We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Not a bad word to say!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Master Bedroom - Twisted oak beams, vaulted ceiling, antique furniture
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Large Master Bedroom - Twisted oak beams, vaulted ceiling, antique furniture
Spacious Lounge -  Cosy & peaceful, wood burner, complete entertainment package
The Orangery - Tranquil open space with fruit trees and flowers
Character Kitchen - modern appliances, country-style units, terracotta floor tiles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
U128331
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a bad word to say!”
Reviewed December 26, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Me and my partner booked this for for romantic getaway before Christmas. It couldn't have been better.

From the moment of booking, the owner was nothing but helpful. We had a few questions before we arrived and we got a quick response to them all.

We got a little lost on the way there but one phone call to Steve and he got us back on the right track.

When we arrived we couldn't have been happier. It was amazing. The cottage is at the end of a quiet little mews and is so comfortable and cute.

The whole place was immaculately clean and the basket of welcome goodies was a very nice touch...as was the Christmas tree which had been put up for us. It's these small touches which are the sign of a thoughtful and considerate host.

The bedrooms were very comfortable and quiet and the bedding was of a very high quality. It was was a dream to sleep there.

The entertainment package on the TV and the broadband were also very well used.

The bath in the bathroom is amazing... I'm going to have to buy one!!!

I work for a large UK-based airline and am very lucky or stay in some of the finest hotels in the world. I would leave them all behind to stay here again.

The parking wasn't an issue. Lots of on-street parking nearby.

I honestly don't have anything bad to say and we are already planning our next visit.

Thanks Steve!!!

Dan and Ben.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahJ618...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a relaxing get-away”
Reviewed December 16, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Perfect cottage in the perfect location- can't recommend it highly enough!

The cottage is lovely- great size, brilliant fireplace, great jacuzzi, large TV with every channel you would want...

The area is perfect for a relaxing holiday- quiet but with a small supermarket and nice pubs within a short walk

Thanks Steve!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The bed has been oiled”
Reviewed December 15, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Other than the on street parking, this is a perfect & quiet cottage retreat where the magic starts the minute you step into the entrance lobby! We had no problems with a squeaking bed (see previous guest) but more with the over-the-top power bath including trying not to sit on the auto release plug-hole.... give me a bidet any day! All in all this was an excellent break with a truly generous 'welcome' basket & fuel supply. I even managed to recover some of my piano playing on the baby grand (wish I'd had my tuning key though ;-) ) Directions: We managed to go through the wrong gates before finding the actual entrance to the mews which was closer to the Market Street/Chapel Street corner but quite obvious once we had double checked with the owner Steve B. We will no doubt book this lovely cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience
Liked least: the bath - sure we are in the minority but would prefer a conventional type
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizz_biz
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A lovely little gem of a cottage hidden away from the stresses of everyday life”
Reviewed December 11, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Take a soak in the jacuzzi, put your feet up in front of the fire and settle down with a bottle of wine and a choice of movie - all that after a walk in the nearby Dartmoor National park.

Would defintely recommmend to a friend.

(Make sure you ask for directions, Google cant be trusted!)

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Jacuzzi Bath
Liked least: Squeaky bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H
2 reviews
“great spot for an autumn getaway”
Reviewed November 14, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just returned from a lovely week at the Old Stables Buckfastleigh. The cottage itself is great, tucked away at the bottom of a pretty mews, but with no trouble parking a short walk down the street. Apart from the very well equipped kitchen, lovely large and comfortable bed, wood burner etc, it also has some really nice touches - we particularly liked all the well cared for house plants and the mini conservatory. It's in a great location too for exploring either Dartmoor or the South Hams and coast, and Buckfastleigh seemed a nice, quiet but friendly town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting and thoughtful touches inside property
Liked least: working out which outside bins belonged to the stables!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo S
2 reviews
“wonderful”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

What a beautiful cottage to escape hectic life and recharge the batteries, and yet all of the mod cons, plus some, in case you can't quite let go. We couldn't have asked for more, centrally situated for great days and yet tempting to stay in, light the fire and curl up with a good book, for us perfect. We can highly recommend Greenway, Agatha Christie's holiday home, an enchanting place to visit. All in all, a fantastic holiday for us and already hatching a plan to return...we will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the wood burner
Liked least: parking
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emma c
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cute and Quirky”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A great base for exploring a lovely area. Cute and quirky house. Could do with a new tin opener and better mood lighting in lounge. Also oven door rattles. Still had a great time. A good time had by all. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, log burner and wi fi
Liked least: tin opener and lighting in lounge
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing