We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an evening's entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ring O' Bells

Ring O' Bells
Ranked #8 of 18 Restaurants in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Ring O' Bells in Chagford. An Inn steeped in history, nestling in the magnificent Dartmoor National Park. We are able to access a wealth of quality local produce enabling us to bring you home-made dishes with seasonal flavours. The Chef and staff are happy to help and are willing to discuss any dietary requirements to make your visit an enjoyable one.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“an evening's entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Whilst staying in Chagford we decided to try the Ring o Bells for an evening meal and found it good value in bar surroundings well populated by a number of local friendly folk. During the evening a group appeared to play for some 2 1/2 hours of a variety of country, jazz and popular music which had us handclapping and really enjoying an unexpected evening accompanied by a glass of two of wine for the ladies and a couple of pints of the local brew for my son and self. Starting out with no expectations other than a country pub meal we ended having enjoyed the whole experience. A great country night to remember

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O' Bells, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much. We do like to put on live music for our guests to enjoy, and i'm glad you enjoyed it after dinner. A popular place for the locals, but we also do our best to give great experiences for those on holiday in Chagford, and i'm glad we could do this for you.

Many Thanks
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    52
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zelah, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful little pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We arrived Sunday lunchtime and without a reservation, no problem, staff fitted us in without blinking and it did look busy. we both had their Sunday roast, Beef for me and Lamb for my other half, scrummy !!!! Would have loved a pudding, but as we were going on to stay at a nearby hotel thought we had better not as dinner was booked !!! Such a lovely place would love to re visit...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O' Bells, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. I'm glad we could meet your expectations and deliver an excellent service.

Many Thanks
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent lunch together with a warm welcome and a very good range of local well kept real ales altogether a good break on our way to our holiday cottage in Cornwall

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank baileygeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O' Bells, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much an excellent review. I hope you enjoy your stay in Cornwall and decide to pop in on your way back up.

Many Thanks
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Visited here on our yearly trip to Dartmoor from Truro. Had the light meal of ham egg and chips. Great portion size and lovely home cooked ham. Had a chocolate brownie with ice cream for dessert. It was huge. Homemade and delicious. Both me and my partner ordered the same. Lovely. Pub was busy but service was quick and had booked nice table in weekend. Really friendly bar staff who got chatting. We will be back again and would recommend for the good quality and value we recieved. Thanks for a lovely last meal of our holiday!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PuddingElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O' Bells, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your lunch, and that we could send you off from your holiday with an excellent last meal. I remember you both coming in, and you had the lovely table in the window that looks out onto the square - a lovely couple to accommodate, although i'm always jealous when chocolate brownies are ordered, as i bring them out and they look and smell so good (i don't want to put the plates down)...

Thank you once again. I look forward to your next visit.
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“rubbish”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

.old folks pub it was awful ,smelly dogs ,not worth a visit .only looked at drinks menu decided to leave without a drink .no decent wine either

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank shirley o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O' Bells, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
May i say that i'm very sorry for your recent visit, and that we did not live up to your expectations. However, I do feel that such wording in this review is unjust to everyone here that works so hard. To date i am thankful for all reviews, and use it to help develop the business and team. But in this case I urge anyone reading it to please scan the rest of the page for a more reliable review.

Many Thanks

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ring O' Bells also viewed

Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Ring O' Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing