We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, Comfortable Accommodation”
Review of Ring O'Bells

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ring O'Bells
Ranked #4 of 15 Chagford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montpezat de Quercy, France
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great service, Comfortable Accommodation”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We booked this accommodation last minute and were very impressed by the immediate attention the barman gave to us when we came through the door, already with room key in hand, even though the bar was bustling and busy on a Friday night.
The room was spacious, extremely clean and well organised. The bed was a little "flexible" but a rework with the scatter cushions to stop unnecessary movement quickly fixed that problem.

We ate in the pub in the evening and had a good meal - it's pub grub, but generous and pleasant with some great choices of port, it turns out!

One of the perks of the Ring o'Bells is that it is very dog friendly and in fact comes with MOSS the resident dog, who is fab (a little grumpy on a cold morning, but fine after his breakfast).

Excellent walking on the moor from a few steps away.

We will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CillaChilds344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you Claire for a lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We all try our best to welcome guests (especially Mr. Moss), and i'm so happy we were able to fulfil our targets of; Excellent food, drinks, and service with a decent nights sleep.

I shall look forward to seeing you both (and Tex), for a few more of those lovely ports, but if we don't see you before then have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Many Thanks,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    67
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
108
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Chagford is a fine centre for this part of the moor with plentiful deep granite walled lanes (built with almost Inca like precision), dripping moss, and cattle grid roads high onto the moor's edge. And within Chagford, Ring O'Bells seems to top the lot and really feels like an Inn, not a pub. It looks like the local for locals, all friendly, good beers, excellent food (we had delicious partridge), and a small selection of rooms. Ours had the obligatory moaning wind which added to the atmosphere of this wonderful part of Britain - we did not hear any hounds however......

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for coming to stay with us. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay, and i see you enjoyed the seasonal partridge off our special menu. We do take pride in our standards of food and customer service, and as you saw, we have a great crowd of locals who our the life blood of Chagford and make it a truly special place to visit.

Many Thanks
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had lunch here recently and found the pub by chance, the staff were very accommodating and helpful and the food very good and good value as well. If you are in the village we would recommend it. Parking in the village can be an issue so make sure you park in one of the marked boxes

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_wendy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting us. It's good to hear that the service, food, and value was appreciated, as they are the true values and qualities we try to reach. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit, and hope you decide to come back again now you have found us.

Many Thanks,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great place to stay in centre of charming traditional English village
Welcoming and friendly hosts and the room meet all are needs, comfortable bed, clean , nicely appointed room, great ambience in pub and fantastic meals

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you very much for coming to stay with us. I hope you enjoyed your time in England, and you had a safe trip home. Maybe one day we might see you again.

Many Thanks
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I visited recently with a friend for lunch. A nice garden at the back but a few wasps about so we ate indoors. Quite a selection. I choose the korma, which was a bit disappointing, l know korma is a mild curry but you could hardly taste any and the nan bread looked as if it had been reheated, but the rice was perfect. To follow l had brownie and ice cream, this was to die for, one of the best l've eaten.My friend had the fish which she enjoyed and cheese cake. This is a doggy place if you have one with you. Popular with walkers after a trek on the moors. A lovely little town to walk around. A good bakery and a hardware shop. Certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendygp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. May i say that i'm very sorry to hear that your chicken korma was too mild. I have spoken with our head chef and passed on this information. As you understand a chicken korma is a traditionally mild dish, so perhaps we will look at ways of providing an optional extra kick of spice to those who prefer it to be hotter. I'm sorry we could not address the problem at the time, because we do provide (and take pride) in an excellent home-made menu - the chocolate brownie being an excellent example. Our head chef will also review the naan for quality.

Your views are extremely important to us, so that we are able to build and grow upon our ideas, tastes and service - so thank you for taking the time to review.

Many Thanks,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

nice to know there are still a few typical English pubs surviving in the English countryside. Lovely little town of Chagford, well worth a visit just to stay in the pub and have a meal and take a stroll around the town which doesn't seem to have changed at all in 40 years. Friendly people. we had room at the front overlooking town square, which was just lovely and bed comfortable.

Room Tip: room at front delightful outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you very much. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. It’s lovely to hear that we are able to fulfil our commitment to provide great service for our guests. Chagford truly is an amazing town surrounded in masses of history, and beautiful Moorland or river walks- and it's great to hear you took advantage of it. I really do urge people to come visit, as it is such a beautiful part of the country – I’m sure you would agree.

Thank you once more, and I hope to see you again.

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We enjoyed our meal at the Ring o Bells. The four of us all had something different and everyone was well satisfied. Good to see a country pub that still has local people using it....chaps propping up the bar, a group of ladies sipping wine as well as people dining. recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellini6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for visiting us for lunch. We are proud to have such a great local following in the community. They really do bring out the atmosphere of a true country pub - warm friendly gestures, and helpful tips on where to walk next. They know the area well, and often i'm asked questions about the area or the best way to get to their next stop, and if i'm unsure i pose the question to one of the locals - and it is always a surprise that creeps upon the customers face when the entire pub turns around to debate what is the best way. They are the life of the town, and extremely helpful to any cause, especially by helping make this the great pub it is.

Thank you once again for stopping by. We hope to see you again in the future.

Many thanks
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
1.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
504 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,091 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,297 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
488 reviews
0.0 mi away
Three Crowns Chagford
Three Crowns Chagford
#2 of 15 in Chagford
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ring O'Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ring O'Bells

Property: Ring O'Bells
Address: 44 The Square, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ring O'Bells 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, the accommodation at The Ring O’ Bells consists of four en-suite bedrooms which have all been designed and decorated to a great standard. All rooms are well appointed with flat-screen LCD televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, bathrobes and hairdryers. Retreat and relax at The Ring O’ Bells and enjoy the dramatic landscape of The Dartmoor National Park, a haven for walkers and cyclists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ring O'Bells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring O'Bells Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing