We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra-Special”
Review of Gidleigh Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gidleigh Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A group of us were treated here for lunch, and what a treat. The service was exceptional. The approach to the hotel is not an easy one, make sure you follow their instructions .... but you will be well rewarded. A stunning location on the edge of Dartmoor, with lots of walking to be done to burn off the calories you've just eaten! Fine dining, with excellent choice of wines to match. The perfect place to relax whether for a day, or a weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Thanks very much for a great day last week - it was very special - I think its the tranquility of Gidleigh combined with the fabulous food and such friendly staff that makes it such a special experience.

Best wishes

Geoff and Anna Bowen

Room Tip: lunch is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aadevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My Partner booked a meal for us for my 50th, we arrived for lunch, and were shown into the drawing room, lots of soft squashy sofas, around the room for you t choose from, a guest book was on the table for you to leave your comment.

For guests staying at the hotel, it was used as a lounge, there were board games available, to keep family's entertained, a gorgeous view of the garden and terrace, tables and chairs were arranged in groups for you to chose where you sat, wile waiting to be called in for your meal.

While waiting you can view items for sale, pottery, jewellery, recipe books, aprons and other cotton items with the Gidleigh logo on.

In the toilets, there was a showcase, showing gold jewellery, earrings, tie pins, money clips, pens, all can be purchased at the reception desk.

The hotel has a wealth of polished wooden parquet flooring, and a luxurious oak panelled reception area, where we were greeted by a very attentive member of staff, as were all the staff during our visit.

When we went into the small dining room, and shown to our table, this again was oak panel lined, with views over the garden, and ether side of the door were glass panelled showcases of bottles of fine wine.

Our meal was superb, Michael Cains the Head Executive Chef produced a fantastic menu, we had a starter of boiled quails egg on a bed of spinach, a watercress soup in a shot glass, and croutons. The main course was beef twice cooked, with roasted baby carrots and parsnips and jus. We had a cheese course, where we were able to choose a selection of cheeses, from the cheese trolley, It was the biggest cheese trolley I had ever seen, full of every cheese you could think of and more, we chose our favourite, and then with the help of the cheese waitress, we chose three more, we both tried a cheese aged in champagne, and then had a selection of hard and soft cheese's. For desert, we had a trio of deserts, and a special touch, they made me a Chocolate Birthday Card, swirled milk and white chocolate slice, with Happy Birthday piped across it, it was the icing on the occasion, and we have promised ourselves that one day we will return and spend either a week/weekend there, or Christmas, you can hire the pavilion cottage that sleeps up to 8 people.

Throughout or day at Gidleigh Park, we were treated by the most attentive of staff, with extensive knowledge on each dish, the wines to go with each course and of course not forgetting the cheese trolley, we had a fantastic time, we were really looked after, and thoroughly enjoyed it, its a fantastic place, well worth a visit/stay.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room. The pavilion is ideal for a family Christmas get away, there are small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I booked us onto the wine lover's stay - not cheap, but well worth it. We had been upgraded to a view room and my wife's mouth fell open when she first saw the roll-top bath with a view over the surrounding moors. Gidleigh Park is not the sort of hotel that you will drop onto - you will have booked and the negotiated the winding single-lane Devon roads surrounding Chagford - the hotel does have signs confirming that you just need to keep going. When you round the corner and see the hotal for the first time, you will find that it takes your breath away.
Often you will find a brilliant restaurant with a poor hotel or a brilliat hotel with a poor restaurant. Andrew Brownsword has ensured that both the hotel and the restaurant are brilliant - his partnership with Michael Caines has brought 2 Michelin stars to this hotel and it deserves them.
First night was from the a la carte menu with accompanying wines from the flight - all matched to perfection. Breakfast each day was superbly presented and very tasty. There are masses of grounds to wander in as well as the delights of Dartmoor to enjoy - this was the first time that I had revisited Haytor since leaving my home town of Exeter in the mid-1970s.
The second evening meal was the signature menu - just as well that the portions were smaller than the a la carte. Aain, accompanied by matched wines and again absolutely perfect. We also enjoyed a visit to the wine cellars.
Nothing was too much trouble for the very attentive staff.
Was it wirth the money? A definite YES and now we have to start saving up for a return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel have a superb view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wine_and_food_taster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Have just had a wonderful 2 night Wine Lovers package stay. Food and wines were fabulous - we would highly recommend this package which included all carte and signature menus and wine flights plus B &B stay. We were staying to celebrate our silver wedding and every member of staff was wonderfully attentive , knowledgeable and very welcoming. I had previously been for lunch and immediately booked this stay as soon as I returned home that evening. I could only describe our stay as faultlessly perfect.

Room Tip: we had a master room located on the ground floor with a very generous covered terrace with full view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornwallPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have now had 2 long weekends at Gidleigh and this wonderful hotel and restaurant does not disappoint. Superb food, courteous staff, comfortable furnishings and glorious surroundings. For us, the complete package - our favourite bolt hole when we decide to treat ourselves. Long may it continue!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneyWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This really is the top of the class for ambience, good food, and great staff. Four of us stayed over two nights to experience both the signature menu with wine flight and the regular - if I dare call it that - a la carte. Exquisite, amazing, and unforgettable. Sorry if the superlatives keep stacking up but this is a hotel and restaurant at peak performance beating even Le Manoir (sorry Raymond) for its outstanding delivery on every front.

Room Tip: Even the less expensive rooms are excellent ...spend the difference on the signature menu and accomp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan201025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,456 reviews
20.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
13.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
353 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gidleigh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gidleigh Park

Address: Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range: $327 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gidleigh Park 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set majestically on the bubbling upper reaches of the River Teign, Gidleigh Park enjoys an exquisite location on the very edge of Dartmoor National Park. Famed for its culinary credentials, Gidleigh Park offers an air of tranquillity and romance within a Tudor-style country house, beautifully furnished by the Brownsword family and set within 107 acres of mature grounds. Adding to the five-star experience, the bedrooms at Gidleigh Park are of exceptional luxury. All individual in style and design, they feature the most stunning bathrooms, wet rooms and spa suites that inspire a true sense of indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gidleigh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gidleigh Park Chagford, Devon
Hotel Gidleigh Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing