We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tradesman's Arms
Ranked #6 of 10 Buckfastleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely little place to stay”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent a night at the Tradesmans Arms after a good day's walking on the moor. The owner of the Tavistock Inn (a good local pub in nearby Poundsgate) recommended it to us. The double room was compact but plenty big enough for a short stay, modern and immaculately clean with a window and small en-suite with a large shower. The owners were all friendly and the breakfast was hearty with a great view from the conservatory over the adjacent valley.
Good access for walks to/around nearby Spitchwick, Dartmeet & the Two Moors Way.
It was £60 for the night (pretty reasonable) but with better rates for two/three nights (~£50/£40)
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Owner at The Tradesman's Arms, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review and hope to welcome you both again soon. Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    39
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
87
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a brilliant time staying here having had bad experiences at other places in the area before. Mark and his team were very friendly from the moment we arrived. They were courteous and Mark was very generous in sharing his Gluten-Free products as one of us is coeliac. We ate in the Bar one evening and there was a wonderful selection of food on offer, which was well cooked and delicious and much of it very locally produced. The breakfast was equally delicious and plentiful with a range of options, again many very locally sourced. The room had a beautiful view and was clean spacious and well stocked with Tea/Coffee etc. It is a very peaceful place to stay but was within easy distance of towns/coastline and moor depending on what you wanted. We will certainly be staying here again as soon as possible, we loved it!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Owner at The Tradesman's Arms, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
David, thank you for your lovely review. I know how hard it is sometimes being wheat and gluten free and so pleased your wife enjoyed her stay. Since being diagnosed we now offer a lot more GF &WF items on the menu. Hope to welcome you both again soon. Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

First stay at The Tradesmans Arms, and hopefully not the last. Country pub, lovely setting, made to feel welcome. Excellent beer and good food (huge portions!). Room simply but nicely furnished, not too "oldie worldy".

Room Tip: We had the Attic suite, which has a king size bed. Room nice and quiet but NOT suitable for very tal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prairietank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Owner at The Tradesman's Arms, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. The suite does have the benefit of a kingsize bed, lounge area and a separate shower and bath in the bathroom, however as you say 6'2"+ watch your head in the shower! Glad you enjoyed your staff and thanks for the excellent review. Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a lovely long weekend in this country inn. Wonderful views, a huge choice of menu and a really friendly happy atmosphere. Even though there seems to be something happening every evening in the pub, the rooms were peaceful & quiet with excellent soundproofing. Mark & the team couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable, the other couples staying were very friendly, and, what made it for us, was the " dog friendly " bit, as well as the pub collie and the lovely farm dogs next door, there was a really lovely friendly dog staying who was absolutely no trouble and so quiet you wouldn't have known he was there unless you saw him. I would definately recommend this pub to anyone wanting to visit Dartmoor National park, lots of lovely walks, and villages around, or just chill out in the pub itself. it was a very cold day when we arrived, but Mark found us an extra heater for the room until it had warmed up which it very quickly did. We will certainly return and will suggest our Son & partner visit too as they like Dartmoor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyncharliewatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Owner at The Tradesman's Arms, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for your fab review, I'm glad you enjoyed everything. I'm sure we will see you soon! I'm glad Jesus didn't put you off (for those reading he is the grand dog of the dog in Turner and Hooch, the film! And boy was he a good dog(thanks to Elaine his Mummy!!)) despite weighing like 9 stone!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I travel all over the uk with my work. This is by far the best place I've ever stayed. When we arrived we had a genuinely warm welcome. The service was great. The food was amazing and the staff outstanding. The whole of the hotel was spotlessly clean.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you mark and Phil for a great stay. I will be back in the summer for the beer festival.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Owner at The Tradesman's Arms, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
John,
Thanks for the fab review. All the staff thoroughly enjoyed your visit, especially Andy and his guitar, what a star! Will let you know date of the beer festival and get him down to play, obviously with you as his driver, hopefully you can arrange with a work job down here. Once again thanks...Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a good place to stay if you want to explore Dartmoor, with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. The compact bedroom was - yes - compact, but clean and recently decorated, and we received a warm welcome when we arrived. The downsides were that we were cold in the night. Only one (thin) duvet was supplied, and we prefer to sleep with the radiator off. It would have been nice to have been offered an extra blanket or duvet. We were also told (via a note pushed under the door) that breakfast would be at 9am, which is late for us. In short, attention to a few details would easily bring this up to being 'very good'.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lucydog96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Owner at The Tradesman's Arms, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
I am sorry you had issues with your stay. The quilts are this as the are devon duvet quilts, made from 100% sheep wool. The double beds have kingsize quilts, the kingsize bed have queen size quilts. They retail in excess of £150 as the are lightweight but soo warm (www.devonduvets.com). However I can understand they may appear to be 'thin'. Extra blankets and duvets avail on request.

As for the note for breakfast at 9, we accommodate breakfast at any reasonable hour however we are a pub not a hotel, and unfortunately my staff had not ascertained what time you would of liked breakfast. As it was a Sunday I thought 8:30-9 would be ok, however again, all you have to do is ask! Otherwise, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon. Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We randomly choose The Tradesmans Arms for a overdue break & what a find!!. We stayed in room 1 which was spacious with a comfortable bed and fantastic views. The food was delicious and plentiful, as a coeliac i was concerned what food would be available for me but Mark the manager/chef was excellent and knew exactly what was suitable for me to eat and freely offered alternatives within the menu. Mark, his staff and the locals all made us feel very welcome and encouraged us to join in with the weekly quiz night. The locals were quick to recommend which of the real ales my husband should try 1st. We look forward to a return visit. We have already been recommending The Tradesmans Arms to our family and friends. Thank you Mark .

Room Tip: room 1 lovely and spacious , slept well every night in comfy bed , nice light shower room, lovely vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckfastleigh
2.8 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
479 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mitchelcroft B&B
Mitchelcroft B&B
#1 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#4 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
61 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dartbridge Inn
Dartbridge Inn
#7 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
482 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hockmoor House
Hockmoor House
#10 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tradesman's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tradesman's Arms

Property: The Tradesman's Arms
Address: | Scoriton, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Buckfastleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tradesman's Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Tradesman's Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tradesman's Arms Buckfastleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing