We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bovey Tracey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stickwick Manor & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Absolutely loved the cottage, which was in a wonderful rural location to explore and appreciate the peace and quite of the countryside. The cottage enjoyed views of the garden, farm animals and the fields beyond. Stickwick is tucked away in the countryside with very few passing cars, only lambs, chickens, ducks and donkeys for company, yet accessible to Exeter, nearby towns and the coast.The cottage is situated in a great location for walking direct from the property along the quite Devonshire lanes, tracks and footpaths. Within a short drive of less than 25 miles there were many other excellent walks, towns, villages and places to visit. There was a play area and the farm animals which would occupy children (although there were no children in our party). The cottage was spotlessly clean, very well equipped, extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated. The owners had given a lot of thought and attention to detail and provided many additional items to make ones holiday special what ever the season.The owners (Linda and Alison) were very welcoming and approachable without being intrusive. We had a fantastic holiday and would strongly recommend this cottage to others and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rambling-rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

A lovely little cottage, and perfectly equipped.

Fresh flowers and home made cakes greeted us on arrival in this charming little cottage. It has everything you need, and things you thought you might not need too.

If you're looking for a perfect little getaway in Devon, you found it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed in the manor for six days as part of a writing group. The countryside situation is excellent and, although I did not have family and children with me, I can see that there is plenty to keep them amused and of course the farm animals to interest them The house has an olde world charm ideal for sitting around the wood stove of an evening with a glass of wine and good chat. Walking the country lanes is easy with so little vehicle traffic.

The bedrooms look very good on the website and probably are but I was in the centre room on the second floor and frankly it was smaller than you would imagine and, in my view poorly furnished. It is not en suite and, if, like me you are not with family, the trip to the bathroom in the night down noisy creaking staircases is quite embarrassing. I recommend Stickwick Manor for all its charms but avoid staying in room 7 if you can

Room Tip: Avoid room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our experience with Stickwick started before we arrived...the plan was to surprise my daughter by having the Farmhouse filled with decorations when she arrived to stay for her 30th birthday weekend. I posted the décor to Alison who had everything decorated beautifully when we arrived, causing our daughter to gasp with excitement! My daughter and I arrived on her birthday (a day earlier than everyone else) and had a amazing afternoon tea at Bovey Castle on our way down. We arrived to a freshly baked lemon drizzle cake, fresh flowers and a lovely note welcoming us to the Farmhouse and wishing our daughter a Happy Birthday. The following morning the two of us went horse riding at the nearby Finlake Riding Centre (http://www.finlakeridingcentre.co.uk/) before the remainder of the family joined us in the afternoon (an additional 4 adults and two children - 5 yr old & 7 month old). On the Saturday we had a surprise birthday gathering with additional friends, champagne and an amazing huge birthday cupcake (baked by Daisy Cakes, Torquay http://www.daisycakes.me.uk). We had planned a meal out on the Saturday night, but due to the weather we decided on a take-away from Spice Bazaar, the local Indian restaurant instead. The service was great and the food was lovely. We spent a total of 4 nights at Stickwick Farmhouse, some of which were during the horrendous stormy weather experienced in the wettest winter on record. We could not think of a better place to be during the rain and the gale force winds than on the Moor, riding out the storms with not one, but two wood burning stoves. The firewood was endless and was topped up as we used it. We managed a couple of nice walks including one on the Moor with wind and hail included! Quite an experience, but we loved every minutes of it. The boot room was a huge plus as we had so many pairs of wellies and other shoes between us! Our granddaughter loved the animals and the swing set and the family room was perfect for our son and his family with the two young children. We loved staying at Stickwick and left reluctantly after a wonderful birthday weekend; one that we are sure our daughter will always remember. Thank you to Linda and Alison for making it so special! We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gagal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaStickwick, Owner at Stickwick Manor & Cottages, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Gaga188,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a glowing review of Stickwick Farmhouse.

We are so pleased we could help you plan such a special celebration weekend for your daughter.

Best wishes and hope to see you all again in the future.
Regards
Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful Christmas for two families with teenage children sharing the festive season together for the first time. The manor house exceeded our expectations . The website doesn't do it justice in our view. Everything was there that you need for cooking a Christmas feast. The decorations were lovely. The house was warm with masses of hot water, plenty for enjoying the free standing baths on the top floor. The fires were wonderful and we loved the farmhouse kitchen. The games barn was great for dads and lads. We survived the terrible pre Christmas storms and felt snug and secure.around the fire. Our two dogs had a marvellous time, and the boot room was a perfect spot for them to feel at home. We enjoyed walks to the pub, seeing the donkeys, walks on the beach and dartmoor, and especially the local nativity play with real farm animals! It was a great Christmas and we really appreciated the hospitality.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DJL600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

From the warm welcome to the friendly good bye our time at Stickwick Manor and in the cottage will stay with us until we visit again.
An excellent place to stay with every thing we required for a party of 21.

Thank you.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seamus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling Brits
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

22 adults and 2 children descended on Stickwick this weekend Friday afternoon to Sunday morning as accommodation for our daughter's wedding at the Great Barn (approx 4 miles away). We probably had the windiest weekend of 2013 but we had a great time. The beds were amazingly comfortable and the owners wanted the best for us - we are considering coming back in the future for a family weekend/get together. The children loved the chickens, rabbits and donkeys - Recommend for family get togethers we took over all the accommodation and the fact that the Manor and Farmhouse interlink was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenGappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovey Tracey
2.6 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
6.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
10.6 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
5.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stickwick Manor & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stickwick Manor & Cottages

Property: Stickwick Manor & Cottages
Address: Stickwick Manor Hennock, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Bovey Tracey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Bovey Tracey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three self-catering 'country living' properties with charm and elegance, all set in 50 acres of beautiful and tranquil Devon countryside. Gardens, play area, games barn, wi-fi, wood fires, local/farm produce, chickens, ducks, rabbits, goats and 3 gorgeous donkeys. Ideal for family/group holidays, special occasions, or just for two. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stickwick Manor & Cottages Bovey Tracey, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing