We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location for exploring Dartmoor and the...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Master Bedroom - Twisted oak beams, vaulted ceiling, antique furniture
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Large Master Bedroom - Twisted oak beams, vaulted ceiling, antique furniture
Spacious Lounge -  Cosy & peaceful, wood burner, complete entertainment package
The Orangery - Tranquil open space with fruit trees and flowers
Character Kitchen - modern appliances, country-style units, terracotta floor tiles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Emma G
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location for exploring Dartmoor and the Coast”
Reviewed November 22, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have had a lovely time at The Old stables, the cottage was in a great location to explore both Dartmoor and was a short drive to the coast.
The welcome hamper is a nice touch, and very nice after a long drive!
The Jacuzzi bath does take forever to fill, but when its full its very luxurious - Perfect after a day doing an 'otter keeper' experience at the sanctuary in town.
We knew that there was no parking with the cottage but as it's November we always found somewhere on the street outside. Also, although the cottage is very tucked away it was easy enough to find with the instructions on the main trip advisor page as no further instructions are sent.
Lovely relaxing winter getaway :)

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
go2mike
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Peaceful”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were looking for a place to have a few days relaxation whilst working in the area and this was a very good place to do exactly that. We did fall into the mistake of putting the name into google maps and spent about one hour on the other side of the town looking for the property and found a house with the same name but after a call to the owner and a quick response we were able to find it, I would say the post code on confirmation email would be really helpful for those looking to use GPS to find the cottage and a lot less stressful. The cottage is tucked away in a very quiet courtyard, but there is no number on the street and no indication of what lies behind the gate and no guidance to help locate the gate, which makes it very stressful locating it. All of this could be so easily avoided with a few clearer instructions and a couple of good pictures in the confirmation email, there is a paragraph on the website which makes much more sense after you have actually found it, so that paragraph reads clearly if you have local knowledge. There is street parking at the address and we were lucky the first day to be very close but not so easy a process the next two days. All that said it is very well equipped with everything you need for cooking and relaxing and the CO-OP store literally 2 minutes walk away. Its very well designed and very well furnished and has one of the best sofas I have been on in a long time and the bedroom upstairs is spacious and comfortable. The bath as mentioned in previous reviews has its challenges but as I am a bath person I loved relaxing in it, but my partner is a shower person and was not taken with it, plus you can not be in a rush as it is a very slow process to fill and the hand held shower attachment is for a rinse down but not suitable for an actual shower. As we do not live in the UK it was good to have the Sky package as we were not there to sightsee and is one of the things we miss by not living in the UK. Internet was an issue, I connected and had not issue but my partner could not connect and as we are both mac users could not solve this issue and the telephones regularly dropped the internet (Android and iPhone alike). The welcome basket is a very nice touch as well as the towels on the beds made into swans makes you feel very welcome and that you are more than just a paying guest. Overall it was a good experience and exactly what we needed to recharge our personal batteries.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kersty201...
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“perfect and cosy”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

When we onced found the right doorway it was the perfect location for our trip to Dartmoor. Very good technical equipment, very cosy. Thanks for the warm welcoming!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
297saho
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely place plenty of room to accommodate 4 adults.”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

It was a very pretty cottage with everything you need, when we arrived there was milk butter jam fresh warm bread which was much appreciated after a long drive, we all had a great time would go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was in a quiet location and close to all amenities.
Liked least: Quite difficult to find a parking space near the property at times.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albia-New...
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,583 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 738 helpful votes
“Nice Holiday Rental”
Reviewed April 8, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A comfortable holiday home - nice and warm and clean.

A great location for exploring Southern Dartmoor and the Coast of the South Hams.

Although advertised as sleeping four, the downstairs bedroom has two quite narrow beds (more suited to children than adults - our 6ft tall sons found it a bit of a challenge)

The bath arrangements are luxurious - but odd : only one bath (and no shower, other than the shower wand over the bath - with no shower curtain and a short wand hose so you have to shower kneeling down in the bath .... You do however have to do that if you are here as a family as running four separate baths is not a realistic option given the massive size of the Jacuzzi bath - with LED Lights etc).

I personally think that this rental is perhaps a better luxury rent for two - rather than a family holiday destination.

Parking is also a bit of a challenge - There is no allocated parking, and the streets in the town are very busy (so you will have to street park at a range from the property).

During our stay the Washing Machine was not working and for several days the WiFi would not work whilst the TV was on - The owners agent was very helpful in trying to get the issues sorted (and kindly gave a refund for the inconvenience we had experienced).

We had an enjoyable holiday - and the property has many positives e.g. the fantastic TV with Sky Movies and the comfortable master bedroom : but you need to be aware of the slight eccentricities and down-sides to the property as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The lack of a shower - and the odd bath with no option for a proper showere over it
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed February 26, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Stables is the perfect romantic getaway cottage. After what feels like an eternity working and living in London, the two locations couldn't be more unlike each other. Peaceful surroundings, friendly locals and excellent services for such a relatively small town.
We arrived to a basket of locally baked bread, cheese, preserves and butter, with a pint of milk in the fridge, teabags, coffee and sugar sachets (Many thanks for that!...nothing beats a cuppa' after such a long drive!). The cottage itself is the perfect balance between traditional and modern; a log fire, exposed beams, and an irresistibly comfortable sofa gives you the chance to enjoy the 'semi-rural' way of life, but the wonderful Jacuzzi style bath, big comfy bed and incredible TV give you the touch of luxury you remember you've gone away for.
The baby grand piano is a wonderful feature of the living room, which fits in remarkably well without imposing despite it's size. Regrettable that neither of us play...but that's something to work on for next time!
Above all, it's the little touches that set this place off. Excellent cooking facilities and home comforts, washing machine, and lots of well thought out complementary decoration clearly shows that a lot of time and effort has been put into making this the perfect West Country hideaway. There is also a great deal of information/ information on places to visit. No question about the cottage goes unanswered.
All in all, a wonderful location, beautifully kept cottage and a thoroughly enjoyable stay, just a shame we didn't stay for longer! I'd recommend it to anyone and we'd definitely stay again. Many thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The bath.
Liked least: Finding the cottage was a little confusing because it isn't on the main road, but other than that, absolutely brilliant.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthonyea...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A home from home”
Reviewed February 2, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We found The Old Stables to be an extremely cosy and beautiful little cottage. There were some lovely little touches, such as a fresh load and local cheese, on arrival.

Quite simply, an idyllic little stay in a quaint little village. Just what we needed and wanted.

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing