We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
Review of Mill End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mill End Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Visited with our 6 month Rottweiler puppy.
The welcome we got was very good and we arrived early not expecting to get into our room but was told although wasn't quite ready if we waited they would have it ready soon-which they did.
After our initial worry about staying in a hotel with a dog and a puppy at that, we did settle down very well and the pup loved it.
The location is just stunning, very quiet (bit too quiet for us) but the village of Chagford is a beautiful country walk away and a little longer to drive. So if you are looking for a pub then best to drive to Chagford, get a taxi back and then enjoy a nice country walk to retrieve your car in the morning!
Breakfast was divine, highly recommend the fresh kippers, but the staff will do anything you request.
Staff were helpful and friendly.
Location was quiet but beautiful.
Rooms were clean enough.
Fresh towels, flannels and added bonus of all toiletries were always on hand.
If you are a dog owner, dog towels were always available.
Beds were very comfy.

Room Tip: If you are a dog owner ask for a ground floor room as the back door opens up to the most beautiful g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We were very pleased to read you kind comments, and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am pleased that you felt at home with us, and so did your Rottweiler! I am also glad that you found time to explore lovely Chagford.
Hopefully you will visit us again soon - and enjoy more of those delicious kippers for breakfast!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 542 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Having had lunch here before, we decided on a Sunday night stay. A welcoming reception led on to a comfortable room with a large, well-equipped bathroom. Just what we wanted for a (very) short break. The whole hotel is set up like a country house and very easy to relax into. For dinner, we were settled into the lounge to give us time to choose from the reasonably-priced menu, before being escorted into the dining room. One of the few places where the staff remember who has ordered what dish - a big plus.
Breakfast also top class with a range of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts as well a a range of cooked options.
Overall, a very relaxing hotel with staff who are friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Stayed in East Okement which has views of the side garden and fields. Quiet, with no road or hotel n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devon-coach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us, and that you enjoyed your meals in the restaurant. The "country house" atmosphere which you mention is exactly the ambience we aim to create - thank you for your kind comments.
I hope that we can welcome you back for a longer stay next time!
Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had appointments in Exeter so decided to stay here for the night and wasn't disappointed at all

Room was clean and quaint and grounds were lovely, slight issue when we went to eat in the restaurant as our reservation had gone missing but it was sorted with little fuss (although we sat down 45 minutes late)

Food was hearty and tasty - skate wing and pork belly was very good

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted that you have a lovely stay with us.
I do apologise for the confusion regarding your table reservation, and I am glad that we were able to resolve it without too much delay.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The wife and I took a quick look around and plumped for the Mill Inn as an overnight celebration of an anniversary. It was easy to find quiet and friendly. The building is quaint but very tidy and the mill wheel and surrounding gardens and nooks are very appealing. The meal was fabulous, rooms comfy and good walks around too (even though Castle Drogo is undergoing a massive overhaul). Really relaxing, thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RevKev101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

We were so pleased that you enjoyed the peace and quiet here at Mill End. We are very fortunate to have such a beautiful riverside setting, with the whole of Dartmoor on our doorstep too.
Thank you for your kind comments, and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Mill End again in the near future.
With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

On holiday in the area hoping to find decent restaurants within fairly easy reach. Mill End thirty minutes away and had good reviews.

The hotel didn't dissappoint. Comfortable classical/retro style in rural setting but with easy access from the road.

Restaurant was elegant, a little formal, well spaced tables. Good choice menu. Very Good food nicely presented. Starter and mains with pre drinks, wine and coffee with chocs came in a £75 for two of us.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FOODIE51_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Our chefs and restaurant team were delighted that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant. We are fortunate to have such wonderful local produce here in Devon, including meat from local farms, and fish from Devon's coasts.
Hopefully you'll come and stay with us next time you dine! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

From the welcoming smiles of the staff to the delicious and inventive menu we had a perfect stay at the hotel. It has a peaceful and calm ambience and plenty of space in the lounges where you can curl up with a book, admire the surroundings or plan the next walk (or meal!). Chagford is only a walk away and well worth the effort. It's on the edge of Dartmoor and would be great any time of the year.

Room Tip: Top floor for the best views if you don't mind the climb after dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

On behalf of the whole team here at Mill End, thank you for your kind comments. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that we looked after you well. I was also pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the walk into lovely Chagford during your stay - one of our favourite short walks!
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mill End again soon, and in the meantime thank you again for your kind feedback.
Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It isn't often that we've stayed in a hotel that has been as good as this! We have just returned from 2 nights here with our 2 English Bull Terriers and we have had a superb experience. Excellent food served in a light and very comfortable restaurant with very helpful, efficient and courteous staff, ( Mike, you're doing a fantastic job!!) The room, Yealn, had a sunlit patio where we enjoyed a glass of wine in the evening sun whilst the dogs played in the orchard. We cannot recommend this hotel too highly. The local walks are beautiful, the breakfast superb, everything about our break was first class and I think that the rates are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Yealm was great with our 2 dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave123WestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

On behalf of everyone at Mill End, thank you for your kind comments.
We were delighted that you (and your English Bull Terriers!) enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were well looked after.
And how lovely to hear that you were able to enjoy a bit of evening sunshine on your patio, with a glass of wine. Perfect!
Hopefully you will come back and visit us again at Mill End soon - we look forward to welcoming you.
Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
3.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,456 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,179 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
18.7 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
353 reviews
15.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill End Hotel

Address: Dartmoor National Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range: $132 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Dartmoor. Immerse yourself in the wild glory of Devon’s own Dartmoor National Park, whilst soaking up the hospitality, comfort and warmth on which Mill End prides itself.Mill End is a Dartmoor hotel nestling in a river valley just outside the ancient moorland stannary town of Chagford. Your perfect country house hotel for a break on Dartmoor, surrounded by miles of walking, fishing and breathtaking scenery. And Mill End is dog-friendly too. After a day on the moors, you’ll find a warm welcome back at Mill End. Enjoy a taste of Dartmoor in the hotel's award-winning hotel restaurant. And let the pressures of the outside world fade to a distant memory as you relax in front of an open fire. Mill End has fifteen individually-styled bedrooms, ranging from cosy Standard Doubles, to extremely sumptuous Junior Suites and the two-room Teign Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mill End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill End Hotel Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing