We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome........”
Review of Cromwell Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cromwell Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Bovey Tracey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Warm welcome........”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in a cottage near Bovey Tracey for Christmas. We visited the Cromwell Arms Hotel three times during our break. Each time we walked into the inn there was an instant warm welcome from the bar staff. We had a meal in the restaurant on Christmas Eve which was very good. On top of this the landlady kindly borrowed us a dog lead when we left our in the cottage. Thank you to the landlord, landlady and staff for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    78
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
39
85
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

It's now just over a year since I first visited the Cromwell Arms and after several subsequent visits I thought it was time to update. What hasn't changed is the enthusiastic and welcoming attitude of the staff and management, all reasonable requests are met cheerfully and quickly. The award-winning bar still has a great selection of well-kept beers and speciality drinks and a pleasant beer garden to sit out in warmer weather. The already decent breakfast has improved, particularly with better coffee and the bar food is good and generous. All rooms have now finally been finished off with the little touches needed after a redecoration, very cosy.
Not the ideal place for the mobility impaired but the two bedrooms in the annex only have a very short flight of wide stairs and work quite well. The large car park is free.
If you want a comfortable and welcoming inn in a bustling little town within a few miles of stunning countryside, all at very reasonable prices then the Cromwell Arms is it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manofekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

A brilliant choice, we stayed for two nights and had two rooms, a double with en suite shower and a very large family room which had a double bed and two bunk beds so could easily sleep 6 with en suite including bath/shower, tea and coffee making facilities and tv both rooms which were clean and adequately stocked with the usual amenities. We had the breakfast which was substantial as well as evening meals on both evenings - which provided a good choice of menu and generous portions. The management and staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout our stay and the location was perfect with easy access to Dartmoor and other interesting tourist attractions in the area. We would definitely make a return visit and recommend highly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just spent a wonderful few days in Devon and my wife and I stayed at the Cromwell Arms Hotel in Bovey Traceywhich we found was ideal for walks on Dartmoor and within easy reach of the coast.I would like to compliment the owners on the welcome that we receivedwhen we arrived,and our comfortable room.After being out walking all day we were looking forward to our evening meal and we were not disappointed.We had the managers special,the food was delicious and the veg variety was excellent.The only slight hitch was that the shoe polisher was out of action that day,but we are looking forward to our stay in the spring.(must mention the fresh eggs from the chickens for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertobernard104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were looking for lodging close to Newton Abbot and the Cromwell Arms looked interesting. We were glad we picked it, for it turn out to be a good choice. The room was very pleasant and the bathroom was clean and modern. Breakfast was adequate and we also ate dinner there and it was very good. Bovey Tracey was a plus, for it was perfect small English village and we enjoyed our morning stroll.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddy38_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham, Buckinghamshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, our room, which was in the eves, was very comfortable and larger than we expected. The pub was very noisy but I suppose that's to be expected. On Saturday morning we had to vacate our room early as their was an awful noise from the kitchen extractor chimneys on the roof directly next to our room. We complained at breakfast and were very pleasantly surprised that the problem was fixed the following morning. I agree with previous reviews regarding slow breakfast service and not getting what you ordered, the young waiter was rushed off his feet but he did his very best as he also checked us out. We didn't have any problems with parking. Overall, we would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineRossiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I agree with the previous reviewer in terms of the parking. There is not enough of it but that is because the pub is very popular. We had a great welcome. The room was clean and perfectly adequate for what we were looking for as we were attending a wedding at Colehayes Park. Breakfast room is a bit cramped and the food is inconsistent. Only one staff member serving was really not enough so we did feel sorry for him. He was very pleasant though and we were in no great rush. It is in a very convenient location but if we were staying longer I think I would have struggled with the compact shower room. Two nights was enough. Thanks for a lovely stay though.

Room Tip: Room 3 is ok size but very compact shower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crookster_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovey Tracey
1.0 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,267 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
10.4 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Arms

Property: Cromwell Arms
Address: Fore Street | Dartmoor, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Bovey Tracey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bovey Tracey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cromwell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cromwell Arms is just a 5 minute drive off the A38, being ideally located on the edge of Dartmoor and in close proximity to the Heathfield Industrial Estate.The town of Bovey Tracey, also known as the Gateway to the Moor, offers easy access to endless countryside and attractions and is a fantastic place from which to explore the whole region, from the moors, tors and villages, to the beaches and seaside towns of Devon and the rest of the South West of England. With Exeter, Plymouth and Newton Abbot easily accessible from here and being only 10 miles away from the sea, our location is an ideal stop over for a business trip, a weekend break or for longer staying guests holidaying in sunny Devon. The 17th century oak beamed coaching inn is a family run award winning* establishment in the heart of the town and offers 14 tastefully,comfortable en-suite bedrooms. One of which is a family room that can sleep up to 6 people comfortably. We have Wifi throughout the main building, a lawned beer garden with a pagoda and decking for those warm sunny days and two log fires to warm you on those cosy winter nights. We even have some chickens to say hello to! So, whether you are on holiday, on business or just passing through, a visit here is highly recommended. Dogs are welcome to stay too. Great British Pub Awards South West Winners 2014 Cellar St Austell Brewery - Beer Pub of the Year 2013/2014 St Austell Brewery - Tenants of the Year 2010/2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Cromwell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Arms Hotel Bovey Tracey
Cromwell Arms Bovey Tracey, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing