We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor cooking”
Review of Gidleigh Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gidleigh Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had our annual trip to gidleigh on Sunda 17 Nov. with the family 16 of us. As usual the hotel was it's usual excellent self with nothing too much bother. The cooking was a different matter We were give a very poor retricted menu (3 choices per course) to enable the kitchen to serve us at the same time. The main course Beef or Venison was served cold when it sould have been hot !! Michael Caines was not there. There was no sign of the chef to explain. Overall with this being the 3rd visit here we were very disapointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear nick d
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your family’s recent visit to us and your very kind words regarding our hotel.
It is of course extremely disappointing to read that despite having spoken to the organiser of your party during the course of the evening in addition to the following morning before departure and at that point we had addressed the situation to your satisfaction, you still felt it necessary to express your disappointment on Trip Advisor.
Gidleigh Park’s reputation is based on customer service which is paramount to everything we do, and whilst we feel we had dealt with the issue which concluded the matter, we are of course very sorry you left unhappy. If you wish to discuss this further then please contact me directly on generalmanager@gidleigh.co.uk

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

After a slightly nerve-wracking two mile drive a on single track country lane with few passing places, it is a pleasure to arrive at this tranquil and elegant hotel. We stayed on a two-day package including a la carte and tasting menu dinners plus breakfasts. Service was polished and professional throughout, and the meal and wines perfectly balanced and presented. Recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pra51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear pra51

We are very glad to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed the food and service over your stay.

It sounds like you had a eventful journey to get to us, our lane is indeed winding and we are of the beaten track but this allows us to offer a peaceful Hotel away from the humdrum of modern life, where our guests can switch off, relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

It seems you managed to do just that, aided by the good food and a little wine over your two day stay,

To say you would not hesitate to recommend us is praise enough and for that we whole heartedly thank you.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Outstanding service from all the staff we met.
Delicious food.
Huge range of food on buffet table before indulging in excellent bacon.
I'm not a fish eater so I did find the second night menu limited, this time of year I would have been delighted to see a steak pudding or a special cottage pie on menu.
Being offered tea in bed before breakfast was very indulgent.
Thank you all so much for making our stay very special.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank QueenieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear QueenieDevon

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Gidleigh Park

I must also thank you on behalf of our team here for the comment on the service, they are very proud.

We are also glad Michaels food was to your liking and that you enjoyed dinning with us,

We believe everybody should have tea brought to them before breakfast, it sets you up for the day, if this is not the case a visit to Gidleigh should be made essential.

I am glad this was a special visit for you and it is our pleasure to have been a part of it.

I very much hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I agree you would not normally visit Gidleigh Park on a weekly or even a monthly basis but for that special occasion it is damm near perfect.
My Wife and I spent a weekend there in October where both ourselves and our two springer spaniels were made very welcome. The service was impeccable both in the Hotel and, as you would expect in the 2 Michelin Star restaurant. No it is not cheap but near perfection never is. For that special occasion I cannot praise Gidleigh Park and it's staff highly enough.

Room Tip: Find out the prices and then spend a little more than planned. It will be worth it, If in doubt, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerry250940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Gerry250940

Firstly thank you very much for choosing Gidleigh Park for you special occasion in October.

As you can imagine getting a review like yours is always a pleasure, but it is more rewarding still to know that our guests went away from Gidleigh having their expectations exceeded with fond memories to take with them.

Most importantly we are glad the dogs had a good time, with 107 acres of garden and three dog friendly rooms I can imagine a visit for a four legged friend has to also be very special.

We are very humbled by your comments regarding our staff, The team are very proud of what they do, and our guests satisfaction is paramount to us.

We all hope to welcome the four of you back some time in the future, maybe for another special occasion.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I decided to spoil ourselves for a weekend so we choose Gidleigh! Best choice ever!
The staff were attentive and just wonderful. As for the food.... It was fabulous!! We opted for the tasting menu and it was well worth the money!
Fabulous grounds, fabulous rooms and a wonderful place to go if you want to be spoilt!
I would recommend this place over and over again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsfarmer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Mrsfarmer39

We are very happy you decided to spoil yourselves here with us at Gidleigh Park, but even happier to hear you had a fabulous time enjoying Michaels Tasting Menu as part of a wonderful stay.

Our intention has always been to offer a relaxing but indulgent stay in beautiful surroundings where the cuisine takes centre stage and the service is attentive but friendly.

I must also thank you for the lovely comments regarding the staff, we are proud of our whole team and it is so nice to hear them mentioned in such a positive manner.

Next time you feel like spoiling each other please give us a call we would love to be the ones to make it happen.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We enjoyed a three night stay over half-term. Just about everything has been said, so I'm not going to bang on. The hotel is very relaxed, quite informal really, and that's not an easy thing to achieve. The staff are the key, friendly, professional and attentive rather than intrusive. We enjoyed a tour of the wine cellar, and local walks. The food was outstanding. There are no gimics, no "jokes" or ice lollies tasting of snails, but this kitchen will give you, for example, the best lamb and boulangere potatoes that you can remember eating. And that's a much harder thing to do.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Phillip B

Thank you very much for your review regarding your stay over the half term.

It pleases us to hear you thought our team were key to the enjoyment of your stay, we are very proud of each and every one of them and we realise how important it is to get a good balance between friendly and approachable care, while also being attentive and professional, this I agree with you is the key to good service.

Michael Caines has always stayed well clear of gimmicks and has instead let good local ingredients cooked well do all the talking on the plates at Gidleigh, it is super you enjoyed the Lamb this has to be one of Michaels Signature dishes and a real local favourite.

We do hope you will find the time to return to us, the cellar is always evolving so you may need another tour to catch up on the changes.

Once again we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The best place I can imagine for an expensive, luxury weekend in the country. The road to the hotel is an experience in itself, but when you turn the last corner and the beautiful old house comes into view, it starts to become obvious that this is a special place. With a raging rocky river crossing the park in front of the house, it's just breathtaking. Service is very 5 star, the room was outstanding - lovely balcony, huge, huge bathroom. On top of all this is Michael Caines' signature 2 star restaurant - exquisite dishes and wonderful flavours. Bring a brolly - Dartmoor's wetter than you think.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank VespaManRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
4.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,389 reviews
20.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
13.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
519 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 86 in Torquay
566 reviews
20.1 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gidleigh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gidleigh Park

Address: Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range: $324 - $688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gidleigh Park 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set majestically on the bubbling upper reaches of the River Teign, Gidleigh Park enjoys an exquisite location on the very edge of Dartmoor National Park. Famed for its culinary credentials, Gidleigh Park offers an air of tranquillity and romance within a Tudor-style country house, beautifully furnished by the Brownsword family and set within 107 acres of mature grounds. Adding to the five-star experience, the bedrooms at Gidleigh Park are of exceptional luxury. All individual in style and design, they feature the most stunning bathrooms, wet rooms and spa suites that inspire a true sense of indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gidleigh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gidleigh Park Chagford, Devon
Hotel Gidleigh Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing