We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stickwick Cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bovey Tracey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stickwick Manor & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stickwick Cottage”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family had a fantastic stay, the cottage was excellent, well furnished and very comfortable. The facilities in the cottage and outside on the farm were excellent, with a great games room and big outdoor play area for the children. The owners are very friendly and welcoming and did everything to ensure we had a great stay, the farm produce sold in the farm shop is delicious and the dog friendly policy was also essential for us. The cottage is located at the edge of the lovely village of Hennock, with fantastic views, walks in the devon countryside and within walking distance of the local pub, The Palk Arms, who do great beer, food and are also dog and children friendly. My family and I could not recommend Stickwick Manor and cottages more and will be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenO22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We rented the farmhouse and adjoining manor house for an extended family Xmas week. Elegantly furnished ,warm , very comfortable and spotlessly clean.Enormous dining room and very well appointed kitchens with numerous fridges and freezers made catering easy. All the reception rooms had wood burning fires with a plentiful supply of logs. The major bedrooms all had king sized beds and plenty of clothes storage space. There were any number of modern bathrooms, some of them en-suite.The walk-in shower in our bathroom was excellent and powerful and at no point during the week did we run out of hot water. We had a lot of fun in the Games Barn ,playing table tennis and Pool, which helped to compensate for very wet weather during the week.
On arrival we were welcomed by fresh flowers and Christmas trees and decorations.
Overall, a beautifully managed Georgian manor house only a couple of miles from Bovey Tracey, a charming old market town and right on the edge of Dartmoor.

Room Tip: They are all excellent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamhooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a great place. This is the second year running we have stayed here (school friends with our young children) and it never fails to impress.

The facilities are second to none - climbing frame, slide, swings and LOADS of garden space to run around in. Incredibly well stocked (trikes, table tennis, snooker, dressing up...) games barn which is especially good in the bad weather. Then there's all of the animals you can go and visit whenever you want - donkeys, guinea pigs, chickens, goats and cats...

Location wise it's in a beautiful rural setting which is still v accessible and only a short drive (25 mins) from the beach (our 2.5 year old twin boys loved Dawlish).

The house itself is of a very high standard, especially the bedrooms, which I often think are the forgotten rooms in rental properties. My favourites are the top two with free standing roll top baths in each!

No pub v nearby but that has never bothered us. We get a Tesco delivery and cook all our evening meals in the house, either seated in the kitchen or dining room.

I would highly recommend and we'll definitely be back for a third time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PeaBeanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaStickwick, Owner at Stickwick Manor & Cottages, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear PeaBeanTravels, Thank you so much for your lovely review, you have described Stickwick Manor perfectly.

As you say Stickwick is rural, but not remote, as we are only 2 miles from Bovey Tracey (gateway to Dartmoor) /A38 and 7 miles from the coast.

With excellent catering facilities provided, large groups can be fed with little stress and effort and now we sell ready meals which can be cooked from frozen, there is another convenient option available.

Also our quaint village pub has just re-opened and is very popular with locals and guests alike; it is serving simple meals and a good selection of local ales and is only 1/2 mile (10-15min walk) from Stickwick.

Best wishes to you all and we can't wait to see you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Rented the cottage for the last week of the school holidays. Unfortunately the weather was poor but the facilities around the farm, with the games room and all the different animals kept the two girls, (aged 12 and 10), well occupied. I enjoyed my chats with Richard, the owner, as did the girls when he took them with him to feed the pigs. The owners and all their staff were very helpful and friendly.

The facilities in and around the cottage were excellent, with the larder room being very useful for grabbing something nice and easy to cook when returning late in the evening. The cottage was very clean and was equipped with everything we could possibly need.

The farm is well situated for travelling to the many tourist attractions in the area, and it doesn't take long to get to beaches, towns, or countryside - catering for all needs and tastes in holiday activity. Country walks in the Dartmoor National Park are available from the doorstep.

I would definitely consider returning to Stickwick Farm as we all enjoyed our relaxing week in such great surroundings. Even the cockerel seemed to appreciate the laid back atmosphere as we didn't hear him until after 8am any day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We rented the Farmhouse for two weeks at Stickwick and couldn't have received a warmer welcome. The Farmhouse was well equipped and very clean. The bedrooms were very comfortable. The lounge was a lovely place to relax in the evenings. The owners were so warm and friendly and always on hand should you need them. My son loved making friends with the owner's grandson and enjoyed feeding the animals. There is also the playbarn with table tennis and pool and childrens toys which was welcome on some of the wetter days we had. But the weather could not spoil the perfect location. We hope one day to return to Stickwick and would highly recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallowaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was our second trip to Stickwick the first was 2 yrs ago in the large house (Manor) but this time at the farmhouse, the warm welcome begins with the excellent communication from the owners when you contact them and they continue with a tray of fresh cakes/milk in fridge and tea etc along with fresh flowers, the properties on both are stays are lovely, clean and have everything you want for a comfortable stay including logs for chilly nights (even in August!), nothing is too much trouble and there is a wealth of local information in the properties.
The playbarn and garden are wonderful if you have children but there are also pool tables and table tennis for bigger kids too.The donkeys and goats provided excellent entertainment for my children who loved feeding them in their pyjamas most mornings.
We will return for another holiday and would recommend Stickwick for everyone from couples, families and groups of friends, Stickwick is a real gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaStickwick, Owner at Stickwick Manor & Cottages, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear DonnaG,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we and the team really do appreciate them.

It was great to see you and your growing family again and we are so pleased we could reunite your daughter with her precious "bunny" at the end of your stay.

Take care and hope to see you again soon

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have been staying at the cottage over a number of years and have always have had a brilliant time. We brought our children here when they were young and enjoyed lots of happy times and built great memories. This time, we brought our grandchild and again have built more happy memories. If you like family time, peace and quiet, home from home time then this is the place for you! The owners take extra time to make your holiday special and make sure that you are comfortable and have everything that you need. Lovely fresh flowers and fresh buns on arrival, not to mention the welcome noises from the animals. A perfect place to relax and enjoy the lovely countyside and wonderful cottage garden. You must try the delicious cakes in the larder room, chocolate cake to die for. Lemon sizzle cake melts in your mouth! We will be back soon, you can count on it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flamingoEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovey Tracey
2.6 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
7.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
516 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
503 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
5.0 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stickwick Manor & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stickwick Manor & Cottages

Property: Stickwick Manor & Cottages
Address: Stickwick Manor Hennock, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Bovey Tracey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Bovey Tracey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three self-catering 'country living' properties with charm and elegance, all set in 50 acres of beautiful and tranquil Devon countryside. Gardens, play area, games barn, wi-fi, wood fires, local/farm produce, chickens, ducks, rabbits, goats and 3 gorgeous donkeys. Ideal for family/group holidays, special occasions, or just for two. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stickwick Manor & Cottages Bovey Tracey, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing