enjoyed reading the papers and several coffees. Our food was delicious and we loved the wines we chose. We left feeling thoroughly spoilt.

We hope to return for many more special occasions with other members of the family. We cannot really comment on the cost of our meal as it was a present but we would certainly pay extra for this experience again. Gidleigh is somewhere to keep for special treats.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonFarmingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to celebrate my husband's birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had high expectations of our visit to Gidleigh Park, and we were not disappointed. From start to finish, everything was perfect. It's in a pretty location, with winding roads that cannot fit two cars abreast, so it does feel quite remote and special.

The hotel itself is stunning, with wonderful views from the huge bay windows. We had an aperitif before our meal, and could hear the nearby stream burbling away. I think that we were quite lucky that our visit was on a day when the place was not over-crowded: we went for Sunday lunch, and it's probably a different story on a Saturday! So there were guests there, but you also got to feel that you had it a bit to yourself.

Service was very attentive, but not in your face. We had the 8 course Signature menu, and it was delicious. The portions were the right size for us - we have eaten at other places with taster menus and it has become a struggle to finish (which means you don't enjoy the food as much towards the end). But we thoroughly enjoyed everything.

It seems to be a popular place for birthdays - there were at least 3 other people having tea and coffee in the lounge at the end of our meal who were there to celebrate a bithday, too. We can't say we blame them! We would love to go back: deserving of the over-used expression 'awesome'.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsB0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gidleigh Park Restaurant also viewed

Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Gidleigh Park Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing