We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Superb hotel”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for my wife's recent birthday and although expensive it was well worth it. The hotel and grounds are superb and the staff are welcoming and always helpful and chatty, they make it feel like you are staying more in a home than a hotel. We had a rom at the front with super views down the valley and over the gardens

Room Tip: Go for a room with views down the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_wendy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    102
    39
    9
    2
See reviews for
109
775
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stay here some time ago, I just have not got round to writing a review. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff. We were upgraded to a suite which was stunning at the front of the house. The quality of everything in this hotel surpassed all our expectations from the beautiful linen to the Mouton brown in the bathroom. Nothing was too much trouble. We were having dinner here as well and that too was excellent.
We sat in the lounge before dinner and had pre dinner drinks very comfortable. I cannot fault this place for accommodation or dinner it really is a very special place to be and a real treat from the norm. We will return without hesitation. If you are a walker their are beautiful walks in and around the grounds.

Room Tip: The suite to the front of the property are fantastic and have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanashton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A group of us were treated here for lunch, and what a treat. The service was exceptional. The approach to the hotel is not an easy one, make sure you follow their instructions .... but you will be well rewarded. A stunning location on the edge of Dartmoor, with lots of walking to be done to burn off the calories you've just eaten! Fine dining, with excellent choice of wines to match. The perfect place to relax whether for a day, or a weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Thanks very much for a great day last week - it was very special - I think its the tranquility of Gidleigh combined with the fabulous food and such friendly staff that makes it such a special experience.

Best wishes

Geoff and Anna Bowen

Room Tip: lunch is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aadevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My Partner booked a meal for us for my 50th, we arrived for lunch, and were shown into the drawing room, lots of soft squashy sofas, around the room for you t choose from, a guest book was on the table for you to leave your comment.

For guests staying at the hotel, it was used as a lounge, there were board games available, to keep family's entertained, a gorgeous view of the garden and terrace, tables and chairs were arranged in groups for you to chose where you sat, wile waiting to be called in for your meal.

While waiting you can view items for sale, pottery, jewellery, recipe books, aprons and other cotton items with the Gidleigh logo on.

In the toilets, there was a showcase, showing gold jewellery, earrings, tie pins, money clips, pens, all can be purchased at the reception desk.

The hotel has a wealth of polished wooden parquet flooring, and a luxurious oak panelled reception area, where we were greeted by a very attentive member of staff, as were all the staff during our visit.

When we went into the small dining room, and shown to our table, this again was oak panel lined, with views over the garden, and ether side of the door were glass panelled showcases of bottles of fine wine.

Our meal was superb, Michael Cains the Head Executive Chef produced a fantastic menu, we had a starter of boiled quails egg on a bed of spinach, a watercress soup in a shot glass, and croutons. The main course was beef twice cooked, with roasted baby carrots and parsnips and jus. We had a cheese course, where we were able to choose a selection of cheeses, from the cheese trolley, It was the biggest cheese trolley I had ever seen, full of every cheese you could think of and more, we chose our favourite, and then with the help of the cheese waitress, we chose three more, we both tried a cheese aged in champagne, and then had a selection of hard and soft cheese's. For desert, we had a trio of deserts, and a special touch, they made me a Chocolate Birthday Card, swirled milk and white chocolate slice, with Happy Birthday piped across it, it was the icing on the occasion, and we have promised ourselves that one day we will return and spend either a week/weekend there, or Christmas, you can hire the pavilion cottage that sleeps up to 8 people.

Throughout or day at Gidleigh Park, we were treated by the most attentive of staff, with extensive knowledge on each dish, the wines to go with each course and of course not forgetting the cheese trolley, we had a fantastic time, we were really looked after, and thoroughly enjoyed it, its a fantastic place, well worth a visit/stay.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room. The pavilion is ideal for a family Christmas get away, there are small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I booked us onto the wine lover's stay - not cheap, but well worth it. We had been upgraded to a view room and my wife's mouth fell open when she first saw the roll-top bath with a view over the surrounding moors. Gidleigh Park is not the sort of hotel that you will drop onto - you will have booked and the negotiated the winding single-lane Devon roads surrounding Chagford - the hotel does have signs confirming that you just need to keep going. When you round the corner and see the hotal for the first time, you will find that it takes your breath away.
Often you will find a brilliant restaurant with a poor hotel or a brilliat hotel with a poor restaurant. Andrew Brownsword has ensured that both the hotel and the restaurant are brilliant - his partnership with Michael Caines has brought 2 Michelin stars to this hotel and it deserves them.
First night was from the a la carte menu with accompanying wines from the flight - all matched to perfection. Breakfast each day was superbly presented and very tasty. There are masses of grounds to wander in as well as the delights of Dartmoor to enjoy - this was the first time that I had revisited Haytor since leaving my home town of Exeter in the mid-1970s.
The second evening meal was the signature menu - just as well that the portions were smaller than the a la carte. Aain, accompanied by matched wines and again absolutely perfect. We also enjoyed a visit to the wine cellars.
Nothing was too much trouble for the very attentive staff.
Was it wirth the money? A definite YES and now we have to start saving up for a return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel have a superb view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wine_and_food_taster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Have just had a wonderful 2 night Wine Lovers package stay. Food and wines were fabulous - we would highly recommend this package which included all carte and signature menus and wine flights plus B &B stay. We were staying to celebrate our silver wedding and every member of staff was wonderfully attentive , knowledgeable and very welcoming. I had previously been for lunch and immediately booked this stay as soon as I returned home that evening. I could only describe our stay as faultlessly perfect.

Room Tip: we had a master room located on the ground floor with a very generous covered terrace with full view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornwallPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
4.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,237 reviews
20.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
19.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
482 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
378 reviews
15.1 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gidleigh Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gidleigh Park Hotel

Property: Gidleigh Park Hotel
Address: Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gidleigh Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, Tudor-style country house hotel set in 45 acres of secluded gardens and woodlands – 2 miles west of Chagford on the banks of the North Teign River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gidleigh Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gidleigh Park Chagford
Hotel Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park Hotel Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing