We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious overnight stay”
Review of Mill End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mill End Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Mill End last Sunday. Our room was very luxurious, and we had our own little patio. The bed was huge, and very comfortable. Our evening meal was superb, and so was the breakfast. The staff are all very friendly and welcoming. Looking forward to another visit in the future.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the ground floor with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

On behalf of the whole team here at Mill End, I would like to thank you for your kind comments.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Your room, with its own private patio and direct access to our gardens, is a popular choice with our guests, one of of our favourites too!

I was also very pleased to hear that enjoyed dinner and breakfast in our restaurant, and that you were well looked after by our team.

We hope to see you at Mill End again soon.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 519 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

We initially booked this hotel for the week before Christmas for my 50th birthday but had to cancel at the last minute. The manager very kindly let us have the same room (the junior suite) free of charge on my partner's 50th birthday a couple of weeks ago.

It was fabulous! We had a large balcony which looked over the beautiful grounds. The room was amazing and very, very comfortable. We had dinner in the hotel and both the ambiance and the food were just right.

The staff made us (including my dog) very welcome. I would highly recommend the Mill End Hotel.

Room Tip: If you can get the Dart Junior Suite, you sure won't be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50_and_proud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

On behalf of the team at Mill End, thank you for your lovely comments. We were delighted that we had the opportunity to welcome you back, and to share in your birthday celebrations!

We were pleased that you enjoyed Dart, our balcony Junior Suite - one of our most popular rooms, and one of our favourites too! Nothing better on a warm summer evening than to enjoy a G&T on the balcony and soak up the gorgeous Dartmoor views!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Amazing service, Great food and comfortable rooms. will definately be returning as soon as we can. Mike the manager was very welcoming and the restaurant manager was very professional. The best thing was we could not get any mobile phone signal !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

On behalf of the whole team at Mill End, thank you for your kind comments.

One night is never enough. We hope you can stay a little longer next time!

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Mill End is in my opinion a very pleasing hotel. Situated in lovely grounds with glorious views. My wife and I enjoyed a one night stopover. We stayed in West Oakment which proved to be a pleasant and comfortable room, The staff were friendly, the food fine and all in all we had an enjoyable stay. We would stay there again with out hesitation.

Room Tip: We found West Oakment to be very comfortable and convienient with pleasant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

We were delighted that you chose Mill End for your "spur of the moment" break away. It was a pleasure having you here.

We were glad that enjoyed West Okement - it's a lovely, peaceful room (and the garden views are particularly lovely at this time of year!).

Our chefs were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us.

Next time you are planning a "spur of the moment" break - you know where to find us! You wil be made most welcome.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A lovely welcome from Mike, the manager. A beautiful room with wonderful views over the garden and across the hills. Comfy beds, two armchairs by the windows for reading/chilling. Good bathroom with lovely toiletries, even fluffy white towels and flannels. Lounges are comfortable and cosy. Excellent service by the staff for tea/drinks. Delicious dinner in the restaurant. My husband wanted to fish on the River Teign and Mike was most helpful with a map and directions. A wonderful place for a break, lovely countryside, beautiful river walks, excellent food and very good staff. We'll definitely be going again. They even welcome dogs!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen5551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

On behalf of the team at Mill End, thank you for such kind comments.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that you managed to fit in a spot of fishing on the River Teign. We are so lucky to have the river running right alongside the hotel, and we were glad you were able to enjoy it!

Do come back soon, and in the meantime we thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is situated in the most beautiful countryside. It is ideal for walkers. The staff were very helpful, especially Steve who kept the bar open for us most evenings! The rooms are lovely and clean, with great power showers. I particularly loved the bar area which has the most comfortable sofas, you almost don't want to leave them for the idyllic views outside. All in all, I would highly recommend Mill End Hotel........maybe we will be back next year for our anniversary.

Room Tip: We stayed in Meavy - it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WrigleyWriggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Mill End. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We are indeed very fortunate to have such beautiful Dartmoor countryside on our doorstep. I am glad that you enjoyed it to the full!

Thank you for mentioning the service you received from Steven. I know that he was very pleased to keep the bar open for you, and enjoyed looking after you.

We hope to see you at Mill End again soon.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Rain started the moment I arrived at the Mill End hotel, but I still enjoyed my stay very much. The staff made me very welcome and place is charming with a lot of personal touches.
Despite the heavy rain I walked to Chagford village - took me about 1 h instead of the advertised 20 minutes, probably because I stopped for photos all the time. Not much to see in the village and all the cafes were closed after 4pm, but the walk through the woods along the river is lovely.
Wifi was working well in my room as well as in the comfy lounge (there's also a guest PC).
Had dinner in the restaurant despite having read mixed reviews - my food choices (scallops, blue cheese and leek strudel, plus home made icecream - highly recommend the rhubarb-ginger) were excellent and reasonably priced.
Their leaflet for a car round-trip through Dartmoor NP came very handy as I had never been in this part of the country before. Would choose the Mill End again.

Room Tip: my room "Lyd" was very small with tiny shower room, but perfectly suitable for a one night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us (and that you managed to fit in a nice walk, despite the rather unkind weather!).

Our chefs were also very pleased that you enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant (especially our home-made rhubarb and ginger ice-cream, which is a lovely way to round-off a meal!).

Your room, Lyd, is our smallest, and represents excellent value-for-money for the solo traveller. Just to let you know, we are able to offer any of our rooms on a single-occupancy basis if you would prefer a larger room. Just let us know when you call to book, and we can talk you through what's available.

We hope to see you again soon! In the meantime, thank you again for your kind feedback.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
2.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,127 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,386 reviews
15.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
3.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
299 reviews
11.0 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill End Hotel

Address: Dartmoor National Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range: $124 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Dartmoor. Immerse yourself in the wild glory of Devon’s own Dartmoor National Park, whilst soaking up the hospitality, comfort and warmth on which Mill End prides itself.Mill End is a Dartmoor hotel nestling in a river valley just outside the ancient moorland stannary town of Chagford. Your perfect country house hotel for a break on Dartmoor, surrounded by miles of walking, fishing and breathtaking scenery. And Mill End is dog-friendly too. After a day on the moors, you’ll find a warm welcome back at Mill End. Enjoy a taste of Dartmoor in the hotel's award-winning hotel restaurant. And let the pressures of the outside world fade to a distant memory as you relax in front of an open fire. Mill End has fifteen individually-styled bedrooms, ranging from cosy Standard Doubles, to extremely sumptuous Junior Suites and the two-room Teign Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mill End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill End Hotel Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing