We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime”
Review of Gidleigh Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gidleigh Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Oxon
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Sublime”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

It's hard to find any faults with Gidleigh Park. Everything about it is wonderful, from the hotel itself to the staff and the standard of the food. It's true that the road to it is a little intimidating but once you are there you are in a different world. We were lucky to have incredible weather and so once we arrived we just explored the grounds and didn't bother to venture out during our two night break. Even the picnic lunch supplied as part of our Gourmet Getaway package was lovely. Can't wait to return and we're already saving up.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SpaldingOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    109
    42
    10
    2
See reviews for
114
804
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
falmouth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Staayed for one night in September as a birthday suprise. Could not fault it. Absolute class from the moment you arrive. Had the 'signature menu' for dinner with the wine flight. It was the most memorable meal of my life! absolutely amazing. This is a perfect example of how the service industry in Britain performs at the very top of its game. Will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4fun1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Gidleigh Park very much deserves its rating in The Times best hotels list. Accomodation, staff and grounds are exceptional. Unfortunately the dinner, table d'hote at £99 each, falls short of the standard of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmott2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaconsfield, England
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and from our arrival to when we left the staff were just lovely. The atmosphere is so relaxed but you are made to feel special throughout your stay. Loved the way there was always someone to greet you and enquire about your day when you walked in and that they up graded our room on arriva,l a great surprise. The food was exquisite and the grounds so beautiful but not over manicured with the river running right through the middle, stunning. The putting green is gorgeous too and we had fun playing a few rounds in the sunshine.
There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but a lovely 'pantry' which geusts can use which has all sorts of coffees and teas and home made biscuits which you can help yourself too.
The room and bathroom were luxurious and beautifully clean and the aroma of the place was just fab.
Expensive , yes very......worth it? absolutely! Hope I don't have to wait 25 years to go again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joan2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

GP is a wonderful place. Stunning grounds, impeccable service of the quietly understated English variety, and of course the fabulous food...

The prices keep GP exclusive, and every little detail is simply of the highest quality, from the materials , linens etc in the bedrooms, to the ingredients in the food. The main course of Turbot with pork belly and scallops is the finest dish I have ever eaten. Sumptuous lounge with roaring fire, oak panels, views over the gardens. Go in autumn to see the stunning colours, and cosy up by the fire after dinner. Wine list very impressive indeed. Chose the room with the rooftop hot tub, or the one with the built in sauna!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garethjmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

It’s a wonderful place and I hesitated before writing about it because one would like to keep it a secret. I guess it’s not anyway considering all the reviews. So I can only go along with all the positive ones

What I liked most was the very nice staff, the beautiful bedroom with a view (that one I’ll keep secret), the general atmosphere. You’re among professionals in hosting, but neither people nor atmosphere is too stiffed like you would unfortunately experience in this class of hotel. It’s just the right combination of relaxed and efficient: perfect.

I also went for beautiful hikes leaving from the hotel door.

Dinner was excellent, delicious but not surprising or delightful. I guess that’s because I was there on days when the chef was out.

I’m already planning to go back to check Dartmoor and the menu in all the different seasons.

Surely one of the nicest hotel I stayed at in England. Please keep it a secret though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orcas33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

we stayed here for my birthday last week. I think the main problem was that we had previously stayed at Bovey Castle, which is simply amazing. It is near impossible to top this. Firstly we were expecting someone to take cases and park car, but this did not happen. We were shown to our room which wAs, I have to say, stunning. There was sherry, water and peaches waiting for us. We went down to order lunch, but as we had not booked we had a light lunch. The waitress was pleasant enough but made us very aware that the kitchen was closing in five minutes, so our choices were rushed! We chose our seletion and chose a cocktail to accompany it. There wasn't a very good choice of
light lunch or Cocktails and asked could we have piña colada's which were not on the menu. S
We were told no! We ordered other cocktail choice but for £15 a glass I do expect it in something better than a tumbler and with fresh fruit in it. The lunch arrived and whilst tasty, was tepid temperature at best and both meals got returned back to the kitchen. They were returned back to us five minutes later and had clearly been in the microwave to heat up and had not been re-presented. The actual location of the hotel is lovely and the evening staff were more professional. Would we return? If we hadn't have been to Bovey Castle, then probably yes, but I'm afraid if your after pure luxury, then Bovey wins every time

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank readit101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
4.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,297 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
527 reviews
20.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
504 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
391 reviews
20.1 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gidleigh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gidleigh Park

Property: Gidleigh Park
Address: Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gidleigh Park 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set majestically on the bubbling upper reaches of the River Teign, Gidleigh Park enjoys an exquisite location on the very edge of Dartmoor National Park. Famed for its culinary credentials, Gidleigh Park offers an air of tranquillity and romance within a Tudor-style country house, beautifully furnished by the Brownsword family and set within 107 acres of mature grounds. Adding to the five-star experience, the bedrooms at Gidleigh Park are of exceptional luxury. All individual in style and design, they feature the most stunning bathrooms, wet rooms and spa suites that inspire a true sense of indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Gidleigh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gidleigh Park Chagford, Devon
Hotel Gidleigh Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing