We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbey Inn
Nearby Hotels
Dartbridge Inn(Buckfastleigh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mitchelcroft B&B(Buckfastleigh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilbury Manor(Buckfastleigh)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tradesman's Arms(Buckfastleigh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Globe Inn(Buckfastleigh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Furzeleigh Mill(Buckfastleigh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
96
61
21
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
61
21
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverfour poster bednew ownerssunday carverylovely locationlocal beerthe pubgood selection of real alesbit datedheritage railwayspecial boardan easy minute walkriverside terraceshampoo and conditionerwould stay againevening meal and breakfastrestaurant downstairs
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 197 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2011

A lovely location right on the Dart - short walk to Buckfast Abbey and to the steam railway to Staverton & Totnes. A friendly welcome and pleasant food.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Great location on the banks of the River Dart. Good chioce of local beers - which is why the Inn featured in the Good Beer Guide 2008. Under new management since then and I wonder what it was like before - as it had the air of being a little off the mark. The room itself (we didn't have a river facing one) was clean and tidy but just missed it somehow.

Great base for exploring locally and with Buckfast abbey round teh corner would be ideal for some.

Room Tip: go for a river view!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dakkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

The Abbey Inn can be summed up as a brilliant little place to stay. We spent a weekend there and enjoyed great food, spacious, clean and comfortable accomodation and a very friendly welcome from both the staff and the locals. As other reviewers have said, the Abbey Inn is under new Management and according to the locals they are "the best in many years". The Abbey Inn is ideal for an overnight stop or as a great little place to base yourself whilst exploring Dartmoor and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simmo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Excellent stay, very friendly, very welcoming new owners! Would definitely recommend!

The room was very spacious and clean and with a beautiful view of the river Dart.

Breakfast and dinner could not of been better.
Will definitely be back soon

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stinger60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I rarely put any reviews on Trip Advisor but felt compelled to do so here. We just wanted a little place for a meal. We read the reviews on TA and it looked terrible but there was really no-where else - so we thought we would try anyway. AND HURRAH we did!

The place is under new management and the food was lovely. I felt that probably quite a lot of people would have got in cars and driven to somewhere else having read the reviews - I just wanted to write this to support the new owners (who were really friendly too).

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank DerbyMountaingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews