We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful crafts”

Devon Guild of Craftsmen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Devon Guild of Craftsmen is an acclaimed exhibition space for contemporary craft and design as well as a leading charity for craft education. Located in Bovey Tracey, our large craft centre offers inspiring exhibitions and events for people to buy, make and learn about contemporary craft. Our Craft Shop sells hand-made gifts and a wide range of contemporary craft work by 250 South West based makers. Our Terrace Cafe has delicious local food, childrens menu and play area as well as rooftop seating with glorious views across the town. Open daily, 10am - 5.30Pm We also have FREE wifi to keep you connected.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The exhibition of art work was a lovely experience and enjoyed by all of the people with me but unfortunately could not say the same about the staff that work in the cafe. We found the staff to be rude and showed an unwelcome attitude to the members of my family.

Thank Gem J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon G, Marketing Manager at Devon Guild of Craftsmen, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thanks you for your comments about the the beautiful crafts we have here.
We are sorry your cafe experience didn't meet such high standards. We try to provide consistently excellent service and have clearly failed in this case. We have passed on your comments to our cafe staff. Please could you be more specific and let us know a time and date of your visit as this helps us tackle poor service more directly.
We hope that you will return and give us another opportunity to do better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 198 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Don't bother to eat here.
The cream teas were awful. The scones were flat all bar one and I was told it was because that one was fresh out the oven.It was twice as tall - why bring out three poor and one good.Then she forgot the tea.
the staff couldn't care less - rather go to the House Of Marbles where the staff were very good and the cream teas much better.

The Guild need to sort out eating here it is a disgrace.

2  Thank larryandgwendainuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon G, Public Relations Manager at Devon Guild of Craftsmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your experience here. We endeavour to provide consistently high quality food and service and clearly have fallen short in this case. We continually strive to improve our offer and have passed on your comments to our cafe staff. We hope that you will return and give us another opportunity to get it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Often been to Devon but never visited Bovey. Decided to do so on a sunny day and found the Guild of Cratfsmen. What a find! Fantastic range of superb craft, all displayed to the highest standard. As crafters ourselves we love places like this and when the range is of such high quality it's a double bonus. Lots to see and absolutely no pressure to buy. We were spoiled for choice but eventually settled on a piece of ceramic and a silk scarf for a friend. Very pleasant staff who carefully wrapped our purchases. The cafe had not started lunch so can't comment on them but the coffee and cakes were good at a fair price. Overall, a great experience.

Thank ploddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

As a regular South Devon visitor the Guild of Craftsmen is always on our "to do" list. The art is varied and beautifully presented. There is also often a craft activity for children.

Unfortunately, the rather nice cafe upstairs has recently "simplified" its menu. For “simplify” read: "removed children’s menu and all savoury food appears to be >50% bread plus generic side-salad". This is a shame as we have 7 & 10 year olds and whilst they are super eaters paying £6-7 for an adult-themed sandwich or £7 for a jacket spud just to tide them over is not good value. I left a comprehensive comment card following our last visit and even called the interim manager to discuss; but at the moment the approach is that the customer is wrong. Let’s hope for an improvement by half term or we’ll be lunching down the road.

2  Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon G, Public Relations Manager at Devon Guild of Craftsmen, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We’re sorry your café experience was disappointing as it’s our aim to be customer focussed at all times. In response to a recent customer survey, we’ve changed our policy of having particular items for children on our menu, in favour of making all items available in smaller portions for anyone who chooses this option, including parents with children. We are looking forward to welcoming our new Head Chef and Café Manager at the end of August, and hope to see you at half term to enjoy the new experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very innovative and crafts of the highest quality beautifully displayed. Very expensive but lovely to look at.

Thank Margaret U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devon Guild of Craftsmen also viewed

Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
 
Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Devon Guild of Craftsmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing