We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lakeside in April” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indio Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bovey Tracey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indio Lake
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lakeside in April”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

What a relaxing holiday at Lakeside apartment at Indio Lake. The hot tub was wonderful, I have come back likea prune! So funny to see the ducks popping up over the decking while chilling in the hot tub! Excellent accommodation, spotless, huge wardrobe and wifi an unexpected bonus. Dartmouth, Exeter and Powderham Castle are gems not to be missed, and the Cromwell Arms is a lovely local pub with good food. Highly recommended! Hope to be back very soon! Many thanks.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    17
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a lovely time at Indio lakes, I would recommend to anyone!

We stayed in Lakeside which is an apartment, the first you come to through the gates. I was a bit worried with having someone above us but I didn't need too! The couple above were quiet, the only minor thing is that when they walked above occasionally the lights in the living room would flicker!

On arrival you have to enter a code for the gates to open, you also have a code for a key safe outside the door. This is given by Hoseasons on your confirmation when you book as there are no staff on the site. That said, there was some maintanence staff still cleaning our decking area on arrival who were really friendly.

The lodge apartment itself is decorated to such a high standard and it was immaculately clean. There is a fully stocked kitchen including a dishwasher plus dishwsher tablets, washing up liquid, sponges and tea towels.
The hot tub is sunken, under cover and private screened off by reeds, the decking can get slippy so take care (especially after the one rain shower and duck visitors we had!!) On the first evening the hot tub wouldn't get above 36 degrees, which sounds warm but it wasn't warm enough. We found out it is emptied after every guest so it obviously just wasn't up to temperature. Every other night it was perfect - up to 40 degrees!
The bedroom had a four poster bed with towels/hand towels laid out ready for use. We took a couple of additional towels for hot tub use. It also had a HUGE walk in wardrobe!
The bathroom is of a large size with a bath/shower and a heated towel rail (ideal for drying swimwear/towels)
The heating was set to 21 degrees, which for the time of year just didn't seem warm enough so that was a shame on the colder of nights.

We stayed a Monday - Friday and on the Thursday it was Valentines day, we woke up to a little tube on the doorstep filled with love hearts - such a nice touch! On that evening we also had an indian takeaway from Spice Bazaar in Bovey (they do not deliver) which was really yummy!

We had such a lovely time and we are keen to stay at Stonerush Lakes in Cornwall as it is owned by the same company.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lou_angel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Lovely romantic peaceful break. Returned today from weekend break & feel totally relaxed. Lovely cabin with hot tub over looking lake. Didn't see a soul whilst there. We enjoyed the ducks & visiting geese on lake & even had large fish coming up to snack on our bread. Very well equipped cabin although lounge sofas not the most comfortable. DVDs & CDs available & IPod dock for your own music. Games & books there to enjoy too. Could be better signed from the road but we found it OK. Only negatives if we were picky is decking slippery in the damp & we had cabin 12 which is down a lane so if u have cabins 11, 12 or 14 & go out to eat in the evening take a torch as you won't find sufficient outside lighting to make your way up the path! Hot tub attended for service daily. For what we wanted it was lovely & just as described in the brochure. We ate at a local Indian restaurant "The Spice Bazaar" & "The Riverside Inn" for a carvery. Both are recommended. We also visited Haldon Forestry Park to ride our bikes which was nice but we've decided before our next visit we need a bit more training!! If you are considering Indio Lakes you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We spent a long weekend at Indio Lake in September.

We had a Watersedge lodge which was perfect!

The whole place is so relaxing and peaceful, not somewhere to go if you're looking to party.

The lodge was set on one of the lakes and had a wonderful decked area that you could sit out on and watch the nature on the lake.

There were a few pieces of crockery that weren't very clean but there is a dishwasher as well as washing up liquid etc so no great hardship, just lazy guests before us I guess!

Top class fixtures and fittings, nothing really we could find fault with.

We tend to stay in at least one lodge every year and so far, Indio Lake is the one we'd go back to!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keentravellerworcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband took me on a short break to Indio lake, but so impressed when we arrived, it was lovely to feel like we were on our own in the middle of nowhere, to my great surprise to find a hot tub on the veranda overlooking the water.

Had a fantastic four nights away the furnishings were excellent, the view was great and the days out were fab to.

Cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed in Indio Lake last October for 5 days. We were lucky as the weather was beautiful and sunny. We stayed in the Watersedge Lodge and it was lovely. On arrival you have to type a code to get into the gate and we did end up having to ring Hoseasons (who we booked through) because they had sent us the wrong code. There is no office or reception and nobody was on site to ask so we did have a slight panic. Luckily Hoseasons were really helpful and we got the proper code and eventually got into the lodge. Your left keys in a key safe..just make sure you get there before dark because it can be tricky finding where you are going! We have stayed in quite a few lodges by Hoseasons and this was by far the nicest one. My partner was really impressed. It was spotless inside and plenty of room. It did have two bedrooms but we were just staying there as two of us.
The lodges are dotted out around the main lake and then there are a few around a smaller pond which I think are The Hide lodges. We had a nose inside the windows and they looked just as nice. The hot tub was lovely but if I was going to be really picky I would say it was slightly over powerful with the smell of all the cleaning stuff that goes in it. Whenever we have stayed in other lodges the hot tubs are always treated and looked at everyday by people on site but this one was not. My partner has very sensitive skin and by the end of our break he couldnt really go in it because the chemicals were making his skin so bad. Like I said though it didnt effect me but it would have been nice to know it was treated everyday.
The area around the lodges is lovely and there is plenty to do. We ate out a lot and even went further afield and had a day out at Paignton Zoo which was pretty good, brilliant if you have kids but we enjoyed it just as much :)
The only real complaint we had during our stay was that they were doing building work on site with a digger and piling rubble into the lake. This was obviously quite disruptive when we were trying to relax in the hot tub and we werent told building work was going to be going on. I did complain to Hoseasons and they were brilliant and gave us a small refund. It didnt ruin our break though, even with that noise it was still lovely!
All in all we are for sure going to go back and will stay in the same lodge because we liked being right on the lake and it was nice and private and we saw nobody else there the whole 5 days (except the digger).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AECG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovey Tracey
0.8 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
6.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Rock Inn
The Rock Inn
#1 of 2 in Haytor Vale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cromwell Arms
Cromwell Arms
#1 of 5 in Bovey Tracey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indio Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indio Lake

Property: Indio Lake
Address: Indio Lake Newton Road, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Bovey Tracey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Bovey Tracey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Indio Lake Bovey Tracey, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing