We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation”
Review of Mill End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mill End Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel (B and B?) is upmarket. Staff are excellent. The rooms are very quiet and the surrounds are very peaceful and scenic. Breakfast is excellent. In the paddock next door are 2 interesting New Zealand pigs and a couple of horses. We gave the pigs some of our toast and we are now friends. (I guess the hotel has a pig theme)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Con_Thai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for Mill End Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 514 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I recently spent two nights at Mill End as we wanted a relaxing break and a chance to unwind. (We had planned to go camping but due to the recent weather changed our minds!)
Mill End offered exactly what we had hoped for - a great location with lots of walks and chances to explore Dartmoor, but with a welcoming comfortable base to come back to. The room was bright, fresh and extremely clean... there are not many hotels where I would feel happy to use the bath, but this was one. We had a large modern bathroom with rainfall shower, soft fluffy white towel and 'The white company' toiletries provided. The bed was comfortable, the view was a joy to wake up to and breakfast was delicious. What more could you possibly want! We didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel, but I am sure that the standards would be very high... the prices were also quite high too, so we opted to eat in the nearby pubs in Chagford.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KS_KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the mill end hotel for our mini honeymoon and had such a wonderful time. We dont go on honeymoon for 2 months after the wedding so wanted a relaxing get away with our dog before. We stayed for two nights in the Dart room which was amazing especially the bed which was so comfy with an amazing view to wake up to. The only down side was the shower as the water pressure wasn't good but the water was lovely and hot for a relaxing bubble bath. The lounge was lovely and comfy to enjoy a bottle of wine in before bed and even a yummy cream tea in the afternoon after a long walk. We had booked in for dinner, bed and breakfast which was a great choice as the dinner was fantastic. I cant wait to go back again as we still have loads of walks we want to do in the area. Overall it was a lovely hotel with great food and very friendly staff which is so rare to find when you want to take a dog.

Room Tip: The dart room was lovely but I would try a ground floor room next time just for ease of letting the...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEichler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Thank you to all the staff who made our afternoon so pleasant yesterday. When I booked for afternoon tea for about 30 guests and said this would include about 15 children, Mike didn't bat an eyelid. Guests met in the car-park and went for a 2 hour walk in Whiddon Park before coming back to the hotel for tea. The staff were wonderful, undaunted by our muddy state and the still unbounded energy of the children who made the most of the wilder reaches of the grounds. Thank you all for your patience and understanding.
Liz.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

On behalf of the whole team, many thanks for your kind comments. We were delighted that everyone enjoyed their traditional Devon Cream Tea with us, and we hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We only stayed the one night and we were not dissapointed when we saw the outside of the hotel, however things deteriorated when we got inside, what hits you first is the filthy carpets, what a shame as the public rooms are charming but totally spoilt by the stains on the carpets, it was very cold and guests had to request that they lit the fire.
Our room Esme was functional and the bed was confortable but the light hanging from bathroom ceiling and mouldy grout and seals around the bath were off putting and not what one would expect when you are paying £130 a night.. The room was also very cold and we had to call reception to get the heating turned on. Unfortunately the Esme room is right by the housekeeping store so as you go in and out you are greeted by piles of dirty laundry and housekeeping equipment, not a great view! Breakfast was sufficient but had little choice on the buffet table and cooked was mediocre, which is probably the kindest word I can think of to describe my experience

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sussed_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the trouble to provide us with your feedback. Naturally I am disappointed that there were some aspects of your stay which fell short of your expectations.
Erme is one of our most popular rooms with our regular guests, partly because it has a peaceful private patio and direct access to our gardens. That said, this room is now due for a refurbishment, and this is planned to take place during July as part of our continuing programme of improvements.
I am sorry that you found the room to be cold. As you will imagine our heating system is turned down (but not off) in the summer months, but it did need a little boost on the night you stayed due to a rather unseasonal chilly spell. As soon as you mentioned that you were cold, we boosted the boiler, which I hope improved things for you. We don't routinely light our log fire during the summer months, but even though it is June we have done so on chilly evenings recently (and will always do so if a guest asks).
I have reminded our Housekeeping team to keep the door of the laundry cupboard closed and linen out of sight as much as possible - thank you for your feedback on this point.
I am sorry about the marks which you noticed on the carpets. We do have the carpets professionally cleaned on a regular basis, but unfortunately the light colour, whilst very attractive, is a little unforgiving of the odd wine spill or dirty footprints. For some unknown reason we've had quite a few such stains left on the carpets in recent weeks, and our carpet cleaning contractors are now working their way through these.
I was very surprised to read your comments regarding breakfast, as the vast majority of our guests are very complimentary about our offering. We aim to have the most common items on the cold buffet (quality juices, selection of cereals, fresh fruit salad, prune compote, grapefruit, yoghurts, conserves, honey, bottled water, etc), with other items such as porridge available to order, and of course the "Full English", plus fish options, ham and eggs, etc. If there was something that you particularly felt was missing, please do let us know so that we can consider this for the future.
Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel - large, comfy beds, charming decor and a great location, a short walk from the lovely village of Chagford. The one thing I would say is that, at £38 for two courses, dinner is very expensive. The dining room was very elegant and the food was fine, but it didn't justify the cost. We were stung. There seemed to be a bistro in Chagford, so there are other options.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank JJ07076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary, evening meals were excellent and the atmosphere in and around the hotel was very relaxing. There's plenty to see and walk to around the hotel and if you want to bring your dog that's no problem. The décor and staff reminded me of a bygone age when nothing was too much trouble. Keep it up

Room Tip: Dart Room has triple aspects and featured it's own large balcony
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeG458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Thank you for such positive comments. We were delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us, and that you found the hotel to be so relaxing. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon (perhaps for your next anniversary, if not before?).

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
2.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,355 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
396 reviews
3.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
291 reviews
19.6 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill End Hotel

Address: Dartmoor National Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range: $160 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Dartmoor. Immerse yourself in the wild glory of Devon’s own Dartmoor National Park, whilst soaking up the hospitality, comfort and warmth on which Mill End prides itself.Mill End is a Dartmoor hotel nestling in a river valley just outside the ancient moorland stannary town of Chagford. Your perfect country house hotel for a break on Dartmoor, surrounded by miles of walking, fishing and breathtaking scenery. And Mill End is dog-friendly too. After a day on the moors, you’ll find a warm welcome back at Mill End. Enjoy a taste of Dartmoor in the hotel's award-winning hotel restaurant. And let the pressures of the outside world fade to a distant memory as you relax in front of an open fire. Mill End has fifteen individually-styled bedrooms, ranging from cosy Standard Doubles, to extremely sumptuous Junior Suites and the two-room Teign Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mill End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill End Hotel Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing