We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unable to stay - excellent service received anyway!”
Review of The Dartmoor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dartmoor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Unfortunately we were unable to make our planned trip, so I cant comment on the Lodge itself, but I have 3 times spoken with the reception staff and each and every time they have been fantastically helpful.

The lady on reception looked into our booking, and said she would speak to the manager to see if there was anything that they could do to help. Usually this means that the person wants to but cant help, but 5 minutes later the lady called me back and had done her best to help us. I really appreciate such effort and kind service, and we will certainly be staying at the Dartmoor Lodge next time we actually make it on the trip!

Thanks for all your help.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Ratzaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoorlodge, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2010

Many thanks for your comments. We hope that you will be able to visit us sometime in the future, where you can be assured of receiving good service "in the flesh" so to speak!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 521 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2010

When I first saw the photos of the Dartmoor Lodge it looked a little unwelcoming, so I was unsure how good it would be. How wrong I was. We were put in a room with a four poster, which actually does not cost a lot more than a standard room, the breakfasts were cooked to perfection and the two evening meals we had were fantastic. I was surprised that they were not busier. I few fairy lights and a lot more flowers outside would make it more appealling but dont let the photos put you off. It is excellent. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeaniereid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

after seeing website offering home cooked food i treated my husband too lunch it seemed expensive but dont mind paying for good food.
Iordered a pork and apple sauce sandwich with chunky home made chips !i had too cut large pieces of fat off the pork my salad on the plate consisted of lettuce and then a small pot of frozen chips .
My husbands homemade pie very small portion with 3small new potatoes small portion of carrots and peas .
a total waste of money and very disapointing !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devonlady25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoorlodge, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2010

We were sorry to read your review....we have to say that our portions have never been criticised for being too small. We do wonder whether you have commented on the correct hotel, or maybe misread the menu. Our sandwiches are not listed as coming with a salad, however they are listed as "with a salad garnish". A garnish is set on a plate to add colour and compliment the main order, it is not intended to be a "salad" size. At no time do we ever advertise "homemade chips", we do however advertise "Chunky Chips", which are served in a round "Cereal type bowl, we are sorry that you felt disappointed in the portion size. With regard to your husband's pie, it is not our policy to serve carrots and peas as a choice of vegetable with any menu item,unless requested, or as part of the "Dine out for £5 times offer", there is always a selection of at least 3 types of vegetable. Our meat is purchased from the local butcher in Ashburton, and is of the highest quality, we do not cut off the fat, as often our customers prefer it left on. Perhaps you could advise as to whether our staff checked with you as to whether you were happy with your meal at the time of dining, or at the time of paying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We chose this place for it's location, just off the A38, which thankfully stayed open during the snow. We were a bit put off by the older reviews on this site, but when we actually got there, we were pleasantly surprised.

The owners have put in a lot of work, and they've got the essentials right now. The bar is well stocked with real beers, teas and coffees, and a roaring log fire. The communal areas are clean and welcoming, comfortable and well presented. Four of us ate there, and the food was tasty, with very generous portions, and not at all expensive.

The rooms were large with everything we needed (TV, hairdrier, tea and coffee), lots of hot water and soft folded towels in a spotless bathroom. The bed was comfy, with clean (if slightly mismatched) furnishings, and the room was all over warm and comfortable. Breakfast offered a range of choices, each as generous as the our dinner the night before!

Don't expect frills and furbelows and five star luxury. It's not that kind of hotel, and the good value price reflects that. The owners still have a few more finishing touches to put in, but it is the people who make this place. The staff could not have been more kind and more helpful. The whole atmosphere was warm and welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble, Given we'd been driving for five hours in the snow, we certainly appreciated their warmth!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mojosbigstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

I don't really understand the bad reviews because this hotel is far from catastrophic. The rooms are very clean, with comfortable beds and a huge bathroom. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is excellent. There is a nice pub in the hotel and you can even sit outside with views of the nice landscape. As this is a hotel, it does not have the private atmosphere of a B&B, but we didn't experience this hotel as cold or unfriendly at all. The rooms may be a bit overpriced, but all in all we had a really nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

A disappointing hotel.
Good points - "Pub atmosphere" in the bar / pub and serves a very good pint from a decent selection. Friendly bar staff happy to carry your drinks to where you are sat....
Big car park.
That's about it...

Our room was in the "annex" - if that's the right word - which seems to be an early 70's construction that hasn't had much care. It wasn't even up to Travelodge standard.

The bathroom was a bit of a disgrace - tide mark on the bath, shower curtain clearly never been cleaned. Sweaky taps which need to left running for a minute for the brown water to work its way through.

Corridor back to the main hotel area had a very strong smell of weed coming from the other side of the door marked "staff only".............

Dinner was ok in that instantly forgettable poor pub-grub sort of way.

Won't be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penguin_Family_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoorlodge, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2010

We were sorry to read your review....we have to say that our portions have never been criticised for being too small. We do wonder whether you have commented on the correct hotel, or maybe misread the menu. Our sandwiches are not listed as coming with a salad, however they are listed as "with a salad garnish". A garnish is set on a plate to add colour and compliment the main order, it is not intended to be a "salad" size. At no time do we ever advertise "homemade chips", we do however advertise "Chunky Chips", which are served in a round "Cereal type bowl, we are sorry that you felt disappointed in the portion size. With regard to your husband's pie, it is not our policy to serve carrots and peas as a choice of vegetable with any menu item,unless requested, or as part of the "Dine out for £5 times offer", there is always a selection of at least 3 types of vegetable. Our meat is purchased from the local butcher in Ashburton, and is of the highest quality, we do not cut off the fat, as often our customers prefer it left on. Perhaps you could advise as to whether our staff checked with you as to whether you were happy with your meal at the time of dining, or at the time of paying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Just returned from a 3day BB&Dinner "getaway" break at the Dartmoor Lodge,excellent value for money. Rooms have been recently refurbished,with all the facilities that you need. There is still a lot more refurbishment needed,but when it is finished it will be lovely.Breakfast really good,we like poached eggs,no problem.Evening meal on the offer was a three course off the menu(supplement for steak). The food was good and plenty of it! Staff and locals were all very friendly,would definitely go back anytime

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zildjian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
9.6 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,427 reviews
19.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
300 reviews
12.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,101 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
7.2 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dartmoor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dartmoor Lodge

Address: Peartree Cross, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range: $82 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dartmoor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under private ownership, the Dartmoor Lodge, nestled between rolling hills on the edge of Dartmoor, yet deceptively close to the A38. Perfect base to explore the beautiful Devon countryside. Beamed restaurant, open fire, locally sourced produce. Friendly and efficient staff. 22 en-suite rooms, meeting/conference facilities, function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dartmoor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dartmoor Hotel Ashburton
Dartmoor Hotel Ashburton
The Dartmoor Lodge Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing