We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Door to Moor!”
Review of Dartmoor House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dartmoor House B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Belstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I absolutely loved staying at this B&B which my husband and I discovered recently. We were looking for a bed and breakfast close to the main road from Exeter to Cornwall and discovered this on our travels. Little did we know how close we were to the moors itself. Belstone is just a couple of miles off the A30, however it was like being transported into a different era. The village is exceptionally quaint and appealing, it has so much history attached to it. We needed a B&B for the night and had only heard of the Barton, which is now closed for business. Thankfully Dartmoor house offered us a warm and friendly stay not to mention the most luxurious night we could imagine.

Debbie and Clive the proprietors were so down to earth and welcoming upon our arrival and even offered us a hot cup of tea and a slice of fruitcake, as it was late at night and we had travelled for miles! I was then greeted by one of the best bed and breakfast showers ever, it was so hot and powerful I felt like I was in a spa! We then slept in a lovely not to soft, not to hard bed, which soothed all our aches and pains away. The next morning we were welcomed by a glorious sunshine which streamed right through our room (we stayed at the front of the house which has a amazing view of the moors) and the sight of a herd of moorland ponies and cattle just below us.
I really thought we were actually in the moor itself and not in a village.

The breakfast Debbie and Clive served was A1. It was not your standard cafe fayre, but a lovely home cooked, locally sourced hearty and nutritious meal to get you started for the day, I didn't need to eat any lunch that day!

I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone, and if you like pubs there's the Tors up the path, where you can get an evening meal and a pint.
Dartmoor house is great value for money seeing as you can pay £80 to £90 at a travelodge and not get this level of comfort and service, and The Moors! That's the selling point for me.

Belstone itself could do with a shop or two, but I guess that's the beauty of a place like this, it's so unspoilt, extremely popular with walkers and hikers, equestrians, and just those passing by who like a bit of history. If you need some amenities try Okehampton, which a ten minute drive away there's a Waitrose and a few more pubs and restaurants.

Thanks to the owners for a great night, we will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: The two rooms at the front are the biggest however the one on the right and the twin behind it have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bunnyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 77 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at this fantastic country B&B from the Sunday of August Bank Holiday weekend for 2 nights while visiting Devon. It's a wonderful character house right on the village green, tastefully decorated and furnished; large room, really comfortable bed (fussy husband!), tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits and good TV reception. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and locally sourced produce.

The house is on the edge of Dartmoor, so it is ideal for walking. Horses and sheep wonder the village. There is a pub nearby which serves good food.

Clive and Debbie are very welcoming and friendly, nothing is too much trouble.

It is easy to find as Belstone is approximately 5 minutes from the A30, though once there you wouldn't know it. This makes it easily accessible and is therefore a good base for exploring Devon or on route to Cornwall.

Room Tip: Two ensuite rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avril D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife & I have just stayed for 2 nights in this lovely B&B (Room 1), on our way back from a weeks holiday in Cornwall.

The most notable part of our stay was the friendliness of Debra & Clive. They made us feel very welcome and the breakfasts were absolutely fabulous. It was great to select, via a menu, what you wanted to eat for breakfast the next morning. There was a choice of fresh fruit, fruit juice, cereals, yoghurt and then a cooked English breakfast and toast!

Our double room with en-suite bathroom, overlooking the village green was lovely (there are four bedrooms). The large room was spotlessly clean and fresh. It had a very comfortable double bed and soft pillows. There was a TV with good Freeview reception, kettle and tea/coffee making facilities, biscuits and free Wi-Fi, which was reliable. The shower in our en-suite was one of the best I have ever encountered. A nice touch was the fresh flowers in the room. A packed lunch is available by ordering, if required.

The B&B is just located within the Dartmoor National Park and is close to the many good walks over the moors and also down the river valley to the village of Sticklepath (the small NT run Finch Foundry there is worth visiting).

We did eat in the local Tors Pub (200 metres away) one evening and although we did have to wait about 50 minutes because they were busy (which was not a problem), our meals and dessert there were very good, but as the sign says – “Not fast food but good food."

This is a relatively new venture for hosts Debra & Clive as they only opened in the early summer. But on this experience we will definitely be back to explore more of north Dartmoor. We would highly recommend this B&B. Good luck Debra & Clive in the years ahead.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed one night in this lovely B & B and will definitely go back. The room was beautiful and spacious, and extremely clean and well fitted, with a great view of Dartmoor. In particular, it had the best shower I have ever had in a B & B. The owners were friendly and very helpful (they even lent us a map), and the breakfast was first-rate. I would certainly recommend it, together with the the charming village of Belstone, which is located right on the edge of Dartmoor to anyone thinking of visiting the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Dartmoor side of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielbrit66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed 1 night at this excellent B&B located in a beautiful little village in the Dartmoor National Park. The hosts (Debra & Clive) were very friendly & welcoming and we felt very much at home. Our room was lovely & spacious with an extremely comfortable bed and a great shower. All in all I would thoroughly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 292Nigel_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have just had a fabulous three night break in this B&B. The setting is beautiful and the room very spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, especially the fresh fruit. Would definitely recommend. To top it all on the last morning I looked out of the window to see about twenty Dartmoor ponies on the grass - wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jules2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided on a last minute walking weekend in Dartmoor, and as he was feeling under the weather we decided against camping. We were very pleased when we found there to be a room available at such short notice and the location of the B&B is perfectly situated so that access The Moors is only a very short distance away.

First impressions of the room were excellent; it was extremely spacious, immaculately clean, and the view was beautiful, Clive and Debra could not have been more accommodating either giving helpful advice on local sites and places to eat; Debra also kindly offered my boyfriend some breathe right strips for his blocked nose! In short, we felt very well looked after.

One of the best parts of our stay was breakfast; We had a choice of three options: Cooked Breakfast, Omelette, or Scrambled eggs & breakfast muffin.
We opted for the cooked breakfast and were not disappointed, everything was cooked to perfection and the table and cutlery was all laid out lovely and neatly.
As well as this there was tea/ coffee, toast, cereals, fresh fruit, juices and yoghurt available all of which provided us with a great energy boost for a day of walking.

I would not hesitate to come back to Dartmoor House and will certainly be recommending it to friends and family as a very comfortable place to stay at a very reasonable price, thanks again for being such good hosts :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nim_Dixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belstone
2.0 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
281 reviews
11.6 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
519 reviews
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
2.8 mi away
Upcott House
Upcott House
#11 of 25 in Okehampton
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dartmoor House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartmoor House B&B

Address: | Okehampton, Belstone, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton > Belstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Belstone
Price Range: $86 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dartmoor House is a comfortable and homely Bed and Breakfast, situated in the picturesque village of Belstone, set within Dartmoor National Park. With views overlooking the village green and the moor, we are ideally located in the centre of the village, with ‘door to moor’ walking and cycling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dartmoor House B&B Belstone, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing