We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilbury Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilbury Manor
Ranked #2 of 10 Buckfastleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The luxury of a boutique hotel in a beautiful country home. Contemporary, stylish decor, delicious food and always a warm welcome. My husband and I look forward to our retreats at Kilbury Manor and use it as a base for visiting some great restaurants and coastal towns. Julia, the owner, truly understands the meaning of hospitality and her personal touch over the whole experience makes us return again and again. Just booking for February!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traceystutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMB101, Owner at Kilbury Manor, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous review - we are absolutely delighted that you appreciate what Kilbury Manor has to offer. We are so fortunate to have such good eating places locally - some excellent pubs serving local produce along with some larger players such as the Riverford Field Kitchen, Mitch Tonks in Dartmouth, Hugh Fernley Whitingstall in Plymouth,
Gidleigh Park if you really want to indulge and even the most recent winner of Master Chef is at Sparkwell near Plymouth.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
180
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Perfect B&B in my opinion.

We stayed here whilst attending a friends wedding, we received a warm and friendly welcome, and taken to our room which was beautifully decorated, clean and comfy. We had private use of the bathroom on our floor which was fantastic, and we loved the bath robes!

The breakfast was lovely, partaking in a full English one morning, and porridge the next.

We also got some fantastic advise as to where to eat and loaned a torch to walk there and bath.

The very friendly dogs where an added bonus.





The very friendly dogs were also a great bonus,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMB101, Owner at Kilbury Manor, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying in the Moors bedroom with its private bathroom. The bathrobes are just a little extra that we thought guests would like and we are planning to put them in all rooms very shortly. Thank you for such a positive and thoughtful review. We hope that you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is like staying at a top hotel but with the charm of a smaller B&B. Our room was immaculate - with a huge bathroom - and we were really well looked after. The breakfast was superb and I have to add that the French toast was the best I've ever had. I thoroughly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Dartmoor and the surrounding villages. We'll definitely visit it again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMB101, Owner at Kilbury Manor, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your generous review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us. My French toasts are becoming quite famous, and I am pleased that you enjoyed them so much as to give them a special mention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Pluses:
Owners who are welcoming and enjoy having guests in their home.
Spacious, plush, beautiful appointed rooms and bathrooms.
Great breakfasts.
Close to A38, for those journeying further.

Negatives:
Not easy to see on a dark night (sign could be more prominent).
Not possible to adjust the room heating (sometimes a little chilly).
Bottled water in the rooms....the tap water in Devon is superb.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LobbyLudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMB101, Owner at Kilbury Manor, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review - we are very pleased that you enjoyed the room and breakfast. We share your view that Devon water is superb, however we provide bottled water to give guests a choice as quite often we are still asked if the water is drinkable from the tap. I would like to mention that the water is local and the bottles are collected and recycled so I feel we are keeping our carbon footprint to a minimum. I am sorry that you found the room chilly - whilst all the radiators have thermostatic valves, the overall temperature of the rooms is controlled from within the house. I set the temperature to what I believe is comfortable, but there may times when this is not sufficient for some guests, and I am happy to increase the temperature if requested. Finally, I agree that we are difficult to find on a dark night, but without putting lit signage up which I feel would spoil the lane, there is little we can do. There is the AA star sign projecting from the gate and we are the first property down the lane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just stayed 3 nights in the fabulous Loft room. Room, bed and bathroom were all huge. Julia and Martin are so friendly and the breakfast choice and quality are great. Having a fridge was a bonus for us as we like to have a drink in our room. You can also walk down to the river or sit in the large garden. It's in a beautiful location. Perfect as long as you don't mind driving back after an evening out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMB101, Owner at Kilbury Manor, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advsior. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the beautiful area of Dartmoor. There are lots of great places to eat locally with a couple within walking distance for those who do not wish to drive. We would like to thank you for recommending The Ship at Ugborough which was not on our list - superb food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spend a 2 night weekend break at this B&B and would recommend it if you think about visiting Dartmoor and are looking for a nice place to stay. The hosts are very friendly and accommodating and the B&B is a converted farm. Don't forget to hire a car though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirAlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMB101, Owner at Kilbury Manor, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be a good base from which to visit the Dartmoor area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in the loft room for four nights 20/8-24/8. This room is fantastic, extemely spacious with the biggest bed we have ever slept in. The bathroom is also huge, modern and well equipped. All bedding, towels etc are of top quality. Breakfast is very good and varied. The owners Julia and Martin looked after us very well with good suggestions on the local area. We would not hesitate in recommending KIlbury Manor...It is excellent. We will definitely be returning. Thanks again..Verna and Mike

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me5648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMB101, Owner at Kilbury Manor, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you both for your lovely review. We are just so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to explore the local area. We sincerely hope that you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckfastleigh
2.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
14.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mitchelcroft B&B
Mitchelcroft B&B
#1 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dartbridge Inn
Dartbridge Inn
#5 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilbury Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbury Manor

Property: Kilbury Manor
Address: Colston Road, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Buckfastleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilbury Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 17th century Grade II listed Devon long house offering four beautifully appointed rooms,stylish and individually decorated. Situated in the beautiful Dart valley on the outskirts of Buckfastleigh, mid-way between Exeter and Plymouth. We are an ideal base from which to explore both the Dartmoor National Park and the South Hams area of Devon.* AA 4 Star Highly Commended rating* WiFi * Off-street parking * Gardens * Quality bed linens* Excellent choice of breakfast using local produce ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kilbury Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilbury Manor Hotel Buckfastleigh
Kilbury Manor Buckfastleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing