We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay - fantastic food and hospitality”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashburton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavender House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel through group on and I have to say we were sad to leave! Our room was quite small but very comfortable with lovely cotton linen. The owners are very welcoming and once we'd got comfy in front of the fire with a glass of wine on the first afternoon we were hooked! We decided to stay in that evening and eat in the hotel - we were very impressed with the quality of the food! It was so nice we ate there the second night as well.

On the whole, this hotel is very relaxing and you are made feel part of the family - nothing is too much trouble! We will be back very soon!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank cathyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 387 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Have just returned from an excellent value 2 day stay at Lavender House Hotel booked through a Groupon offer. The hotel was in a great position to visit both Dartmoor and the coast. The staff were friendly and effficient. Our room was warm, clean and had good views of the moors. We were impressed that there were tea making facilities, complimentary toiletries and the towels/ duvets were of a very high quality. The food could not be faulted - the breakfast choices were endless and the evening meals were of a high standard. The log fire made the bar area very welcoming.
We will definitely look out for any future Groupon offers to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We decided to take 'time out' for a couple of days and enjoy a couple of days away, we were not disappointed, all the staff were friendly,courteous and very accommodating.The room was very clean and overlooked a beautiful garden and although it was January and the weather was rather damp when we arrived, the log fire was a welcome sight and the comfortable sofa could entice anyone to just sit and enjoy a coffee or glass of wine.We visited The Dartmoor Prison Museum in Princetown and it was well worth a visit. We will definately return to this hotel.Many thanks for our time spent with you.
Mary and Tony

Room Tip: The garden view rooms are delightful and the views across the higher moors are just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We are a young couple who stayed here this week just for 2 nights - I would 100% recommend to anyone it's a great location , the food was wonderful, the staff were wonderful the room was clean and comfy - definitely 10/10 will definitely come back again x

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KGB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel is all about comfort. Teddy bears on the beds, heated towel bar, a roaring fire in the sitting area, free wi-fi, a full English breakfast and kind hosts made our stay wonderful. My daughter and I spent our days roaming the Dartmoor moors. Haytor, Widcombe in the Moor and Princetown. After our cold December outings, we looked forward to returning to the country hotel, Lavender House and sitting by the fire.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We went to view Lavender House after reading fantastic reviews on here. We had an appointment but when we arrived noone was there. Luckily we only had to wait a few minutes. First impressions were very very disappointing. There had been a wedding on the Saturday but come Monday there were still glasses of drink lying around, all the bedrooms were a mess, it really didn't sell the venue to us. The rooms did look very nice and modern, but it was difficult to see how could be a nice wedding venue when it was such a mess. It was such a shame as we had high hopes. The man we met didn't even introduce himself or ask our names. Maybe we got them on a bad day but it would have been nice if they made a bit of an effort. The location is lovely and the garden very pretty.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
4  Thank UKmoomin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed as part of a KGB deal. We found the host to be very warm and welcoming and we felt more of house guests than paying customers. Nothing was too much trouble from having a freshly cooked breakfast in the morning to a fabulous 3 course dinner in the evening. The room was very comfortable with lovely views over the garden and beyond. The hotel is situated off the beaten track and is ideal if you want a mid week break for some peace and quiet. We were recommended to go on the round robin from Paignton, which consists of a steam train ride to Dartmouth, a river trip to Totnes, followed by a bus ride back to Paignton, really good value for money and an excellent way of seeing the countryside from a different perspective. We can't recommend the hotel enough, so much so we have booked to return next year.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
0.4 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
512 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
12.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
9.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,389 reviews
20.5 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender House Hotel

Address: Knowle Hill, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range: $39 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lavender House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dartmoor Short Breaks & Wedding Venues in Devon. Set in three acres, the lavender House Hotel enjoys panoramic views of the picturesque Dartmoor National Park set in the heart of Devon, and is just one mile from the popular stannary town of Ashburton. Lavender House is licensed for Civil Ceremonies both in the Garden Gazebo or within the Hotel. Being set alone makes it an ideal venue for all kinds of parties and functions. Lavender House benefits from having ample parking facilities and its peaceful, yet accessible position. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender House Hotel Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing