We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa(Ilsington)(Great Value!)
$160
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$117
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Hart Hotel(Moretonhampstead)
$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bovey Castle Hotel(North Bovey)
$206
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cockhaven Arms(Bishopsteignton)
$129
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dartmoor Lodge(Ashburton)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveler rating
293
92
30
17
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
293
92
30
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold schoollovely hotelwedding receptioncream teaafternoon teadog friendly hotelwedding venuebeautiful roomgrammar schoolsconesthank you so muchhis teamfood was fantasticgym barbeautiful settingopen firesteak
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 442 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a lovely stay at The Edgemoor Hotel. We stayed in room 10 which was a spacious nicely decorated room with a really comfy King size bed, If you go on the website you can see all the bedrooms and choose the room you want. The breakfast was excellent and room service was really quick and good - can highly recommend the Club Sandwich and a superb cheese board,
The location is superb near to Dartmoor and not far from the coast the best of both worlds!
The staff and owners are helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Have a look at the pictures of the room on the website which gives you the room numbers.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This former school building makes an interesting small hotel. We stayed for one night, with dog. It was ok, but we felt that for the price it should have been better. In our room we found a used towel, mentioned it to reception, but it wasn't removed. The service was mixed - we weren't invited to taste the wine before it was poured, and when I mentioned that the juice jug at breakfast was empty I thought the comment "You're a thirsty lot this morning" was a bit unprofessional. We enjoyed our stay but won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JILLOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We held our wedding ceremony and reception at the Edgemoor Hotel. After searching Devon for venues, we knew this was the perfect place for us as soon as we entered the grounds for the first time. The building is beautiful – a country house hotel – modernised, but at the same time it maintains its “old school” character. It has a relaxed “feel good” atmosphere and we were always made to feel so welcome.

Simon, Charles and Jody were our main contacts leading up to the event...we had complete confidence in their organisation, both during this lead up and on the day. All of the staff present as calm and friendly, whilst at the same time, professional and efficient.

We were impressed with how transparent they were from the beginning in terms of costings and in comparison to other venues, they offer real value for money.

They listened to us and made us feel that they wanted the day to be as special as it could be. They were totally flexible/amenable and we were able to truly “make the place our own.” Nothing was too much trouble for them (having stayed at separate ends of the hotel the night before, Charles even made sure we did not see one another in the morning!) and the staff embraced the occasion and celebrated with us.

We had our ceremony under the pagoda outside, photos and lawn games in the beautiful garden, a 3 course sit down meal for 100 guests during the day and a hog roast for 150 guests in the evening. The food was amazing (fantastic chefs...thank you so much) and many of our guests have since complimented the food, the venue, the service and the staff.

We cannot thank the Edgemoor team enough... the day was everything we hoped it would be and a whole lot more!

Clare and Jules

Room Tip: Look at photos of rooms on the hotel website.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Clare and Jules

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your big day here with us. Thank you for letting us be a part of it we had great fun being involved in your day. We had such fun watching your guests enjoying themselves with games on the lawns and photo booths, you both put so much effort in to activities for them to keep them occupied. You kind comments of how we looked after you are appreciated, we all enjoy what we do here and feel very privileged to be a part of the day.

Hope to see you soon

Kind regards


Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My daughter got married on 14/9/13 at the Edgemoor, The hotel could not have done more for us the staff was fantastic, the food was amazing, the rooms beautiful. We had a fantastic day/night and Simon and his staff made it very special for my daughter and her husband.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Sharon

Than you for your kind words following your daughter wedding here with us, Simon thanks you for your kind words and is pleased that a great time was had by all. He hopes to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards


Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The wife and I have just come back from a two night stay at the Edgemoor for a friend's wedding and it was fantastic. The staff, every single one, were so helpful and polite they really made our stay and the wedding very special.

Bar prices were very reasonable indeed and the food was nothing short of amazing.

Very sad when it came time to check out to but I'll certainly be taking the wife there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martj76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Hello

Thank you so much for your kind review following your stay with us, I am delighted to hear that your visit was enjoyable and you enjoyed your meals here with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the future.

Kind regards

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews