We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Murder on Dartmoor!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Edgemoor Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bovey Tracey
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another Murder on Dartmoor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

After taking six friends to this Hotel for a Murder Mystery Trip last year I was so impressed I took back fifty friends from our choir this year! Traveled with Bugler coaches who did a great job,This Hotel pulled out all the stops for a great night out.The staff were so welcoming,the food was fantastic ,and the Candlelight players gave a great performance of a "Who dunnit murder !" I would definitely recommend this as a great fun night out and congratulate both the coach company and particularly the Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    80
    27
    15
    8
See reviews for
86
160
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights during the recent half term holiday and the staff were very attentive, the room was older style but very comfortable and in keeping with the age of the hotel.
The food was very good especially the breakfast and we had something different every day.
We had one evening meal and this was a surprise having ordered just a burger and chips we got a homemade one and it was very good, the puddings were stunning considering the price and we recommend you stay here, we will return with our dog next time as they have special rooms to cater for this.
The WIFI was Down for one day but we were in the middle of the storm that was forecast

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is ideally located for Dartmoor as well as the South Hams and is situated in nice grounds but there is just something lacking that prevents a high rating. While all meats and produce is locally sourced the menu is tired and unimaginative. The bar area has no ambiance and lacks the little touches for the guests such as beer mats, complimentary crisps and/or nuts. Our room, while having a comfortable bed, had two chairs that offered anything but a comfortable seat. The 'closet' consisted of a coat rail with a curtain in front. The height of the bath tub made it difficult to get in or out to take a shower. Would we stay there again - possibly but thee are better alternatives in the vicinity.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theedge139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for one night en route to Cornwall. We were in room 10 which was very comfortable and looked out over the front entrance. The pre-dinner drinks were very good and the meal in the restaurant lived up to expectations. Breakfast was also very good and the service throughout was flawless. Very quiet and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 10!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlastairH101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Customer service was excellent. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. The lady owner made us feel very welcome and was very friendly. Breakfast was lovely, fresh and tasty. All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talbot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our stay at the Edgemoor Hotel far exceeded our expectations...delightful, comfortable room, gracious staff, wonderful food, an ambience that hinted of history, celebrity, whimsy. The manager, Charles Russell, is so charming and goes out of his way to embellish and enrich his guests' stay.
And , they like dogs!!

Room Tip: We had an outside door entrance which was convenient to our car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

My friend & I visited the Edgemoor Hotel for an afternoon tea in their Old School Tea Rooms and had a thoroughly delightful afternoon! The service was fantastic - attentive, but not too intrusive & the sandwiches and cakes were delicious. My friend is dairy intolerant and they had gone to extra lengths to make sure that she didn't feel like a second class guest because of this and had a wonderful selection of dairy free cakes.
Combined with all this the setting of the Hotel is amazing and the tea room decorated in a quaint but understated way.
We will definitely be coming back & I have already recommended it to other friends. It goes to show what friendly customer service does to promote a business!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackRabbitSlim88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovey Tracey
1.9 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
21.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgemoor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgemoor Country House Hotel

Property: The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Address: Haytor Road | Newton Abbot, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Bovey Tracey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bovey Tracey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgemoor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Edgemoor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgemoor Country Hotel
Edgemoor Country Hotel
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel Bovey Tracey, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing