We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for afternoon high tea”
Review of Gidleigh Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gidleigh Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Sadly my budget doesn't stretch to staying at or having dinner at Gidleigh, but as a 'local' in the area it is my favourite place to have an afternoon tea and a few hours to soak up the atmosphere and be spoilt. As everyone else acknowledges it doesn't get much better than this. The Michelin starred restaurant does not preclude a friendly welcome and a feeling you are popping in to friends of the Downton Abbey mould for an elegant bite. When you need to get away from wordly worries, you can't find a better loaction than this. It's the real deal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

903 - 909 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here for a friends 40th recently. Had heard good things about Gidleigh Park beforehand, but the experience the atmsosphere first hand is the thing to do. Lovely location, lovely gardens and lovely outlook. The staff were so professional, the front of house was perfect. We had a private dining room, and for specials occasions, this will not be bettered - service was discreet but efficient, and the food was sensational. The bedroom we had was delightful, and the bathroom was just perfection. Impossible to fault. The benchmark.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Gidleigh is a world class restaurant where you KNOW it doesn't get much better. The lunch time special meal is a great choice and the more expensive taster menu will have your taste buds doing backflips with ecstasy.

This is dining as an art. You are watching waiter service as a performance. The food is a series of beautiful and exotic creations that look too beautiful to be eaten but when you do, you savour every morsel.

Choose a special occasion and make it more special by visiting Gidleigh.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mfs1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Seldom can I find absolutely nothing to criticise, but Gidleigh Park has stumped me. Everything was absolutely first class... the room, the people, the setting, and above all, the food. Gidleigh is at the top of the Premier League of hotel-restaurants and one gets the impression that the staff are proud to work there. They all seem sincerely concerned for your wellbeing without overwhelming you, and as George Burns said, if you can fake that, you've got it made. The chef is Michael Caines, whose goal in life is to get his third Michelin Star. No wonder Gidleigh Park always comes out on top of the customer surveys... it's a shame to have to come back to the real world. Not inexpensive, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our second gourmet getaway visit to Gidleigh and we weren't disappointed. Both the hotel and food were exceptional. Even the rain couldn't dampen our spirits. We look forward to returning, perhaps to see the bluebells in the spring.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpaldingOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

An absolute pleasure. Everything beautiful, calm, relaxing. Stunning venue. Lovely staff - friendly, warm, professional, welcoming. And the food? Oh my...we were in heaven! We ate everything. Every course. Every plateful. The entire bread basket. And we would have licked the plates had not the elegance of the surroundings and occasion demanded we behave nicely. Worth the effort of getting there (a little tricky) and worth every penny. A treat to be repeated. WONDERFUL...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were hot and dirty from hiking on the moor, but the pleasant staff was happy to seat us outside on the patio and supply us with the same great food and service the regular well-dressed guests were receiving. Tranquil location. Fantastic grounds. Pricey but worth every quid.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HogwartsAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,439 reviews
20.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
13.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
351 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
536 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gidleigh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gidleigh Park

Address: Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range: $322 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gidleigh Park 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set majestically on the bubbling upper reaches of the River Teign, Gidleigh Park enjoys an exquisite location on the very edge of Dartmoor National Park. Famed for its culinary credentials, Gidleigh Park offers an air of tranquillity and romance within a Tudor-style country house, beautifully furnished by the Brownsword family and set within 107 acres of mature grounds. Adding to the five-star experience, the bedrooms at Gidleigh Park are of exceptional luxury. All individual in style and design, they feature the most stunning bathrooms, wet rooms and spa suites that inspire a true sense of indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gidleigh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gidleigh Park Chagford, Devon
Hotel Gidleigh Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing