We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stop Over.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolphin Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bovey Tracey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Bovey Tracey B&B and Inns
Chichester England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Stop Over.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed for 1 night on business in early March 2013. Very pleasant, room super comfortable, great food on offer and the staff were very welcoming. Even made me breakfast a little earlier than usual. This is obviously popular with local residents, so has a great feel to the bar in the evening. Will stay again when around Exeter on business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Lovely little hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful, plenty to eat at breakfast. Arrived on a cold wet night the room (4) was warm, the bed was comfortable and room was very clean. Shower was great except it kept going cold every now and then. Unfortunately I miss dinner but was told by a family member that the dessert was one of the best he had. I will definatly stay again plus I need to try the desert for myself. Thanks all at the Dolphin

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deebea25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nothing to rave about really, but no major complaints either.
Family room pretty drab, and overlooked buildings at the back of the hotel.
Food in the evening, was average, again nothing to rave about. Didn't like the heavy smell of deep fat frying that pervaded the restaurant (perhaps problems with kitchen ventilation?)
Cooked breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Family room at the back, was large but uninspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wawagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Visited Bovey Tracey area 28/29 September all B&Bs booked up in area, tried this hotel and we were offered an option of two nice rooms, we took one and had a comfortable stay, room 4 was very clean and spacious..the staff were very friendly and helpful and took advantage of having dinner too...food ok... service excellent fast and efficient and deliverd with a smile...slept ok quiet location at rear of hotel...good breakfast and plenty of car parking....sometimes a last munute find works!!....thanks Dolphin.

Room Tip: The reception staff very flexible and friendly we feel they would help as much as they can rear of h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

As a large family group, we took over several rooms at the Dolphin Hotel. They were modern, spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff were attentive, friendly and very helpful.

Lovely hot breakfasts cooked to order. I can't fault it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Dolphin is our local pub and in nearly two years of going there we have never had a bad meal or experience. Rob, Lisa and the rest of the staff are lovely, friendly and always go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your time with them. I have never stayed in the rooms, but know people that have and they rated them as excellent. I can't name a better place to have a meal in the area. The huge specials board is changed every week and they have a regular menu that is also regularly updated. Everyone we take is impressed by the great food and excellent service. They have great beers, lagers and a really good wine list too. All in all a wonderful place!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Fun and friendly place where nothing was too much trouble. Right on the edge of Dartmoor easy location to travel round the South West. Great Food, Great Hospitality, and the rooms are modern and clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovey Tracey
0.9 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
9.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cromwell Arms
Cromwell Arms
#1 of 5 in Bovey Tracey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Hotel

Property: Dolphin Hotel
Address: Dolphin Square Station Road, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Bovey Tracey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bovey Tracey
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Bovey Tracey, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing