We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, comfortable and clean”
Review of Dartmoor House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dartmoor House B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Belstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided on a last minute walking weekend in Dartmoor, and as he was feeling under the weather we decided against camping. We were very pleased when we found there to be a room available at such short notice and the location of the B&B is perfectly situated so that access The Moors is only a very short distance away.

First impressions of the room were excellent; it was extremely spacious, immaculately clean, and the view was beautiful, Clive and Debra could not have been more accommodating either giving helpful advice on local sites and places to eat; Debra also kindly offered my boyfriend some breathe right strips for his blocked nose! In short, we felt very well looked after.

One of the best parts of our stay was breakfast; We had a choice of three options: Cooked Breakfast, Omelette, or Scrambled eggs & breakfast muffin.
We opted for the cooked breakfast and were not disappointed, everything was cooked to perfection and the table and cutlery was all laid out lovely and neatly.
As well as this there was tea/ coffee, toast, cereals, fresh fruit, juices and yoghurt available all of which provided us with a great energy boost for a day of walking.

I would not hesitate to come back to Dartmoor House and will certainly be recommending it to friends and family as a very comfortable place to stay at a very reasonable price, thanks again for being such good hosts :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nim_Dixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 78 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were so impressed with Debra and Clive's B & B that we came back enroute home! Its in a great location just off the A30 with fabulous views of the moors ever changing colours. Breakfast in the B & B was a feast of delicious fresh fruits and endless coffee followed by the full monty cooked breakfast, yummy! The rooms are fresh and clean with ensuite facilities. Highly recommended as an outstanding guest house.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Three of us arrived one very wet evening for an 'overnight' stop as part of a Dartmoor Perambulation. Despite us resembling 'drowned rats' Debra & Clive could not have been more welcoming.. Dartmoor House is beautifully situated and the accommodation is of the highest standard. Breakfast and a 'packed-lunch' were also excellent. We can recommend without reservation and would definitely stay there again. This would a great base for holidaying on Dartmoor - especially for keen walkers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobart15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Dartmoor House is ideally situated for walking on north Dartmoor. A short walk leads onto the open moor and the beautiful hills and tors. Yes tor ridge at 2000ft is the highest point in the south of England with views to match. As soon as I saw the photographs of the bedrooms on the internet I was hooked on the B&B and was not disappointed. We had a front bedroom which was very large with a a superb view and super en suite with lashings of hot water. Excellent breakfast cooked by Deborah and served by Clive who could not have been more welcoming and helpful. They struck just the right balance in checking you had everything you needed without being intrusive.
The village inn had a good selection of real ales plus an extensive menu.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okement M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Debra and Clive bought the B&B earlier this year and so have only recently opened. Our experience was excellent. The location is perfect, near to the moor and the pub and only a couple of miles from the A30.

Our room was lovely and the en-suite shower was a 'proper' hotel shower with lot's of hot water. Everything was properly done - from the very comfortable bed to the twining tea and Nescafé coffee in the rooms.

Breakfast was lovely and our hosts really friendly. We had forgotten to bring water for hiking, and so two bottles of water appeared immediately from a supply Debra kept in the kitchen - so thoughtful.

All in all an excellent experience especially if you eat your evening meal at the local pub!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kkkkllllssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We are a group of fisherman that have just returned from a trip fishing the rivers and lakes on and around Dartmoor. We stayed at Dartmoor House for 3 nights and found the accommodation to be of a high standard. The proprietors, Debra and Clive could not have been more helpful! From accommodating us all in the first place, after unforeseen circumstances meant that 4 our number had no where to stay, to letting us take over their garden shed to store our fishing gear! Easily accessible from the main A30, the house is set on a village green and being inside the cattle grid, sheep, cows and Dartmoor ponies often came right up to the house. There are some magnificent views of the moor and surrounding countryside from the bedrooms making for a truly idyllic setting. Just 50 yards from the house, The Tors Inn serves good food at reasonable prices, so we had everything we needed!
Whether you are single, a couple, a family or a group of friends I would highly recommend Dartmoor House for your stay.

Room Tip: The two rooms at the front of the house are en-suite and have corner views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Resereini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belstone
2.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
300 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Fairway Lodge
Fairway Lodge
#7 of 25 in Okehampton
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dartmoor House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartmoor House B&B

Address: | Okehampton, Belstone, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton > Belstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Belstone
Price Range: $91 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dartmoor House is a comfortable and homely Bed and Breakfast, situated in the picturesque village of Belstone, set within Dartmoor National Park. With views overlooking the village green and the moor, we are ideally located in the centre of the village, with ‘door to moor’ walking and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dartmoor House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dartmoor House B&B Belstone, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing