We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bovey Tracey
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great family run hotel”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We held my daughter's wedding in the Edgemoor, and I would highly recommend it. The service was great; what really impressed me was how friendly and helpful the staff are. The organisation was great; the owners  Simon and Heather are brilliant. They did everything you could possibly ask to make sure the day went well. The food was great, particularly the breakfast. I would also recommend the afternoon tea, and the real ale in the bar. If you want a family friendly hotel with a very relaxed atmosphere, this is perfect. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Alun

Thank you for your review following your daughters wedding here with us. Simon and Heather pass on their thanks for your kind words. Weddings are such a privilege for us to be a part of and it is such a delight to hear the great feedback following such a special day . We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kind regards


Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    81
    29
    16
    8
See reviews for
93
165
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Me and my husband had our wedding reception here in august 2013 and we were over the moon with how welcoming and professional the staff were we were made to feel at ease and at home! Everything was taken care of and our wedding was perfect, Charles was the gentleman that took care of us on our big day well what a star thankyou from both of us. We can't wait to come and have a weekend away. Thanks again x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clambell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi Claire and Lee

Hope you are both well, thank you so much for your kind review following your wedding here with us, it was such a pleasure to be part of your big day and thank you for choosing us here to be the venue to celebrate. I hope you enjoyed your honeymoon on your cruise. Hope to see you both soon

Kind regards


Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed one night on route northwards. The staff were all friendly and helpful and we had a lovely meal in the evening in the bar.The hotel was quite a bit further out of Bovey Tracey than we had realised. We had a room in the newer wing/annexe and had everything we needed in a clean and pleasant room (there seemed to be lots of rules in the guest info- seemed fitting for an old school!!)Our only criticism of the place is that the corridor/bridge linking the annexe to the main building is in urgent need of some attention/decoration-this lets down what is otherwise a very nice place to stay. We wondered if the bedrooms in the main building were probably the nicest though when we stayed the place was full.The breakfast like the bar food was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across the Edgemoor by chance after a very poor accommodation experience in Torquay. Having read the Tripadvisor reviews I was encouraged by the overwhelmingly positive feedback and the proactive approach of the management to any negative reviews. From my perspective it's how an owner handles such comments that matters, not that a negative review arises (that can happen to the best).

Having now experienced the Edgemoor myself, I can whole heartedly endorse the many 'excellent' reviews. The ambience of the hotel is calm and relaxed, and the staff deliver a good balance of friendly informality and efficient service. The bedrooms are a nice mix of country styling and contemporary presentation, and the lounge is welcoming.

However, it is the restaurant that pushes the envelope of the experience, both in terms of the atmosphere and food quality. The Edgemoor nudges at the boundaries of economy fine dining and inspired creativity. The food is presented wonderfully, the ingredients are first class, and the cooking delivered with care and attention. The staff are attentive but not overbearing, and you are encouraged to enjoy the moment.

For me the Edgemoor aspires to a standard that others in its class should aim for. It may not be to everyone's taste, and that's fine (we are all different). However, the owner, management and staff should be applauded for trying to do something imaginative and aspirational.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legal1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hello

Thank you for your review following your stay here with us, I am pleased that you stumbled across us and we were able to restore your faith in hotels in South Devon. I am pleased that you found your stay enjoyable and relaxing and you were able to continue your break in the area. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us, we endeavour to use locally sourced produce therefore creating seasonal and interesting menus offering a wide selection to all. I hope to welcome you back next time you are in the area

Kind regards


Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visiting relatives and our usual hotel was full. Found this lovely hotel on internet. The staff were really friendly and attentive and the room was full of character. Weather was good so we enjoyed afternoon tea on the terrace. Plenty of parking available.

We ate in the restaurant and are so glad we did. A superb meal. We had just returned form France and the food was as good as anything we had there.

This hotel isnt exactly cheap - but at the end of the day you get what you pay for. This was worth every penny and we will be returning.

Room Tip: They have seperate rooms for travellers with dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Just attended my daughter's wedding at the Edgemoor and a more idyllic setting you would be hard pressed to find.
Lovely old school house that has retained all it's character; beautifully maintained gardens buzzing with bees and butterflies and clean, well appointed rooms. Top this with friendly, attentive staff and you have the perfect venue.
I can't comment on the food they serve from day to day as this was a wedding reception and we had a barbecue dinner in the garden. If the barbecue was anything to go by I don't think you need to worry too much on the food front. Breakfast was excellent.
Thank you Edgemoor for helping to make my daughter and new son-in-law's day so special and for being such wonderful hosts.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank horrell624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hello

We are so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time here for your Daughters wedding reception. We are pleased to hear that the BBQ went down well and breakfast was enjoyed by all. We are so privileged here to be involved in peoples wedding days on such an important day in peoples lives. We hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards


Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVON, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I booked this for my husbands 50th, just for a quiet night away. Perfect surroundings on the edge of Dartmoor, easy access to Widecombe in the Moor, where we ate in the evening. The room was spacious and clean, the bathroom was also large but I'm not sure it had been cleaned properly as I could feel a tide mark around the bath :-S Quiet locality and delicious breakfast too :-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flamehaired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hello

Thank you for your review following your stay, I am pleased your stay was enjoyed by you both and were able to celebrate your husbands birthday here with us. I am sorry to hear that you felt the bath was not clean as it could have been, your feedback has been passed to housekeeping. I do hope will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards


Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovey Tracey
1.7 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
5.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
8.7 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
21.7 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgemoor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgemoor Country House Hotel

Property: The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Address: Haytor Road | Newton Abbot, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Bovey Tracey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bovey Tracey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgemoor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Edgemoor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgemoor Country Hotel
Edgemoor Country Hotel
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel Bovey Tracey, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing