We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent night stopover.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bovey Tracey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for one night en route to Cornwall. We were in room 10 which was very comfortable and looked out over the front entrance. The pre-dinner drinks were very good and the meal in the restaurant lived up to expectations. Breakfast was also very good and the service throughout was flawless. Very quiet and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 10!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlastairH101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 418 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Customer service was excellent. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. The lady owner made us feel very welcome and was very friendly. Breakfast was lovely, fresh and tasty. All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talbot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our stay at the Edgemoor Hotel far exceeded our expectations...delightful, comfortable room, gracious staff, wonderful food, an ambience that hinted of history, celebrity, whimsy. The manager, Charles Russell, is so charming and goes out of his way to embellish and enrich his guests' stay.
And , they like dogs!!

Room Tip: We had an outside door entrance which was convenient to our car.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonnie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My friend & I visited the Edgemoor Hotel for an afternoon tea in their Old School Tea Rooms and had a thoroughly delightful afternoon! The service was fantastic - attentive, but not too intrusive & the sandwiches and cakes were delicious. My friend is dairy intolerant and they had gone to extra lengths to make sure that she didn't feel like a second class guest because of this and had a wonderful selection of dairy free cakes.
Combined with all this the setting of the Hotel is amazing and the tea room decorated in a quaint but understated way.
We will definitely be coming back & I have already recommended it to other friends. It goes to show what friendly customer service does to promote a business!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackRabbitSlim88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed a night as part of a wedding in October. The hotel is in a beautiful setting with very pretty gardens and is close to the small, but delightful Bovey Tracey. The building is a 19C former school with large airy rooms, and is in good condition throughout, although I feel that the decor is straight out of a Next catalogue (there are too many purples and dark colours) whereas it would be far better in more traditional, brighter country house colours,. Our bedroom was enormous, in excellent condition, very clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was huge, warm, and clean- however the shower turned out to be pitiful. The staff were efficient and friendly but there didn't appear to be anyone managing the wedding, and the minute the evening disco ended they started whipping off the table cloths in a less than subtle way of telling us we should go to bed! Howver the most disappointing aspect was the food. This is Bovey Tracey's old grammar school- and the food was rather old school. The wedding breakfast had huge portions, but the vegetables were overcooked, steamed, limp and flavourless. the potatoes were OK but the gravy was classic 1980s soup style - vast quantities but no flavour of the stock or meat. The chocolate brownie was not a brownie- more of a solid sponge, but the cheesed was very good. The next morning we could smell the bacon cooking 1/2 hr before it started - which was not a good sign as it meant that the food would be sitting waiting for us...and sure enough we were greeted by 4 big heated containers with pre-cooked food, to which we helped ourselves. No freshly cooked food to order- and no option on the eggs- just scrambled. Oh and cold plates. The pity about this hotel is that they are missing out on being very good- if only they could enhance their service and food so that it was less old school and more 21st century, local produce, higher quality, and less quantity then they could be onto a real winner.

Room Tip: they are all enormous so take your pick, although those that overlook the gardens have the best aspe...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pridecols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments, you have brought to our attention some improvements we can make.

The décor is subjective, and actually the predominance is Laura Ashley, with paints from Farrow & Ball. Our Woodland Wing rooms have a different feel. All can be viewed on line before you book.

Sorry about the shower, I am now aware there was a problem with the shower in your room, which is now fixed.

Our General Manager, or Owner always volunteer to be Master of Ceremonies at Weddings, and this is a free service, however your bride & groom wanted an informal wedding, and did not want this.

The licence for function music requires us to end at midnight –in consideration for locals, however as a resident you are welcome to relax in the lounge bar as long as you like, so bed is just one option available to you.

The Bride & Groom choose the menu, and we offer complete flexibility to provide whatever they want. It is then of course our obligation to deliver it. You will see from other reviews that the general consensus is that we generally succeed in meeting expectation. The huge portions of vegetables was a specific request of your Bride & Groom.

We do serve breakfast buffet style because it is our experience that wedding parties tend to all meet for breakfast at the same time, so in this way 30 – 40 people can enjoy breakfast together at the same time.

We do offer a choice of eggs, though that was obviously not made clear. We have addressed this, and now place a notice inviting guests to make their preferences known. Sorry you should not have had cold plates. The food we prepare, held in water baths does hold very well, and we endeavour to replenish regularly so that food does not spoil.

Thank you for taking the time to write, we appreciate the observations where we can improve

Kind Regards


Charles

Charles Russell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a lovely stay at The Edgemoor Hotel. We stayed in room 10 which was a spacious nicely decorated room with a really comfy King size bed, If you go on the website you can see all the bedrooms and choose the room you want. The breakfast was excellent and room service was really quick and good - can highly recommend the Club Sandwich and a superb cheese board,
The location is superb near to Dartmoor and not far from the coast the best of both worlds!
The staff and owners are helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Have a look at the pictures of the room on the website which gives you the room numbers.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This former school building makes an interesting small hotel. We stayed for one night, with dog. It was ok, but we felt that for the price it should have been better. In our room we found a used towel, mentioned it to reception, but it wasn't removed. The service was mixed - we weren't invited to taste the wine before it was poured, and when I mentioned that the juice jug at breakfast was empty I thought the comment "You're a thirsty lot this morning" was a bit unprofessional. We enjoyed our stay but won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JILLOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovey Tracey
5.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,350 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
8.7 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
498 reviews
21.7 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgemoor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgemoor Country House Hotel

Address: Haytor Road | Newton Abbot, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Bovey Tracey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bovey Tracey
Price Range: $121 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgemoor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Edgemoor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgemoor Country Hotel
Edgemoor Country Hotel
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel Bovey Tracey, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing