We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility”
Review of Buckfast Abbey

Buckfast Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

The Abbey itself is less than 100 years old but nevertheless a very impressive building and unusually "modern" inside. The grounds are beautifully maintained and must be really attractive during the summer. I really liked the herb garden. The cafe / restaurant is modern and reasonably priced and provides catering for the adjacent conference centre. The much older monastery buildings (not open to the public of course) are adjacent to the Abbey.

Thank JohnB042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whall2016, Department Head at Buckfast Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"stained glass"
in 67 reviews
"lavender garden"
in 38 reviews
"gift shop"
in 102 reviews
"tranquil place"
in 25 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 104 reviews
"tonic wine"
in 23 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 15 reviews
"gardens are lovely"
in 16 reviews
"methodist chapel"
in 15 reviews
"sensory garden"
in 15 reviews
"across europe"
in 12 reviews
"no charge"
in 26 reviews
"book shop"
in 31 reviews
"free parking"
in 48 reviews
"fudge"
in 15 reviews
"cafe restaurant"
in 13 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 12 reviews
Filter

183 - 187 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile

An unbelievably lovely place. Immaculately maintained, the abbey is well preserved. There is a lovely book and gift shop, and a large restaurant. The gardens are very nice. Parking and entry are free.

Thank warboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whall2016, Department Head at Buckfast Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we hope we can welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

Firstly it's amazing to me that the Abbey doesn't charge a penny to visit or to park, surely everyone would happily pay even a pound to park and the same to visit, I'm sure the revenue would help support this beautiful and calming place. The Abbey itself is a gem of early 20th century design, the clean lines and beautiful contemporary stained glass give a wonderful feeling of serenity whatever your spiritual beliefs. Well worth a visit, it will lift your spirits and shows what man can achieve when their conviction is strong enough.

Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whall2016, Department Head at Buckfast Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review. It is important to us that we live by the Benedictine Rule of welcome and hospitality, therefore no charge is made for parking or visiting the Abbey and gardens. If people care to leave a donation or make a purchase, we do appreciate their support. Thank you so much for your recommendation and we hope that you will be able to repeat your visit soon. Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile

What has happened to the gift shops and wine and perfume shop at the Abbey? They were large well stocked separate shops on the site last time I visited.Now they are crammed into one small shop and the other units are empty. It is a shadow of its former self.

Thank bramble2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whall2016, Department Head at Buckfast Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Thank you for visiting us. We are so sorry that you were disappointed with the shops. The Gift Shop has been temporarily relocated but is well sign posted. The Bookshop remains the same and the Monastic Shop is in the large hall attached to the Bookshop. The Monastic Shop moved from its old location as many of our visitors found it was hard for them to access. The new Gift Shop is due to open within a few weeks and the large Exhibition Centre will be opening next Spring. We thank our visitors for their understanding whilst we are undergoing these improvements. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again when the new buildings are open and that you will be able to spend a longer amount of time here to have a good look around and see places of interest that you missed in a brief visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile

It was lovely to be greeted by a beautiful peal of the abbey bells. It’s a beautiful tranquil setting religious- of course but not in a ram it down your throat way. But a gentle retreat from our too fast lives.
The monks help provide a different slant on life & our priorities seem to be put in perspective

Yes there are retail opportunities Nice to help other faith communities & wonderful to buy local honey

The cafe/restaurant provides good quality sustenance for the body while the abbey supplies that for the soul. Not sure if the tonic wine fruit cake comes with a health warning!

You can go everywhere with a wheelchair but beware of some of the slopes

Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whall2016, Department Head at Buckfast Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Thank you for writing about your visit. We are so pleased that you felt it to be a beautiful, tranquil setting. We hope our visitors can enjoy a gentle retreat from busy lives. Thank you for the photograph of the delicious fruit cake. It is very popular with our visitors to our Grange Restaurant! We do hope that you will be able to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckfast Abbey also viewed

Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 
Lydford, Dartmoor National Park
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Buckfast Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing