We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so Wonderful I'm staying all over Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“so Wonderful I'm staying all over Christmas”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a special place to propose or to treat your Partner. This is the place to go. A Beautiful Tudor Mansion which when you visit is like staying with friends. The food is fantastic and wines are chosen for each course.
The Breakfasts lunch afternoon tea picnics are also to die for. They welcome dogs and it's in a beautiful landscaped grounds.
If you are a foodie it's a must. I can't wait to spend another long weekend there with my family and Friends this Christmas

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lulu1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    101
    39
    9
    2
See reviews for
105
766
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were greeted at the front door, our luggage was unloaded and the car was parked and we hadn't even got inside. We were received with a very warm welcome and given a guided tour of the hotel prior to being shown to our bedroom. The hotel is full of english charm and character. We stayed in the cheapest "classic" rooms on the top floor and I was not disappointed, good sized room which was big enough to accommodate a two seater sofa. The bathroom was huge which included a massive walk in shower, separate toilet, luxurious toiletries, fluffy robes and slippers.

In between going to breakfast and going back to the bedroom the room had been serviced. When we were at dinner in the evenings the room was serviced again, back to the immaculate state that we had found it originally, impeccable standards!

We stayed for two nights, eating in the restaurant both nights which is run by executive Chef Michael Cairns MBE. The food is absolutely amazing, it's the best Michelin star restaurant that I have eaten at, I can't understand why Michael hasn't got the 3 Michelin stars that he deserves.

There have been some criticisms of the breakfast at Gidleigh, I'm struggling to see what the real problem is, there's a varied selection of cooked breakfasts from the kitchen, pastries, cheeses and cereals. Maybe the cooked english breakfast could be larger but we were still full from the night before so we didn't need it to be any bigger.

The staff at Gidleigh Park and there appears to be plenty of them, are so friendly, I think because it is a relatively small property only having 24 bedrooms it enables them to give that personal touch. It doesn't matter how much money you've got or which bedroom you are in everybody appears to get treated exactly the same. There is always time to chat and nothing is too much trouble. When we arrived back from our long walk our boots were taken from us and were taken to the drying room, we declined on the offer of them cleaning them, they just can't do enough for you at Gidleigh.

Having read a large number of the comments from other guests I feel that some people just love to complain for the sake of it. I would have preferred to have had a tea and coffee tray in the room to make my own tea in the morning rather than having room service deliver it. That's my own personal choice, but nothing to complain about, I'm sure most people prefer that extra touch having it delivered to your room.
Yes, it is a long narrow drive to the house with not many places to pass, but that's not their fault and little they can do about.

Congratulations to Michael Cairns for coming in at number 2 in The Times 100 best restaurants of 2012, well and truly deserved.

No this isn't a cheap hotel but in life you mostly get what you pay for and in the case of Gidleigh that's exactly what you get!

Room Tip: There is nothing wrong with the cheapest "classic" rooms, when all said and done you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouLouCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I surprised my girlfriend with a weekend at Gidleigh - she thought we were going camping, so was pretty dumbfounded when we drove up through the long, windy driveway to Gidleigh Park!

We took our dog with us and stayed in Bellever, a master room. We were made to feel so welcome from the moment we arrived. A complimentary dog lead, bowl and other goodies were in our room on arrival, along with a decanter of delicious port for us! The heated kennels were perfect for the dog whilst we were enjoying our dinner (although they did ask when we arrived if we'd like to leave the dog in the room whilst at dinner, in which case they'd cancel the turndown service to give her some peace and quiet!).

The grounds are so beautiful and quiet. It was the perfect setting for my proposal - luckily she said yes :-)

As per the other comments, breakfast wasn't the most amazing experience in the world, but we were so full from the night before that it didn't really matter. If breakfast were better, then I'd place the overall experience on a par with Le Manoir in Oxford. As it is, this is probably a close second.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ukhotelsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

For our 25th wedding anniversary we decided to celebrate in style and visit Gidleigh Park. From the moment we arrived it was pure relaxation, nothing to much trouble and you certainly never felt you was not good enough to be there. The rooms are spectacular and we overlooked to gardens. The food you can imagine was fantastic from coffee in the lounge to the tasting menu and then to breakfast. The grounds are great even in March, the bulbs looked lovely and there are plenty of walks.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

after dreaming about the food here and reading reveiws, i called in for lunch, BOOM is all i can say, the food has come from heaven, precision service, perfect surroundings. this really is the best food south of london.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pabzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We can't fault the restaurant at Gidleigh. We've eaten here a number of times - both lunch and dinner - and everything has been fabulous on each occasion. Yes it's quite pricey, but the quality of the food, its presentation, the cooking and the service are outstanding. Top notch cooking indeed.
However, we were very disappointed with the room we stayed in. The bed was comfortable and it was a good size, but the bathroom was tiny and if one of us was on the loo, the other couldn't get in! The worst bit was being woken up at 6.30 am by the people above us moving around their room - their prerogative to get up early but walking around on creaking floorboards and packing bags for half an hour made the apparent luxury and the cost of Gidleigh, very disappointing.
And yes, we mentioned this when we paid to leave that morning, but no, there was little response from the hotel staff.
Sad, but I'm not sure we'll stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid one where there could be people staying in a room above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteppieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were Gidleigh virgins and enjoyed it immensely. Our biggest regret was having lunch in Chagford as opposed to making the most of Gidleigh and lunching in the Drawing Room. After a long walk in inclement, bleak, moors weather (loved that!) we were ready for a good feed. The 8 course taster menu was truly wonderful with nothing to fault. Being a bit of a wine anorak I was amazed by the wine list. Spectacular. The half bottle selection is better than most other wine lists on its own and gives you a chance to try a few wines as opposed to just having a bottle or relying on the by-the-glass selection. Service was excellent.

Room was lovely too with a view over the gardens and caught the sunrise in the morning. The decor is traditional but not stuffy and very comfortable. My wife is a stickler for this sort of thing and there were no complains!

It is very expensive but I genuinely thought it was worth every penny. We will be going back when we can afford it!

My only complaints - 1) the bathroom did not have a separate shower cubicle which I understand most bathrooms do. I was however made fully aware of this at the time of booking so it was not really a problem. If this kind of thing matters to you then make sure you ask. 2) I agree with the other reviews that the breakfast is not of the same standard as the dinner but I was so full from the night before that it hardly mattered. It could do with a step up however.

Room Tip: Room Drogo has a lovely terrace over looking the garden. No shower cubicle however. The terrace wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjawilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
4.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
20.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gidleigh Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gidleigh Park Hotel

Property: Gidleigh Park Hotel
Address: Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gidleigh Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, Tudor-style country house hotel set in 45 acres of secluded gardens and woodlands – 2 miles west of Chagford on the banks of the North Teign River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Gidleigh Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gidleigh Park Chagford
Hotel Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park Hotel Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing