We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely and cosy cottage!!”

East Underdown Luxury Holiday Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chagford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
East Underdown Luxury Holiday Cottages
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We really loved our stay in the Old Orchard.
The cottage is well equipped, and has it's own private garden with a bbq. The rooms and bathrooms were lovely decorated and nice and clean.
Barbara, the owner, really took the time to answer any questions we had, and gave really nice suggestions on what to do in the surroundings.
We can really recommend this cottage for a nice stay in Dartmoor National Park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 28 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

Located almost in the middle of the West Country East Underdown is a ideal starting point for local walks as well as for Darmoor hikes and day trips to the Devon, Dorset and Cornwall Coasts.
Having been there several times, we enjoyed both Great Cleave and Old Orchard Cottage. We found everything we needed and are really looking forward to be there again. If you like birds, sheep, squirrels, cats, dogs, and the rest of the nature, you should definitely consider going there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had a really good five days away, in an ideal location, bringing 4 generations of family together. The facilities inside the cottage were really good. The swimming pool and games barn made what is a good holiday a great one. Thoroughly recommend the cottages for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just returned from a perfect 9th visit to Old Orchard. A real home from home - equipped with everything you could ask for. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. My son and daughter love the inside pool and sauna. If you want to get 'off the hamster wheel' then this is the place. An excellent location, we especially like to visit Fingle Bridge - a lovely place to walk the dog and have a pub lunch. Very friendly owners, Tim and Barbara Clark, leave you to enjoy your visit in peace! We have stayed in other cottages in Devon and Dorset over the last few years but come back every time to East Underdown. Highly Recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is fully equipped and perfect, I would give 10 stars if I could
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We booked Little Cleave for our Summer holiday. On arrival we were greeted by Barbara. She proceeded to show us around our holiday let.
This property is an "upside down house". As soon as we entered the smell of damp was overpowering. When we raised this with Barbara she said she had never noticed it! I was absolutely amazed that she could stand in front of us and say that. The bedding in the children's bedding was so damp that it had to be tumble dried every night of our stay.
Barbara's solution to all of this was a couple of scented candles!
We asked if she had a de-humidifier, which she replied yes and went and got it for us. Now why would you have a de-humidifier if you don't have issues with damp.
The cleanliness of the place left a great deal to be desired, with cobwebs everywhere. Also there was an awful smell coming from the double bedroom en suite, which turned out to be the drains. We got rid of this by cleaning them ourselves.
We managed to make our stay bearable by purchasing plug in air fresheners and keeping the dehumidifier on and scented candles burning whenever we were in.
There were also a couple of health and safety as well. The first was with the games room, which was unusable, due to everything being covered in bird excrement. The second was with the property itself, in the bathroom the ceiling light was about 12 inches from the shower head. This light was 230 volts with no visible water ingress protection rating to be seen, looking at it it did not appear fit for purpose.
All in all an awful holiday, poor customer service, Barbara never enquired if things were OK after our initial problems. You really expect more for the best part of a thousand pounds a week. The one positive note was our kids had a good time and made some lovely friends whilst there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RossEcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned from a very relaxing break,we stayed in Great Cleave, one of the three beautiful barn conversions,close to Chagford.We made use of the lovely heated swimming pool,so handy after a day out walking on Dartmoor,great pubs nearby,and so easy to pop into Exeter and also not far from some fantastic surfing beaches. We had numerous chats with Barbara the owner,who gave us advice on where to visit etc she had also provided fresh flowers and a bottle of wine,plus logs for the woodburner if the weather changed.
Already booked for next year!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wonderful cottage, in a beautiful location. This is the second time we have stayed here and we will definitely be back. The cottage is ideal for fabulous walks especially the walk from Drogo Castle down to Fingle Bridge which is stunning. The cottage is so dog friendly and we loved having Tilly to visit us too. The swimming pool was lovely after a long days walking. Thank you for a wonderful break. Cathy and Adrian Neylan

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathycrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
1.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
519 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,390 reviews
4.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
299 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Underdown Luxury Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Underdown Luxury Holiday Cottages

Address: East Underdown East Underdown | Drewsteignton, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park EX6 6PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Chagford
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
East Underdown Luxury Holiday Cottages Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing