We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, Fantastic food, charming surroundings”
Review of 22 Mill Street

22 Mill Street
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chagford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
22 Mill Street
Ranked #15 of 15 Chagford B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Karla was a great host, friendly and made our stay here feel special. Ashley's food was amazing and we both enjoyed our taster menu, being one of our favourite meals/experience's to date. The area was stunning and had a lovely time wandering around the local shops. We really enjoyed our break and would certainly come back again.
Thankyou :)

Room Tip: this is a small hotel and all the rooms here are comfy, clean, modern with a country charm. The beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 59 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had booked the two rooms for a 3 night stay as we were dining at the nearby Gidleigh Park on the Friday night and wanted somewhere fairly central for travelling in the area over the weekend. Our first disappointment was the lady who phoned the previous week to take our credit card details, failed to mention they were leaving and there would be new management taking over. The manager, Herve, was new to the group, having only started a couple of days before and was obviously getting to grips with all the systems etc. However, he pounced on our companions on arrival asking for full payment on their credit card - despite us having paid a deposit for the rooms and also having our credit card for securing the booking, so we wouldn't have "disappeared" without payment being taken at some point.
Their room was also substantially smaller than ours despite being charged at the same rate. The rooms are quaint, though the stairs are narrow and steep and there is considerable road noise. Having no parking nearby either in the street or car park was an issue as we were lucky to obtain a parking space close by but our travelling companions had to park in the car park at the other end of the village and walk 5 minutes down the road with cases etc.
The continental breakfast was a nice touch, but despite being the only 4 people in the hotel each day something was missing/late/forgotten from cups and saucers, to tea and coffee. On the Saturday our host was not in the best of moods, and had to go out to buy orange juice for breakfast! He attempted to redress this on the Sunday morning, and had the toast and croissants on the table when we got down for breakfast, but they had obviously been there some long time as they were cold.
The Saturday evening we had a meal in the restaurant which was very good, but the staff were either new or untrained but lacked any customer service excellence. Another two couples arrived during our meal and waited several minutes to be seated as everyone was in the kitchen. For a restaurant that had a total of 12 people for dinner (including the 4 of us) over the 3 nights we were there, it seemed that they really weren't that bothered.
On leaving on the Sunday morning, the Manager highlighted a discrepancy on the bill for evening meal on the Saturday. This we were happy to pay, but it became apparent that they thought we were on a DBB rate for the 3 days and the main hotel, Browns, would not tell us what the DBB rate was so we could amend it for the one night we ate at the hotel. They epitomised the "jobsworth" attitude and the Manager, whilst extremely pleasant, spent the entire time whilst we were on the phone to the Accounts Dept, saying it wasn't his fault, it was a useless system and he didn't like it - not really our problem and it was disappointing he did not take ownership for the confusion.
On reflection, we had decided against staying at Gidleigh Park initially because of the cost for 3 days, but in hindsight, with their DBB rate, it would have been a better and more enjoyable option.
The restaurant was very good, though we understand the chef is changing this week, but would not recommend the room facilities for staying.

Room Tip: You only have two rooms to choose from, but they charge the same for both, despite one being billed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AthelbraeTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Had been here before a year ago for lunch and there was no one else in the restaurant and thought the food good but incredibly overpriced. Went in June of this year and again, the only ones there. Had bought a half price taster menu deal online and although the food was of an excellent standard we would have felt somewhat miffed if we had paid full price for it. Compared to the value you get in London I can see why this is not a popular lunch venue.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Sunday lunch - the waiter, who had obviously been thrown in at the deep end from another establishment, was charming and did his utmost. We were disappointed that it was not the usual chef and also that we were only able to have the set menu and were told the main menu was not available although the other table had the tasting menu! If there was a problem then we should have been contacted and the situation made clear to us. The food was very nice but not outstanding and I was disappointed that the venison, which I was told would be served rare as I like it, was medium to well done. The wine was very good. We were a party of 8 and one starter was served considerably later than the rest of the party. The portions were also quite meagre. I feel that we should have been told when we booked that the chef would not be there as it was because of him that we booked the table. Had we known we would have booked at another time. The place itself is wonderful and had a nice atmosphere and we would go again (we live locally) but ensure that the chef was there and also that all the menu options were available to us.

Room Tip: We only ate there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 236Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had read the reviews of this restaurant with rooms and thought it sounded a place we would love - and love it we did. If you want exceedingly fine food, wonderful flavours, beautiful presentation - all with some prior consultation as to preferences - then to Chagford you must go to be delighted by Ashley's culinary flair. Karla's front of house warmth, charm and friendliness only increased our enjoyment of our stay at 22 Mill Street and the combination of the two of them as hosts for our stay means we can't wait to go back. We found it a truly relaxing place to stay. It is a wonderful restaurant with lovely rooms and is delightful as it is so please accept it does not offer all the trappings of a 5* luxury hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Keep an eye on Ashley, this is a chef who is going places. He's too good to go unrecognised for long. We stayed two nights and on the second night went for the taster menus. Superb. Ashley prepared a special fish and veg one for my wife. Both menus avoided the dishes we had the previous night. So it was all new dishes. I had a lovely steak tartare. Karla and Ashley are great hosts. And even the breakfasts are good and different to the usual B&B. I don't like muesli, but I like Ashley's.

Room Tip: The moors room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackheadedgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Very friendly. Our room was lovely and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, great homemade muesli! Be aware that conversation from the reataurant can be disturbing and the toilets for the restaurant are upstairs aswell.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chagford hotels
1.4 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Three Crowns Chagford
Three Crowns Chagford
#2 of 15 in Chagford
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#3 of 15 in Chagford
232 reviews
1.0 mi away
Higher Weddicott Farm
Higher Weddicott Farm
#1 of 15 in Chagford
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ring O'Bells
Ring O'Bells
#4 of 15 in Chagford
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 22 Mill Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 22 Mill Street

Address: 22 Mill Street, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range: $53 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 22 Mill Street 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
22 Mill Street Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing