We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of Rock Inn

Rock Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Rock Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Bovey Tracey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $187
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Walkhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Another good Dartmoor Hotel/Restaurant, on my doorstep. Only found this one a few weeks ago, stopped for a drink, liked the service and surroundings decided to try it for a Sunday lunch.
Well we weren't disappointed, was greeted by polite professional staff who showed us straight to our table.
The menu was comprehensive with the tradition roast beef and Yorkshire pudding featuring as well as many other favourites.
The meals were above average in quality and the portions reasonable without being over barring.
The prices are not partially cheep, but in line with other establishments of the same standard in the area, in fact this restaurant is probably little bit better than most.
Excellant service, food and fantastic surroundings 10 out of 10 wouldn't hesitate to return again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Redhotvindaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockInn, Manager at Rock Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you have now found us and enjoyed your Sunday Lunch. We have long been a very popular destination for Sunday lunch with a great reputation for the quality of our Sunday roast (amongst all the various other dishes) and also because of all the fantastic walking you can do straight out of the door here. We hope that you will return on many occasions in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    35
    18
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

First time visit. We went on recommendation to celebrate our first wedding anniversary having got married at Colehayes a few miles away. It was absolutely spot on and a lovely country pub. To be fair I dont see this as a sarnie and a pint after a Dartmoor yomp type place. It has much more of a restaurant feel and we were glad that we booked as it is evidently and deservedly a popular venue. The service was faultless. The menu was unfussy but with a more than decent choice. We shared a starter of liver parfait with brioche and red onion marmalade. Enough for two and was first class stuff. Wendy had chicken chorizo and pea risotto whilst I plumped for chicken ceasar salad. Both were excellent and came beautifully presented. Mine though stole the show. Not sure that I have ever had a better ceasar salad. Crispy parma ham and fresh anchovies rather than then normal oily salty type, lifted this dish to a new level. The accompanying home baked crusty brown bread was also extremely good. Had no room for puds. Quick mention for the wine. It was really nice to be served a decent sauvignon blanc for a change and a taste of the missus wine even moved me on from my beloved real ale. Not cheap as has been mentioned but worth every penny as I simply cannot see anybody ever being disappointed with the service or what they get served. We will be back and will send others here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andwendads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockInn, Manager at Rock Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Rock Inn for your 1st Wedding Anniversary. We are so glad you enjoyed your lunch with us and it is always very pleasing for the team here to read such nice comments. We look forward to seeing you again on many future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb service and meal.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Visited early lunchtime and sat in garden as had our dog. Served by a couple of young staff who were really friendly, efficient and helpful.
We chose goats cheese with pesto to share as a starter which was really tasty, presented beautifully and more filling than we thought it would be. For mains my partner chose the chicken, chorizo and pea risotto and I had crab spaghetti with a white wine and cream sauce. Both meals again were presented well and tasted delicious - the flavours of each dish were well thought out.
We couldn't manage a desert, even with pannacotta on the menu, but had coffee to follow. The Inn was filling up as we left - always a popular place and rightly so. We have stayed overnight in the past and eaten in the evening too and have always received a warm welcome, great food and friendly service and would happily return again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveDevon1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockInn, Manager at Rock Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We do have a very good reputation for the quality of what we produce and the efficiency and dedication of the team here. We are glad you enjoyed dining in our garden during this great spell of weather we are having (long may it continue!) and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budleigh Salterton UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent, but fairly pricey”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Dropped in for a light lunch, it looks like a traditional pub from the outside, but inside is more geared up to be a restaurant, however is it well done. The main bar area seemed to have a lot of tables squeezed in and most of them were taken. It was a little claustrophobic inside, so we ate in the lovely garden.

We had the fish and chips and the Caesar salad, both were excellent. The fish and chips were freshly cooked and couldn't be faulted, good batter and big chunky chips. The salad was excellent, lots of chicken and crispy Parma ham, it could have done with a few more salad leaves to balance it, but all in all the food was of a very high standard.

The bill came to £30, which is quite expensive for a lunchtime snack and two drinks, however the food was great, and the staff were friendly. I would come here again if I was passing and from other reviews and my experience It seems you will always be guaranteed quality.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Looey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockInn, Manager at Rock Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are very glad you found us. No matter which meal of the day you with have with us we will always guarantee our guests top quality produce served by a team of dedicated staff. We appreciate that what we do can be a little more expensive than some other establishments in the area but we never want to compromise the quality we provide. We are glad that you had a enjoyable lunch in our pretty garden and we hope that you will return when you next visit Dartmoor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Garden”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is the second time we have been here to eat. Both times we have been very impressed with the quality of the food and friendliness of the service.
The inn is a lovely traditional English coaching inn with a rabbit warren different rooms. I think most have an open fire... but it was such a sunny day when we came this time that I wasn't really paying attention to that!
The food was amazing... my only reason for not making this 5 stars is that it would have been very pricey if we'd had mains and desserts each. Kids' meals were £5 to £6 adults' mains were £12 upwards. Desserts around £6 too.
Our kids shared a sausage and chips between them (they were happy to provide an extra empty plate). The 2 large sausages went down a treat and they wanted more - not always the case. The chips were chunky and weren't so popular.
I had a children's risotto which was lovely - very mild and I can imagine would be very popular with kids. The grown up version had Chorizo in it which would have improved it for me... but the children's portion was perfect for a light lunch.
When we came it was a glorious sunny day and we sat in the garden, which is just over the road. The kids loved running around and weren't bothering the other customers too much as there was plenty of space. Also there is an upper garden for them to discover.
The Rock Inn is 2 minutes drive from Haytor which is a great place for little legs to climb. Parking at the Rock is a problem and you just have to find somewhere to squeeze in along the road.
#KiddiCENTRIC

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiddiCENTRIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Inn also viewed

Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ilsington, Dartmoor National Park
Lustleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 
Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing