We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and good service.”
Review of Cromwell Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cromwell Arms
Ranked #1 of 6 Bovey Tracey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very much enjoyed the greetings and service from every staff member we came in touch with. We didn't manage to eat here but the breakfast was very good.
At first disappointed with the room, which was clean and large but very dated, tired and basic. It wasn't until I checked out that I realised how little we were paying (my wife had booked) and that my comparisons may be unfair as I assumed it had probably cost double what we paid.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_belly_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 208 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a great pub. My wife and I stayed there for 2 nights when we were visiting Dartmour. Small but clean rooms. Good value as it included a full breakfast which was delicious. Right in the centre of town, but not much to see apart from a short walk past the shops. Has free wi-fi, but it was intermittent and you need to be patient. Great frienfly staff and dinner was good with a good choice. Beer was cold and appreciated!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just stayed at the 'Cromwell Arms' for two nights.
This Hotel is absolutely superb, nothing could be faulted.
The Staff, the room and the food were all first class, and so much
thought and care has been put into all the resident's needs for a
lovely, relaxing stay.
The 'Cromwell Arms' in my opinion, puts a lot of so-called 'luxury'
hotels to shame in so many ways.
This is how a 5**** hotel should strive to be.
Thank you all very much.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IwattsSouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked a two night stay, and on arrival were greated in a friendly welcoming manner and shown to a very nice room with shower en-suite.
We could see the Moors from our bedroom window and saw a lovely sunset
We didn't eat in the restaurant due to family nearby, but the breakfasts were really tasty.
The hotel was clean, comfortable with friendly staff and landlord, We will keep it in mind for future stays..

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are not for people who like to sleep in as it is opposite the local store.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife & I booked 3 nights at the Coombe Cross hotel in Bovey through Booking.Com however, upon arrival at 9pm, the owner advised us that the hotel had closed some 4 weeks previously. Because of the time, he agreed to put us up for 1 night. The following night we booked into the Cromwell Arms & what a holiday saver it proved to be. We checked in fairly late & were given room 12. This turned out to be a very large, spotlessly clean, family room with a very comfortable double bed & 2 sets of large bunk beds. In no way did all these beds make the room feel cramped & in my view, the room could easily accommodate a family of 2 adults & 4 teenage children. The en-suite was also large & spotlessly clean. In the morning we were served a beautiful full English breakfast by Linda who in my opinion epitomised the efforts of this hotel to make their clients both welcome & comfortable. WE WILL DEFINITELY VISIT AGAIN.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShelbourneFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Booked at short notice whilst on buisness, a lovely retreat away from the busy coast. nice room & good food in the resturant. Ideal base for south devon. Returned a few weeks later & enjoyed another nice stay. Will keep this place in mind for future trips.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicestershireRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

had not booked, but was shown a very nice room B&B £70.00. Very clean and nice bathroom. Enjoyed a lovely meal in the resturant, good food. Very comfy bed, slept well. Huge breakfast again very good. Plesant staff and very good value for money. Would stay here again. Dont come here if you are on a diet!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovey Tracey
7.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
520 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
302 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Courtenay House
Courtenay House
#5 of 6 in Bovey Tracey
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Arms

Address: Bovey Tracey, Devon Fore Street | Haytor, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Bovey Tracey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bovey Tracey
Price Range: $74 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cromwell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cromwell Arms is just a 5 minute drive off the A38, being ideally located on the edge of Dartmoor and in close proximity to the Heathfield Industrial Estate.The town of Bovey Tracey, also known as the Gateway to the Moor, offers easy access to endless countryside and attractions and is a fantastic place from which to explore the whole region, from the moors, tors and villages, to the beaches and seaside towns of Devon and the rest of the South West of England. With Exeter, Plymouth and Newton Abbot easily accessible from here and being only 10 miles away from the sea, our location is an ideal stop over for a business trip, a weekend break or for longer staying guests holidaying in sunny Devon. The 17th century oak beamed coaching inn is a family run award winning* establishment in the heart of the town and offers 14 tastefully,comfortable en-suite bedrooms. One of which is a family room that can sleep up to 6 people comfortably. We have Wifi throughout the main building, a lawned beer garden with a pagoda and decking for those warm sunny days and two log fires to warm you on those cosy winter nights. We even have some chickens to say hello to! So, whether you are on holiday, on business or just passing through, a visit here is highly recommended. Dogs are welcome to stay too. Great British Pub Awards South West Winners 2014 Cellar St Austell Brewery - Beer Pub of the Year 2013/2014 St Austell Brewery - Tenants of the Year 2010/2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Cromwell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Arms Hotel Bovey Tracey
Cromwell Arms Bovey Tracey, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing