We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Devon Delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agaric Restaurant with Rooms - CLOSED

Agaric Restaurant with Rooms
Cuisines: British, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Description: Agaric Restaurant is almost entirely to blame for Ashburton���s recent transformation from quiet Devon town to foodie mecca. With local food champion Nick Coiley at the helm, this unassuming, quirky little place combines B B, restaurant and cookery school with simply stunning results. Yes, the d��cor is lovely but we can���t believe that you���ll be checking out wallpaper or judging tablecloths when the smells emanating from the kitchen hit you. With pretension and over-styling thrown out of the window Coiley prepares mouthwatering menus using incredible local produce, from wild mushrooms to live crabs, and he does it all from scratch every single day. The results are enough to have critics and fellow chefs calling this place food heaven and we���d be fools to disagree.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Devon Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

In May we were taken to Ashburton on the occasion of our daughters 40th birthday. Stayed overnight in the adjoining Agaric Rooms and had along lunch the next day in the most delightful restaurant we had encountered in this our latest visit to Britain.
All four in our party were intrigued and enthralled by the food and service. From entrees of Goats cheese, Duck and Pigeon to mains of Lamb, Duck, Pork and Monkfish, finishing with a Cheese selection. Not one plate had a fault, all cooked and presented with finesse and aplomb.

Wine selection was also first rate with wines from around the world.

We are definitely going back! We would encourage anyone passing through to stay a night or two inn Ashburton at the Agaric Rooms and wander the quiet and charming streets of Ashburton below the Dartmoors.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pkjdudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb meal and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We visited with our newborn son in mid-August, and have already recommended the Agaric to friends and family. Our dinner was excellent - both courses were delicious. That alone was good enough to make me want to return, in spite of the restaurant being a weekend trip's distance away (though Ashburton being a lively, pretty town in glorious countryside helps encourage us to return).

But what really made the restaurant stand out was the quality of the service - it was exceptionally friendly and flexible. We couldn't tell how well our baby would behave, so we had to just see how the meal went. Firstly we had to delay our booking by half an hour, which the staff were very accommodating about. Then we weren't sure how long we could stay without a crying fit starting. They readily agreed we could have all our dinner in our b&b room, or transfer there if needed, and reassured us a crying baby would not be a problem. When it seemed we could settle in the restaurant, they suggested we could sit at the bar, which was much more comfortable for me while I sat with our son in a carrier on me.

Our stay in the B&B was also good; I've posted on that separately.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LBandFBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good but pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Pleasant restaurant with good quality food well presented and cooked. The style and quantities are however somewhat nouvelle cuisine and prices towards the high end for this area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Cathy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was taken here by my best friend for my 60th birthday. We had a really fantastic meal with good wine and excellent service.

Highly recommended

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckfastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Classic Restaurant Highly Recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have dined at the Agaric on several occasions over the last 7 years, and we are more impressed with the quality of the food and service on each successive visit. The menu is well designed to give a good choice for everyone, but it was difficult to choose from all these delicious sounding dishes. None of us was disappointed with what Nick and his team served up...every mouthful was a delight. For vegetarians and others too we would recommend the twice-baked soufflé which are always perfect and tasty. A new dish was a mixture of braised rabbit, venison, etc, topped with belly pork bits...wonderful and good portions too.
The desserts do not disappoint either, though the choices are more limited. I would like to see a few more on the menu.
The Agaric uses local produce where possible, and this comes through in the textures and flavours.
We thoroughly recommend this restaurant

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agaric Restaurant with Rooms also viewed

Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing