We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stay in Devon and probably beyond”
Review of Farleigh Cottage

Farleigh Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chagford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Farleigh Cottage
Ranked #11 of 15 Chagford B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2013

It was a wonderful stay. Lin was a perfect hostess. The room was comfortable and we felt like we had run of the whole beautiful cottage. Chagford and Dartmoor and all of Devon are easily accessible from this perfect base. Breakfast was to die for.

Room Tip: We stayed in the en-suite double - perfect - quiet and great home made shortbread in the room with T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladolcevilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 56 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I were travelling on holiday and this location provided a perfect way to break up the long journey. We arrived and Lyn was a perfect host throughout, welcoming us with delicious lemon drizzle cake and tea. Our room was just perfect and very comfortable indeed complete with delicious shortbread! Lyn cooked a delicious breakfast for us in the morning that set us up for the day. Simply excellent. Why go anywhere else? Hotels are over priced and over rated!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobster71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife & I stayed at Farleigh Cottage from 28th to 30th June to attend our friends' wedding in Chagford. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome by Lynn. She is a delightful person who treated us as friends and was very attentive and helpful. Our room was excellent with full en suite facilities. The cottage is beautifully maintained with a lovely garden and the whole ambience engenders a very relaxing experience. Breakfast was to die for - cereal, fruit, yoghurt, eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, preserves......the only downside was we had no room left for lunch and Chagford has some excellent cafes and restaurants. The village also has 4 pubs, several boutiques, a quality butchers, health food shops and a beautiful 13th century church. We intend to return to this little gem later this year and use it as a base to explore the sights of Devon and we would highly recommend it. A big thank you Lynn!

Room Tip: There are several pubs/hotels offering accommodation in Chagford for around double the price - ignor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrookieEpsom_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at Farleigh Cottage in Devon. We were visiting Devon for a family wedding and enjoyed a peaceful relaxing stay at this cottage. Lyn was lovely and made us very welcome and the homemade cake and biscuits on arrival were a bonus. The en suite room was lovely and the cottage very cosy. The lovely sunny weather enabled us to sit in her gorgeous cottage garden. Would we stay there again, most definitely, would we recommend this cottage, most definitely.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Lovely centrally located house, very quiet and peaceful and beautifully decorated. Room was gorgeous and bathroom large and well appointed. Great shower, hot and excellent pressure, with lots of room. Everything was supplied - biscuits, bathroom accessories etc. Lovely tea and homemade cake on arrival. No wifi unfortunately. Our bed was long and very comfy. Our host Lyn was lovely, very friendly and attentive and a genuinely nice and interesting person. Breakfast was the best we had in three weeks of daily B&Bs on our walking holiday. Everything was taken care of with nothing left to chance by our host. Highly recommended and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david102a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I recently went away to Devon for a few days golf with my son Robert (32). I had stayed with Lynn at Farleigh Cottage several years earlier when I was a tour driver guide taking some rich Americans in my car on a tour and put them up at the luxurious nearby 5 star Gidleigh Manor. Gidleigh is v special but it was me that had the 5 star experience!

Lynn is so good as host and we had such a lovely time with her. She even managed to improve my golf on the last day with her words of wisdom!

I thoroughly recommend a stay - a real taste of England at its best.

Room Tip: you cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry_barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

After hiking 20 miles on the moor in the rain, Lyn took away our wet clothes and boots and, after a hot shower, served us tea and cake. Heaven! Then she made us a dinner reservation. When I kiddingly said at the restaurant that we should call Lyn to pick us up due to the rain, they said she had done so in the past and they would call her if we wanted. No, it doesn't get any better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncanworldtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
1.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
519 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,390 reviews
3.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Three Crowns Chagford
Three Crowns Chagford
#2 of 15 in Chagford
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farleigh Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farleigh Cottage

Address: Farleigh Cottage Lower Street, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Farleigh Cottage Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing