We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a nice break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cromwell Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cromwell Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Bovey Tracey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“a nice break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have just enjoyed a three night stay. Room was basic but clean, warm and comfortable - good value and perfectly acceptable. Breakfast was great and there was a good selection of food in the evenings. Proprietor and staff were all very friendly. Would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    74
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
39
80
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay at The Cromwell Arms.Lovely setting good clean accomadation and great atmosphere.Breakfast was plentiful and delicous.Thankyou to Julie and Gary for a very relaxing stay.Will be back soon.The Fisher family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteF230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Recently went for short break here to visit friends.Had a warm welcome on arrival .Our room was up two flights of quite steep stairs and overlooking the Carpark at rear of hotel.Room was a good size with a bath with shower.Breakfast was very good with a choice of cereals,and full English with tea or coffee.Ideal location for touring Dartmoor and South Devon as its only ten minutes off the A38 exit .An Ideal base for touring or relaxing,the village has some nice craft shops worth looking in plus the Cromwell has a good menu and a good beer selection.

Room Tip: Our room was at rear,very quiet.Older guests should be aware that the stairs are a bit steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Food is very good,and the pub is nice and clean as are the rooms. BUT.....it is to noisey.there is a door down the hall near rooms 3 and 4 that slams shut waking you up,and try sleeping if you are waking up early!!!! No consideration for guests staying at the pub.the music is very loud downstairs in the bar. Not worth what they charge.Wont be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordie24sas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolJoolz, Owner at Cromwell Arms, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for brining to our attention the door issue - it is a fire door and therefore very heavy. This has now been sorted. With regards to the music, we are baffled at your remark as we never have the music loud anyway. We are an Inn and the bar is open for drinks until 11pm and therefore you are going to hear people enjoying themselves until the doors are closed. We will speak to the people who booked the room for you regarding your complaint, so that if you are down here again, they can find you somewhere more suitable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
290 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is an old coaching inn brought sensibly up to date in a location ideal for touring Dartmoor and South Devon. The ever present landlord, Gary, met us in the car park and carried our bags in after which he seemed to be everywhere and nothing was too much trouble for him. Our newly decorated room was a spacious and comfortable, although a little minimalist (we were told pictures etc. were due to be hung soon). Comfortable bed, nice big bathroom, wall-hung tv and even the bedside clock was set at the right time.
Breakfast was good, generous and freshly cooked with more choices on the "Full English" than you could possibly need. The pub has live (and rather good) live music on a Saturday night but we were in a separate annexe (Rooms 11 and 12) so no noise problems there. Decent choice of beers and ales in the bar.
Good sized free car park and free wi-fi in the bar, all in all pleasant friendly place to stay

Room Tip: Rooms 11 & 12 are in a separate annexe and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manofekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Cromwell Arms for one night whilst attending a birthday party in the local area, We were looked after very well and nothing was too much trouble, The team there were very good and the landlord was on hand all hours of the day and night to make sure his guests were all ok.The room was very comfortable and clean and breakfast choice very good.
We will see you in the future. Many thanks Steve And Andrea

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our 1st visit to Devon. Visiting daughter who moved there last month. Agree with "Bertie500"s review, tho' I can't comment on the alcohol as I don't drink it! Pleased to find they serve an elderflower drink, which made a change from the usual (lack of) choice of non-alcoholic drinks.
Felt I'd stepped back in time ... with all the benefits of 2012 ... a smoke-free, Wi Fi, flatscreen TV with remote control etc.
We had room 4. Spacious, very clean, with comfy bed & pillows. Overlooked the street, but no noise as they have secondary glazing, efficient curtains, and Bovey Tracey is a tranquil place at night. Standard size shower cubicle may be a problem if you are overweight! Was a bit surprised by the "swimming pool" style hairdryer on the bathroom wall. (Didn't use it as I'd brought my own).
Liked the eco-lighting on the stairs and corridor.
Imagine the beer gargen is lovely in the summer. Greeted by birdsong every time we went into the car park, where they have a chicken coop.
Good choice of fruit, cereals, and cooked breakfast. Excellent coffee!
We ate in the hotel restaurant on our 2nd night. Good menu and good service.
The village has all you need ... chemist, newsagent, Tesco Express (the only chain shop I spotted), tea rooms/bistros...and lots of independant shops. Is handy for visiting Totnes, Newton Abbott, Teignmouth. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMS1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovey Tracey
1.0 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
6.1 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Arms

Property: Cromwell Arms
Address: Fore Street | Dartmoor, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Bovey Tracey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bovey Tracey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cromwell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cromwell Arms is just a 5 minute drive off the A38, being ideally located on the edge of Dartmoor and in close proximity to the Heathfield Industrial Estate.The town of Bovey Tracey, also known as the Gateway to the Moor, offers easy access to endless countryside and attractions and is a fantastic place from which to explore the whole region, from the moors, tors and villages, to the beaches and seaside towns of Devon and the rest of the South West of England. With Exeter, Plymouth and Newton Abbot easily accessible from here and being only 10 miles away from the sea, our location is an ideal stop over for a business trip, a weekend break or for longer staying guests holidaying in sunny Devon. The 17th century oak beamed coaching inn is a family run award winning* establishment in the heart of the town and offers 14 tastefully,comfortable en-suite bedrooms. One of which is a family room that can sleep up to 6 people comfortably. We have Wifi throughout the main building, a lawned beer garden with a pagoda and decking for those warm sunny days and two log fires to warm you on those cosy winter nights. We even have some chickens to say hello to! So, whether you are on holiday, on business or just passing through, a visit here is highly recommended. Dogs are welcome to stay too. Great British Pub Awards South West Winners 2014 Cellar St Austell Brewery - Beer Pub of the Year 2013/2014 St Austell Brewery - Tenants of the Year 2010/2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cromwell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Arms Hotel Bovey Tracey
Cromwell Arms Bovey Tracey, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing