We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parford Well Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 15 Chagford B&B and Inns
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Best B&B”
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This Bed and Breakfast is by far the best that I have ever stayed at. I cannot fault any aspect of the service or hospitality.

My wife and I have just returned after celebrating our 10th Wedding anniversary, we stayed for three nights and from the minute you arrive you feel that Tim will take care of you.

The Bed bit....... we found our room to be spotlessly clean, comfortable and spacious. The bed was queen size and very very comfortable. There was plenty of storage with a wardrobe and chest of drawers, two easy chairs, a large window overlooking the front garden and complimentary water. The ensuite bathroom was equally good.

The Breakfast bit..... it was yummy!! Relaxed and leisurely Tim cooked a mean full english complimented with juice, cereal, toast and lots of coffee / tea.

There is a large comfy guest lounge and a beautifully kept large garden that you could wander around at will.

Tim is the perfect host, attentive without being over bearing and very helpful, even down to lending me his own cufflinks after I had arranged to take my wife out for a very expensive meal only to realise that I had left mine at home!!!

I would, without hesitation recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill37972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
68
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We have just had four days of perfect relaxation in the best B & B we have ever stayed in. Set in a most beautiful part of the West Country, the quiet coupled with a most comfortable bed, beautifully clean bathroom and wonderful breakfasts, made for a splendid and memorable rest. Tim Daniel is a very attentive and amusing host who has been in the hospitality business all his life and brings a charming attention to detail that extends throughout the house and wonderful garden. This is an exceptional B & B that we cannot wait to return to.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We researched any number of B&Bs in Devon, and this one just stood out from the crowd. Tim has created a wonderfully tasteful home, and his attention to detail is impressive. He was very welcoming, and each afternoon we were greeted with tea and biscuits/cake, served in the beautiful sitting room, which had antique furniture, an excellent range of up-to-date, quality magazines and big squashy sofas. The rooms are very well appointed and the bed was supremely comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. Tim is a very courteous and knowledgeable host who goes to a lot of trouble to ensure that his guests are comfortable. We could quite happily have stayed for much longer and will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishLavender_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Tim was an excellent host and made us feel extremely welcome. We took over all 3 rooms for a long weekend and he couldn't have done any more to ensure that we had a great time during a 70th Birthday celebration. Breakfast is of high quality, the house is spotless and the garden immaculate - it felt like being at home, particularly with the guest lounge to allow us to relax in. Location is ideal, allowing easy access to most of Dartmoor. Difficult to fault and having stayed in so many bad B&B's, this should be used as an example of how to run one properly!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyOfBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fownhope, Hereford
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We first stayed here some 9 years ago: been back each year. We stay again Sept '09. Tim is an excellent host. The house and garden combine to give quiet elegance and comfort without any pretence. The cooked breakfast reclines like a work of art on the plate !

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seejayuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We spend two nights in Tim's beautiful decorated house with a well-tended garden. Tim is a very obliging host. The breakfast was superb. All in all a lovely B&B! One of the best accommodation we had so far. Thank's Tim keep it up...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Parford Well is the sort of calm country oasis that one always hopes to find but very rarely does. Our room was bright and sunny with lots of individual touches (as there are throughout the house). The view over the garden and down the valley was quintessential Devon complete with thatched cottage. For a townee, the quiet at night was almost deafening!
On the edge of Dartmoor, close to Chagford, the house is an ideal location for long country walks on the moors or, if you're in a bucket and spade mood, it's a short drive to the coast. There are many excellent pubs and restaurants in the vicinity and a big comfortable sitting room exclusively for residents to relax in.
Tim does a great cooked breakfast with locally bought sausages and farm fresh eggs that will set you up for the day. The perfect place to unwind, we'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
0.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
484 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,055 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
277 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
0.8 mi away
Easton Court
Easton Court
#10 of 15 in Chagford
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parford Well Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parford Well Bed & Breakfast

Property: Parford Well Bed & Breakfast
Address: Parford Well Parford Well | Sandy Park, Nr Chagford, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Parford Well Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parford Well Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parford Well Bed & Breakfast Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing