We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trip to Chagford”
Review of The Globe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Globe Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Chagford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Booked The Globe as convenient for a local wedding.
Was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. Bar and hotel rooms are of a higher quality than anticipated from the website. The staff were friendly with the main staff member (sorry didn't get his name) was a friendly and cheerful man who greeted us, saw us to our rooms, tended to the bar and served breakfast the next day.
Our room was the Famiy room, Jasmine. This could sleep 6 people if required. Two single beds were comfortable. Double bed is a little (a lot) creaky and the mattress could do with an upgrade but it added character. Lovely bathroom, bath with handheld shower head, and good quality bedding.
Second room booked was Magnolia, I note the previous review about this room complained about the arrangement of the room. I can see their point but I don't think it is an issue if you are enjoying the bar/Chagford/Dartmoor. Quality of the furnishings was high and cleanliness throughout the hotel was brilliant.
I did think that the room price for the double superior is a little high but I didn't see a normal double room so couldn't compare. The family room was very good value, for 4 people it was £30 each.
We only ate breakfast there, which came with an ample supply of cereal, toast, jams, fruit, full English cooked to our requirements and a constant supply of tea, coffee and juice.
We drank in the bar and the bar man was helpful with drink selections and stoked the fire for us. Very comfortable and friendly atmosphere.
Located on the main high street and opposite a beautiful church. Parking was either short stay on the high street or in a car park 2 minutes walk away.
Would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torquinian_Penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 235 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

What a really lovely place. My room was fabulous, clean and very comfortable with lots of attention to detail. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the village is charming.
The bar with its open fire was welcoming and breakfast was plentiful with cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit and full English breakfast.
I hope to visit again and would most certainly stay at The Globe - hopefully for longer than 3 nights next time!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NannySue186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We took a, much looked forward to, 2 night break here. We had booked a superior double room (Magnolia) But were disappointed to find there was very little that was superior. Although the room was a good size the bed was only a 4'6" the tv was tiny (with only 5 watchable channels) and positioned too far to watch from the bed and unable to watch from the sofa.The bathroom had no shower not even over the bath (just a hand held mixer with no way of hanging it on the wall). The hair dryer was impossible to use with the mirror, the lead was too short I had to bend down to see in the corner of the mirror. The kettle was situated under a shelf which was awkward to use, none of this would you expect from a superior room, the whole room needed re-arranging I would suggest the owners stay in their rooms to see how they could improve the usability of them. The room was however clean.

We decided to eat in the pub that evening. After having a drink in the bar we told the barman (who was very helpful and had also checked us in) that we would go through to the restaraunt area, another couple also staying followed us in and we sat & chatted. However after 20 minutes no-one had come to take an order or even acknowlege us. I had to go back to the bar to ask if anyone was looking after the restaurant (earlier their had been a waitress but she seemed to dissapear by 7.45pm) The barman said he would see to it. He then appeared with a pad and took orders. The meals took 40 minutes to come out and mine (a seafood lasagne) was not very hot but we had waited so long & I was so hungry I just ate it. The other 2 guests were also saying how terrible the service was, the only person doing anything was the barman who seemed to have to do everything. We then sat with empty plates for another 1/2 hour and eventually had to go to the bar again and ask for a desert menu. During this time the owners (pointed out by the other couple) were sat in the lounge bar eating & drinking with friends. Needless to say we did not eat there on our 2nd night.

Breakfast was again disappointing for £95 pn we were expecting good choice and local produce.
The first morning there were cereals and a couple of pieces of fruit in a bowl, no prunes, grapefruit or fruit salad, and the jam & marmalade on the help your self table was opened jars of Spar jam (not good quality let alone local). There was basic cooked breakfast (served by the Mr. owner) with no vegetarian option. The second morning there wasn't a piece of fruit in sight ! we were not offered more tea/toast and there was no friendly banter. We wondered if the owners really didn't want to be there?
During our 2 day stay the owners never once introduced themselves or spoke to us (Mr owner took our money when we departed) if not for the friendly couple we chatted to each day it would have been miserable. Previous stay in the 3 Crowns (next door) knocked spots off them in every aspect. Very expensive for very basic accommodation & breakfast & extremely poor service.

Room Tip: Not sure there are any, the other couple said they were choking on cooking smells from an extractor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starnstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryFrench, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, we will always try to put things right if we are informed about them at the time. However no mention was made at the time or on departure for us to rectify the situation.

Magnolia room is one of our most popular rooms and previous reviews back this up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We decided to break our journey to the SW and fit in a 2 hour walk on Dartmoor. Choosing the Globe Inn at Chagford was pot luck.We arrived about 8pm. , enjoyed an excellent meal and spent a very comfortable night in a well appointed room.( far exceeding our expectations for a country pub ) After a substantial freshly cooked breakfast we looked around Chagford and 30 mins later we were striding over Staples Tor. The highlight of the stay however was the exceptional and friendly service of the owners,Mary and Graham.Nothing was too much trouble. We shall certainly repeat the experience.

Room Tip: have a look at all the available rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidandPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

If you like a warm cosy atmosphere, beautifully schemed 'chabby chic' interior with log fires, and owners who take the time to talk to you and meet your every need, you'll love the Globe Inn. Have just returned from our 2nd stay after a rather disasterous start to our long weekend where self catering cottage was not up to standard so dropped in on Mary & her husband to save our weekend which they did admirably. On arriving stressed & cold we were welcomed in by one of their team who stoked fire for us took the time to talk about our predicament & then showed us two rooms to suit our needs. We chose the same room as our previous visit which was clean, warm & welcoming. The breakfast was beautifully presented with branded cereals, yoghurts, fresh coffee with a choice of cooked breakfasts which were freshly grilled to our liking. The evening meals were all freshly cooked & offered a choice of fresh fish, steaks, pasta & vegetarian option. You get what you pay for at Chagford. Excellent value for money. Would easily recommend to anyone-ignore reviews on the Globes own web site, I think the people who wrote them must have stayed at a different hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

There are overnight stays and then there are those rare memorable evenings such as the one we spent at The Globe Inn.

Curious to see a corner of Dartmoor before we had to leave the area, my husband and I took a small local bus from Exeter to Chagford. From the town square, we spotted the Globe Inn, met the much-admired Graham and Mary (and a few more locals) and learned that they had one room left for the night--a quiet, comfortable ensuite room at the back of the inn. As it was still early, we spent the rest of the day walking in the local hills.

We had been asked for our dinner choices before setting out, and thought we would eat right after returning to the inn and retire early. That was not to be! As the popular tavern side had already been reserved, we were seated in the also charming dining room, with lots of wood, candles and quirky items that worked well together. We settled back to talk with and watch the members of the engaging staff as they attended to us and other guests, including locals and travellers. Soon a lively group of young professional men, school collegues on an annual inn-to-inn hiking weekend, and a local family with two bright middle school children were seated near us. Before long the entire room was full of diners. The food was remarkably good and served with enthusiastic flair. As we were about to leave, the girl at the next table mentioned that it was "Game Night" and we really should stay--at exactly which point the games began with Mary's voice booming over a mic from the next room. The little period dining room with its eclectic, well-fed group of strangers became a merry venue for a hilarious Trivial Pursuit-type game--great fun and a great way to get to know local residents and fellow travellers. The ambience, the folks who run the inn and the guests we met at dinner, the food, the game, the laughter and the spontaneous informality of it all made for a truly memorable evening.

The next day we spent walking to and on the moors to Scorhill Stone Circle and back--and then to the bus. Honestly, Chagford and surrounds is a beautiful, relaxing place, with a local population that takes great pride in the area and in being friendly to travellers.

Room Tip: They do have very quiet rooms at the back of the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank egblines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Just returned from a trip to Chagford, where after much searching online for somewhere good to stay, eat and sleep, and a sensible price... I went for The Globe Inn. The Hotel and Inn are in a quiet part of the town, with a picturesque view over to the church, and Dartmoor in the background. A picture postcard!
Stayed in a twin room. Lovely interior, comfortable beds, shower, TV and wifi. All good.
Downstairs is the quaint Inn, with a restaurant and lounge area, log fires, and good ambience.
Had a super meal too, nice choice of ales, and good service from the attentive staff. Breakfast served from 8.30 (could have been a little earlier), but all in all a good stay. Will be happy to recommend this to anyone in need of a little treat, and short stay in the lovely Chagford!
One thing to note: Parking is available outside the Hotel, but not too many spaces. 2hrs only in daytime!

Room Tip: Twim room ("Willow") has a lovely view of the church and village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
1.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
542 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,179 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
9.7 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,127 reviews
8.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 4 in Okehampton
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe Inn

Address: 9 High Street, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range: $108 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Globe Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Dartmoor town of Chagford, there is ample public parking just 50 yards away. Graham and Mary offer their customers a warm welcome to open fires, real ales and a varied menu of home cooked dishes made from locally sourced produce. Lunch is served from noon to 2.30 pm and dinner from 6 pm to 9 pm seven days a week.We offer seven large en-suite letting rooms most of which have recently been refurbished to a high standard.The room configurations are:four doubles, one twin and two family rooms which can sleep up to six. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Globe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Globe Inn Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing