We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Country Lodge”
Review of The Dartmoor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dartmoor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for one night.
Attending a conference at the Abbey.
Checkin was easy and simple. Very friendly staff.
The room was clean as was the hotel. I was in 323, and the room seems to be recently renovated.
The room was modernly decorated. Flat screen Tv, with tea and coffee.Clean sheet and a comfortable double bed.
Plently storage.
Shower and bath toiletries.
The end of November was extremely cold and the heating in the room was adequate.
What I liked was the fact that there was heating in the toilet so when I got up in the morning the bathroom was nice and warm.
Good shower not a power shower but adequate, there was an issue with the bathroom as evident by the number of mold found in the grouting. I am a bit fussy about a clean shower. Simple bleach I am sure would do it nicely.

I had dinner on the night I stayed. Had steak cooked to perfection no issue with the food.
Also had breakfast, full english was on offer but had a quick breakfast and service was efficient. Have to mention that the lady who serve breakfast was extremely polite and funny. The staff on the hold was very welcoming.
The hotel had free Wifi, but only available in the bar but couldnt get it in my room.

So all in all a lovely country Lodge at good prices.
I would defo stay in the lodge again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matrix1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 528 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2010

I’m really surprised that there could be any negative comments about this lovely hotel.

We visited in November, so we saw Devon in all it’s golden charm, with the odd frosty morning thrown in. The hotel’s location is perfect, and the upstairs rooms boast glorious views. From the hotel, we were able to visit Totnes, Torquay, Paignton, Widdecombe and Buckfastleigh, all within easy driving distance. Ashburton itself is a short walk away.

The present owners have had the hotel for three years and we found them to be very obliging, and were kind enough to order the beers and wines we requested in advance for our six night stay.

The recently refurbished bar is very pleasant, with a crackling fireplace and plenty of seating, and when we saw the Christmas events advertised, they were kind enough to arrange for us to sample the Christmas menu in advance. Dinner was served exactly as we’d ordered it and breakfast was a sheer delight, both the buffet when it was in operation and also when it was cooked to order.

Our room was beautiful, and the bathroom was clean and bright. We had a very comfortable stay.

All the staff were very friendly and we honestly had the impression that nothing was too much trouble.

If you want a cosy country hotel, in a good location, with friendly staff, lovely rooms and great food and drink, this is the place to go.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lindawells7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Our room so! dated/grubby, lumpy mattresses, bathroom smelt. Got moved to 'refurbished' room (if lick of paint, putting up picture & scatter cushion on each bed = refurbished, then so be it). Why weren't we put in 'better' room in first place? Bathroom wasn't touched - smelt, sticker marks all over walls, bad paint-job over tiles for cheapness, toilet seat old & wouldn't stay up.

Dinner pleasant enough but over priced for what it was. Breakfast beyond TERRIBLE!!!!!!!! & prefabricated. Dreadful waitress service with bad attitude. They don't cater for people with Dairy intolerances (in this day & age!) so had to get own Dairy free Milk.

Receptionist aware of all our issues & apologised accordingly, but obviously just Lip Service as even got charged for 2 Coffees before leaving, which incidentally was the best bit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinycea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoorlodge, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2010

Gosh, we didn't do a very good job did we!!

As we do not have your name, or date of stay, we are unable to look into your complaints, but would be happy to speak to you about your recent visit to The Dartmoor Lodge.

With regard to our rooms,in the last three weeks we have refurbished two, with one more being started this week, making a total of 11out of 23 now having been refurbished. We have never "painted"over tiles, and once we recieve your name or date of stay, we will look at the room in question. Of our 23 rooms, 5 are smaller than the others, but more than adeguate, with theother rooms being of a good size. Although some rooms are dated, a point of which we are rectifying, they are all clean. We are very surprised by your comment about the staff member, we are very proud of our staff, and have to admit that we are very surprised by your comment, complaints about our staff are "new territory" to us, as you would have seen from previous reviews, staff are always complimented, again, when we have your details we will look into this complaint. With regard to your breakfast, we use local produce for all our menus, and feel that we have a very good selection of both cooked and cold breakfast options, dependeing on numbers of guests, we either have a full buffet option where you can help yourself to as many cooked items as you wish, or we will take your order at the table, which- ever way, we use best quality items sourced from our local butcher. With regard to your non dairy milk, did you advise us in advance of your requirments? had you done so we would have been more than happy to have supplied your non-dairy milk.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, but ask that you contact us with your details so that we may look into all you complaints.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Quick, one night stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable and a good size. Bar and restaurant with a broad range of choice. Extremely good value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holdall07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

The good points about this hotel are its convenient location next to the A38, good restaurant serving nice food and selection of beers with friendly staff and efficient service. Its a real shame because the rooms are far too small with no acoustic sound proofing so you hear all in adjacent rooms side and above. The mattress on my bed was uncomfortable and needed replacement. I cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernwater1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Found a deal for a couple nights here on LateRooms, down from £90/night to £55/night. The reviews there seemed good, but I was a little concerned as it was a real mixed bag of reviews on TripAdvisor. But it appeared that new owners had taken over in '08 and were steadley improving the place.

If you go expecting £90/night standard you may be a little disapointed- by the room we were in at least- due to it's cramped size. However, looking past this, and remembering that we were paying £55/night, we found a recently refurbed bedroom, with comfortable bed and plenty of complimentary bits and pieces. The bathroom appeared more of a case of being rushed to an acceptable standard- as i got the impression everything is being improved upon in phases by the new owners- rather than being quite to the refurbed standard of the room (few out of place fittings, quick paint job, but perfectly useable).

The location is easy to find and convenient, on the edge of Dartmoor. The bar is okay and they attract quite a few people coming through as a service stop from the nearby dual carriage way. Breakfast in the morning was a reasonably good buffet job.

Staff were pleasant, showing you to your room on arrival, but it seem a little short staffed on some occassions.

The accomodation would of been acceptable for business users, too.

Some communal areas tired, but reception and (most importantly) rooms fine.

Overall, had a fairly pleasant stay. Not in a rush to go back, as many things were simply average, but if i got a good deal i wouldn't hesitate. Seems that they are gently improving standards all round, looking back through reviews ,and that's got to be great news for their future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank king_of_muffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

When our tent in a nearby camp site started to leak in the autumn downpours we called the Dartmoor Lodge at about 9pm to request a family room for 2 adults and 2 children. Having travelled on business extensively worldwide for last 20 years I didn;t expect much at the price quoted and at such short notice bit was very plesently surprised. The gentlemen on reception didn't take advantage instead he offered a very competive rate better than Travelodge and Premier Inn for a nice room including breakfast. When we arrived about 30 mins later the kitchen had closed but the receptionist again offered to check with the chef to see if he could cater for us . The kitchen was closed the newly mopped floor drying and the chef still offered to make us sandwiches. But as my wife and eldest is Coeliac they can't eat normal bread. The chef then offered when the floor had dried to reopen the kitchen and cook us anything from the menu at 9.45 on a wet Wednesday evening - fantastic service and the meal was really good as well. The staff even waited in bar until 11pm as we were the last residents and at no point did we feel rushed. I am sure if we come back the same campsite my family will be wishing for a deluge of rain so we can evacuate to the Dartmoor Lodge again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tilehurst88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
9.6 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,456 reviews
9.4 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,125 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
12.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,179 reviews
19 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 4 in Okehampton
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dartmoor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dartmoor Lodge

Address: Peartree Cross, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range: $84 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dartmoor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under private ownership, the Dartmoor Lodge, nestled between rolling hills on the edge of Dartmoor, yet deceptively close to the A38. Perfect base to explore the beautiful Devon countryside. Beamed restaurant, open fire, locally sourced produce. Friendly and efficient staff. 22 en-suite rooms, meeting/conference facilities, function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dartmoor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dartmoor Hotel Ashburton
Dartmoor Hotel Ashburton
The Dartmoor Lodge Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing