We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary treat!”
Review of Gidleigh Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gidleigh Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Anniversary treat!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We booked to stay for our recent wedding Anniversary. We had wanted to stay for some time and we finally managed it.

The drive to get there was not the best but we ended up not taking a direct route, but it was certainly worth it!

It certainly lived up to our expectations. The hotel it in such a wonderful setting and we were lucky to arrive on a hot sunny day so we certainly saw it at it's best.

The room was very nicely decorated, with a large bathroom. Very comfortable large bed.

We arrived mid-afternoon and we booked to have a garden tour. That was very interesting, and we got to try lots of the herbs that are grown in the garden. The gardeners do an amazing job to keep the grounds so perfect!

We then relaxed whilst having a drink on the terrace to enjoy the beautiful weather. Then before dinner we had a kitchen tour, it was nice to see behind the scenes.

The food was amazing. We opted for the 3 course meal rather than the tasting menu. We then finished off with coffee in the lounge with scrummy chocs.

The next morning after breakfast we walked around some of the grounds before leaving.

We will certainly be returning at some point in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Lisa S

It is so nice to read your review on Gidleigh Park, we are all so pleased you had such a wonderful time with us. Anniversaries are very special occasions and we believe in making them memorable. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back some time soon. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    105
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
111
791
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sidmouth
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I came to Gidleigh with my husband for lunch. The setting of this hotel is beautiful. We had a wonderful lunch, a fine dining experience.The staff were attentive, friendly, and professional. We came for lunch ,but could have stayed for a week. I can highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Denise P

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to us for lunch. I am also glad to hear you didn't want to leave, maybe next time you should stay! Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Love this place. Eaten here many times and with many different people all of which have loved it as much. Walking the grounds after a lush lunch is a particular highlight. Will always return for lunch, dinner or just drinks!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Ashley H

So glad to read you are such a big fan, we really look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here for three fantastic nights to celebrate, a little in advance, our 25th wedding anniversary (which does not actually come along until the 5th August). It is such a tucked away haven of peace and quiet. We stayed in a wonderful room called Kitty which had the benefit of a large balcony with marvellous views across the gardens and moors in the distance. We chose to have the tasting menu and were completely blown away by the exceptional cuisine and discreet service. Breakfasts maintained the same level of food and service. We could not have had a better break.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonBonGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear BonBonGod

Its so lovely to read you choose Gidleigh for a early 25th wedding anniversary stay, and even nicer to hear you had such a wonderful time. We really appreciate you taking the time to post such a nice review. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Gidleigh Park reminds me of my numerous stays at Raymond Blanc's Manoir Aux Quat Saison, it has a similar high class atmosphere, high level of service and attention to detail.
We had a deluxe room which was very comfortable in every way, all the details gave an impression of class. From the antique furniture to the very well designed and quality bathroom.
The staff are incredibly efficient, anticipating your every need, they are also very friendly.
The grounds are beautiful and are kept up to a very high standard, a wander over them is a great relaxing pleasure.
There is a lovely comfortably furnished lounge, and a terrace with a wonderful view over the grounds and the background countryside.
The restaurant is excellent, a very good two star experience.
There is plenty of room for the guests and one never feels anything other than relaxation and space.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobTayloruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear BobTayloruk

It is very nice to be compared to Le Manoir, we take that as a great compliment.
What is very pleasing indeed is to hear you had such a good time with us and enjoyed the food and the service, the teams will be thrilled. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we enjoyed reading it greatly. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at the Gidleigh Park Hotel for tow nights in June 2014. The only words to describe the hotel, its staff and their food is "outstanding". The grounds of the hotel are unbelievable and just sitting on the patio and looking at them is something to behold.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Hugh S

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Gidleigh Park, Michael and the team will be so pleased to hear you found the food and service to be outstanding. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Went away with my family for a few days break, and so loved the pictures of Gidleigh, decided this was the place to go! The drive to the hotel is truly beautiful, but incredibly narrow and had a few nervous moments as all the alarms seemed to be sounding round the car warning us of close proximity to the sides. You don't want to meet anything coming the other way. However you are bowled over when the house comes into sight with the beautiful gardens. The service was perfect. Efficient, gracious and thankfully not over the top. They really knew how to make you feel special. This was true of everyone. The lovely country house décor, wonderful food, comfy beds and beautiful bedlinen. Our only dislike was bathrooms being too modern and no doors from bedroom to bathroom. Gidleigh please bring good old fashioned doors! That said, it was a wonderful experience and would love to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Brenda F

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and of course the drive in. I will of course pass your comments onto our owners regarding the bathroom doors, and for your knowledge all our rooms are individually styled so a good selection of our rooms do have doors as apposed to the open plan style. I do hope we will see you again in the near future. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
4.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,272 reviews
20.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
19.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
497 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
388 reviews
15.1 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gidleigh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gidleigh Park

Property: Gidleigh Park
Address: Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gidleigh Park 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set majestically on the bubbling upper reaches of the River Teign, Gidleigh Park enjoys an exquisite location on the very edge of Dartmoor National Park. Famed for its culinary credentials, Gidleigh Park offers an air of tranquillity and romance within a Tudor-style country house, beautifully furnished by the Brownsword family and set within 107 acres of mature grounds. Adding to the five-star experience, the bedrooms at Gidleigh Park are of exceptional luxury. All individual in style and design, they feature the most stunning bathrooms, wet rooms and spa suites that inspire a true sense of indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gidleigh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gidleigh Park Chagford, Devon
Hotel Gidleigh Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing