We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parford Well? One of a Kind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parford Well Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 15 Chagford B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 22, 2007

Our recent stay at Parford Well was one of the very best B&B experiences we've had in 30 years of traveling. The host makes all the difference in the world and Tim Daniel (former hotelier in S. Kensington in London) brings years of experience to treating people right. The setting for the property is lovely--quiet, decorated with an eye to both understated style and creature comfort--and nicely situated as a base to use in Devon. Dartmoor, Dartmouth, Exeter are all easy day trips from Parford Well. The beds are comfortable, linens freshly pressed, furnishings new, and bathrooms are up to date. We wish that there had been a stall shower option, but that was our only disappointment. Breakfasts are cooked to order by Tim himself with enough variety in the menu to keep things interesting and guests feeling like they matter. We compare this experience to one that followed in Cornwall in a much splashier setting where people were churned through the dining room like cattle. Tim genuinely cares abut people and takes enough time to get to know just enough about you to know how to please you. A prince of a guy and a lovely, lovely find.

    • Value
Thank pippirrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Parford Well Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 86 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2007

Parford Well and its proprietor Tim were nothing short of delightful. The Inn is set in a tiny crossroads town called Sandy Park, which is a lovely two mile walk from the town of Chagford. The grounds and gardens are enclosed by a stone wall and impeccably kept, as are the private and public interior areas. It is a tranquil and peaceful place to be. Tim has an ecclectic collection of art that is interesting and pleasing to explore. The living room is a comfortable space to retire to in the evenings. The bedrooms are neat and tidy with comfortable beds and the bathrooms provide all the necessities. Note for shower lovers - the bathrooms are equipped with bathtubs and hand spray nozzles, but no shower curtain or door to permit a stand up shower. We managed just fine taking a 'sitting shower." All is spotlessly clean with hair dryers, shampoo and complimentary bottled drinking water provided in the rooms. Each bedroom has a pleasant view of the private yard and gardens. Tim's breakfast offerings are generous and well-prepared including eggs, meats, fruit, vegetables and several grain options. Delicious food is served in the evening a couple doors away at the Sandy Park Inn's "dear pub" as Tim described it. He was right - the pub is tiny and genuine. I definitely hope to return to Parford Well!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StayCurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hans-Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliceundgernot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaele5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
0.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
514 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Three Crowns Chagford
Three Crowns Chagford
#2 of 15 in Chagford
145 reviews
2.3 mi away
Higher Weddicott Farm
Higher Weddicott Farm
#1 of 15 in Chagford
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parford Well Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parford Well Bed & Breakfast

Address: Parford Well Parford Well | Sandy Park, Nr Chagford, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range: $88 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Parford Well Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parford Well Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parford Well Bed & Breakfast Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing