We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashburton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavender House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely guest house”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was a gift from the in laws. The room was lovely and comfortable. The only thing i would say is that the rooms could do with a little updating. Had a better nights sleep than I did in my own bed! Good selection of food for breakfast and dinner. Service was excellent, they couldn't do enough to help and very friendly. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    106
    30
    13
    12
See reviews for
74
217
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here on a Groupon deal, and the deal was good value. This is a good base for touring Dartmoor and East Devon, but the hotel misses the target in important ways. The building and rooms have a tired air about them. Breakfast was very good, with lots of choice. Restaurant and food was good, but one meal was spoilt because the incompetent waitress failed to bring the meal while it was still hot. Shall not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriansmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

my wife and I have just returned from a short break in this hotel, and we found the

hotel is in a stunning situation overlooking dartmoor. the staff were very

attentive and helpful, the food excellent and the room very nice. we shall be going

back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terencewoollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Visited for a Wedding which was fantastic.
Bedroom a bit of a disappointment and not worth price - generally tired, handles broken on chest of drawers, top of bedside table unstable, revolting collection of dirt, wotsits etc under bed. Saw other bedrooms which were smart and in good order.
Great breakfast and friendly efficient staff.

Room Tip: Ask about bedroom before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here as part of a week travelling around Devon, a regular haunt for us. This hotel was booked using a groupon deal a few months ago and our expectations were modest. Our actual experience was very positive. A true family run hotel environment with very friendly service. The initial impact is that the hotel is a little 'worn' in some areas but the things that really matter are excellent... bed was superb, shower worked well, towels were exceptional and the flat screen tv offered all freeview channels. Not for you if you don't like creaky floors and expect the highest level of decoration, but all areas are very clean. We dined in the hotel for one night and the menu choice and food was of a high standard. Service less so due to inexperienced waitress. Breakfast is exceptional but again service let it down a little due to forgetfulness of inexperienced waitress, but she was very friendly and easily forgiven for her forgetfulness :-)
In summary this hotel exceeded expectations for the budget and we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulKGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel is spacious and well cared for. It is family run and has a lovely home from home atmosphere. I stayed with a friend for a couple of days and the staff could not have done more for us. They gave us a wine tasting so that we could select the wine we liked best and made me my own vegetarian pie for the evening meals and it was lovely. The veggie breakfast was so good that my meat eating friend ordered it as well the next day. The views from the bedroom looked towards the moors and the hotel is on the edge of Ashburton and in a country setting. We intend to go back there as, by car, it is close to the moors, Exeter and the seaside so plenty to do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leesriggann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary having held our wedding reception here 3 years ago. We could not fault the place then, nor now. The staff were excellent, made us feel very welcome and we were well looked after. The food was incredibly good with good portion sizes. The room was very comfortable with a lovely outlook on to the gardens. A very comfortable hotel with the added bonus of a log fire on a cold Spring evening. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHiscoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
0.4 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
487 reviews
12.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,089 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Prince Hall Country House
Prince Hall Country House
#2 of 2 in Two Bridges
317 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
9.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender House Hotel

Property: Lavender House Hotel
Address: Knowle Hill, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lavender House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dartmoor Short Breaks & Wedding Venues in Devon. Set in three acres, the lavender House Hotel enjoys panoramic views of the picturesque Dartmoor National Park set in the heart of Devon, and is just one mile from the popular stannary town of Ashburton. Lavender House is licensed for Civil Ceremonies both in the Garden Gazebo or within the Hotel. Being set alone makes it an ideal venue for all kinds of parties and functions. Lavender House benefits from having ample parking facilities and its peaceful, yet accessible position. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender House Hotel Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing