We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star without the 'pomp'”
Review of Mill End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mill End Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Having spent 2 days at the Mill End Hotel it was possibly the best stay experienced over many years. Rooms, cuisine and staff could not be faulted. Chagford village is worth a visit and the river walks via Castle Drogo are a must.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for visiting Mill End, and for your very kind comments.

"5 star without the pomp" is such a compliment - thank you! Our aim is to create a comfortable and slightly indulgent environment, without fuss and pomp, and we are very pleased that this is how you found us to be.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

On behalf of everyone at Mill End, kind regards,
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 547 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our 3-day stay at the Mill End in September was nothing short of marvelous in every way. Beautiful, extremely well kept facility and grounds. Wonderfully accommodating and friendly staff. Dining was exquisite with the meals prepared by a fine chef. Susan, the proprietor, added the grace, charm and leadership that makes the Mill End the most elegant, relaxing country billet we've seen. Enjoyed the entire experience immensely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

On behalf of the whole team, thank you for your very kind comments following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that we were able to make your stay special, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We paid £125 for a night for a nice king sized room overlooking the front of the hotel. We like peace and quiet, and we like good food and good service. This hotel provided it all. We stayed for one night en route to a wedding in Padstow - it was well located for Dartmoor. The staff were very attentive, our evening meal (which was not included in the price) was fantastic - we would definitely go here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel get the morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Princess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

We were delighted that you chose Mill End and Dartmoor to break your journey on the way down to lovely Padstow. The fact that we are so close to the A30 (whilst still offering the peace and quiet of glorious Dartmoor) does make us an ideal stop-off!

We were particularly pleased that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant. We have a great team in the kitchen, working with excellent local produce, and it is always pleasing to hear that we've hit the mark!

I hope that you will come to visit again soon.

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights at Mill End. We had stayed there several times in the past but this was the first time under its new ownership. We were very satisfied with our stay. The staff were charming and enthusiastic and the food was of very high quality.The only slight distraction was a rather exuberant guest who appeared to be a close friend of the management but this did not spoil our enjoyment in any way. Chagford is a lovely little town/village with two of the most extraordinary ironmonger/general stores you could ever wish for. Some of the items are still priced in pounds, shillings and pence! In all we would thoroughly recommend Mill End to anyone looking for a bit of peace and tranquillity.

Room Tip: We tried West Oakmont. It needed a little TLC around the window frames but otherwise was very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fourpence4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and were particularly pleased to read your kind comments regarding the food and service.

"Delightful and relaxing" is exactly the mood we aim to create - so it is pleasing to read your comments!

You will be pleased to note that West Okement (which is one of our most popular rooms) has recently benefited from the fitting of new windows. They look great - and they ensure that the room is nice and snug in the winter months!

Thank you for your glowing recommendation - and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We regularly drive past this hotel and it always looks so inviting, so we thought - let's give it a go. They had a 'special' offer on and the menu looked fine and the price very reasonable - £17.50 for 3 courses. On reflection, the fact that we live only about 6 miles away but had never heard any friends recommend, or even mention the hotel should have been a bit of a clue.

Without going into too much boring detail, everything from staff to food to service was poor to average. Waiting staff were young and clueless - not their fault, poorly trained.

Food was most peculiar. Dishes were either tasteless (my fishcake starter), or tasted very strange with odd mixes of flavours. My partner only ate half of his main course (pan-fried calves liver) as the sauce was so unpleasant. When asked by the waiter if the meal was ‘alright’, he said no, which was greeted with a look of puzzlement, and nothing more was said! The young waiter had no idea what to say or do in response.

To be fair, my red onion and goat’s cheese tart was fine, but the dark chocolate tart to follow was a very peculiar beast, overly sweet with an unpleasant rather granular texture. I left most of it and this time the waiter didn’t even ask if we’d liked it!

There was one other table of four in the dining room, they did not eat all their food and we overheard one of the party ask what the flavours in her dish were… and her subsequent comment of “Ah, basil AND tarragon, how unusual…” I think summed it up perfectly.
Despite their only being my partner and I and the other table of four in the restaurant, we were seated right in front of the kitchen door with no views except some interesting pipe work running along the wall - very odd, as the working mill wheel and surrounding gardens looked quite nice, the little we saw of them as we walked to our table.

The hotel looks lovely and the food looked fine on the plate, but neither delivers. I can see that Mill End is trying to portray itself as an up-market country house hotel, but it is sadly way off the mark.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank DartmoorDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for visiting Mill End for lunch.

I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of our £17.50 three-course lunch offer, and that you enjoyed the overall ambience of the hotel, but of course very sorry that we felt short in a number of areas.

Our Head Chef continually reviews and revises our menus, and your feedback is therefore very helpful - thank you.

I am sorry if your waiter that day showed a little inexperience. Obviously that isn't acceptable, and your comments will be useful in our on-going training of all our staff.

I do hope that you will visit us again soon. In the meantime, thank you again for your constructive feedback.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a great weekend here. The price was excellent and our black lab was welcome with open arms.

breakfast and 3 course dinner was included in the price - £250 per night for 2 people. The food was excellent.

we went walking during the day around the moore's.
We will go back again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

We were delighted that you had a great weekend with us here at Mill End - and that your canine companion enjoyed it too!

We were pleased that you enjoyed dining in our restaurant, and glad that you had time to enjoy some of the great walks available from the hotel.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here last September and found our room and breakfast to be lovely. We had dinner at Gidleigh Park which is a short ride away.

The breakfast was cooked to order and very good.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for such a glowing recommendation!

We do find that many of our guests combine a stay with us with a visit to nearby Gidleigh Park, and I am pleased that this was a good combination for you too.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mill End.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
3.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,478 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,192 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
15.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
420 reviews
19.6 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill End Hotel

Address: Dartmoor National Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range: $147 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Dartmoor. Immerse yourself in the wild glory of Devon’s own Dartmoor National Park, whilst soaking up the hospitality, comfort and warmth on which Mill End prides itself.Mill End is a Dartmoor hotel nestling in a river valley just outside the ancient moorland stannary town of Chagford. Your perfect country house hotel for a break on Dartmoor, surrounded by miles of walking, fishing and breathtaking scenery. And Mill End is dog-friendly too. After a day on the moors, you’ll find a warm welcome back at Mill End. Enjoy a taste of Dartmoor in the hotel's award-winning hotel restaurant. And let the pressures of the outside world fade to a distant memory as you relax in front of an open fire. Mill End has fifteen individually-styled bedrooms, ranging from cosy Standard Doubles, to extremely sumptuous Junior Suites and the two-room Teign Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mill End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill End Hotel Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing