We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A moorland jewel”
Review of The Tors Inn

The Tors Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tors Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Belstone B&B and Inns
Okehampton
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A moorland jewel”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We popped in for lunch and although it was busy we were made very welcome. The staff were friendly and efficient and there was a lovely atmosphere. We ate in the bar and there was a wide variety of dishes on the menu. It was traditional pub food with a few more elaborate options. Our food was delicious and the service was quick and efficient. Very well placed for walkers and well behaved dogs are welcome in the bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theblondespider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

A group of us ate here in mid September. It was all OK. Service, ambience, food - OK. Not the worst or best meal I've had. We stayed in the village and although we did go back for a drink, we didn't go back to eat. Staff were friendly.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 550LaLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We got invited to a surprise 30th birthday meal for a group of 30 people at the 'tors' belstone. Its only a small pub and I did wonder if they would cope with cooking a large order including starters. Well they copied brilliantly we had to preorder out starters and main and when they arrived everyone was served within 5 minutes and within 10 minutes for their Mains. All the food tasted lovely, I did try quite a few dishes and all the food tasted delicious. Well be going back again and recommending it to our friends and customers.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank paulandsamantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were so disappointed as this was to be the final meal of a week's holiday in this lovely village. The welcome was not very enthusiastic,the service was very mediocre ( no one asked us during our meal if everything was ok) and when the pdq machine refused to work after 15 minutes of trying we were asked to find cash. There was no apology or expression of thanks for our patience.
The food was not the best,in fact the mixed grill had so much surplus fat lying on the plate as to make the whole meal les than enjoyable. The lamb shank was not as tender as we would normally expect and vegetables were edible rather than tasty.
I would add that this is the only negative review I have ever written and am not by nature a complaining sort of person. I would not recommend this to anyone based on my experience this evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Went today excellent bar staff friendly helpful made to feel welcome massive choice of food and value for money cannot fault this truly traditional English pub in the most beautiful scenic place on dartmoor (in my view )

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cosdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on two occasions while staying in village. Lovely home cooked food. Landlord was really approachable and remembered us on second night. Really enjoyed the food and atmosphere of this pub. Will be back again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuddingElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Decided to stop off at the Tors as was travelling to Cornwall and wanted to break up the journey. The pub is not too far away from the A30 and is right on the edge of Dartmoor National Park.

The pub is quaint and quite basic, the garden with benches is just up the road - this may seem odd but when you are sat there the views are absolutely stunning.

Food is served until 2pm then resumes again at 6pm. We arrived about 1.50pm and our order was taken without problem.

My friend and I were ravenous so decided on the mushroom and four cheese pasta, as we were hungry we also ordered a portion of chips between us. The plate of pasta was huge and quite delicious, it was accompanied by a side salad which included lovely things like orange and celery. And then the chips arrived, they were heavenly - needless to say we could not eat it all although we had a jolly good go.

A party of four walkers came in and it was well after 2pm, their food order was taken without complaint - they then saw our chips and asked if they could order some, the order was again fulfilled with a smile. Their baguettes arrived and were certainly amazing.

The barman was happy to tell us about the history of the pub and surrounding area.

It was well worth the detour for the food and stunning views.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosyposy11816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belstone
0.0 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
0.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fairway Lodge
Fairway Lodge
#7 of 24 in Okehampton
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#11 of 24 in Okehampton
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tors Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tors Inn

Property: The Tors Inn
Address: NR Okehampton, Belstone, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton > Belstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Belstone
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Tors Inn Belstone, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing